Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
btrfs system and metadata
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 5:48 pm    Post subject: btrfs system and metadata Reply with quote

Heyo o/

Is there a way to make btrfs metadata and system 'properly' RAID1 (i.e. so that there is 6 copies of everything, one for each disk)?

At the moment, my metadata has been allocated 10GB and it says it's RAID1, but it's a bit weird:

Code:

# btrfs fi usage /moo
Metadata,RAID1: Size:10.00GiB, Used:8.35GiB
   /dev/sdb        3.00GiB
   /dev/sdc        4.00GiB
   /dev/sdd        3.00GiB
   /dev/sde        3.00GiB
   /dev/sdf        4.00GiB
   /dev/sdh        3.00GiB
                                           
System,RAID1: Size:32.00MiB, Used:400.00KiB
   /dev/sdb       32.00MiB
   /dev/sdh       32.00MiB


So, unless "btrfs filesystem usage" is giving out bogus info (To be fair, it does warn that it's not implemented for RAID6 yet), it's only doing a 2-disk RAID1 of my System data, and smeg-only knows what it's doing with the metadata (Looks more like RAID10 to me!!)

If that's not possible to make it 'proper RAID1' , do you think it'd be better if I made the system and metadata RAID6 instead of RAID1??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5762

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you done this yet?
Code:
btrfs balance start /moo

Or to be more explicit:
Code:
btrfs balance start -mconvert=raid1 -sconvert=raid1 -f /moo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I have; That usage report was run literally after the balance completed!!!

(Before that the metadata was spread 1,1,6,6,1,1!)

Mucho weirdo!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1733
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At the moment there is no way to get six copies. raid1 in btrfs does onyl 2 copies.

Best thing you could do, would be raid6.

http://carfax.org.uk/btrfs-usage/

Bye
Py
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RAID6 it is!

I'm leaving the system as RAID1 tho' because I don't understand why I have to use --force and it scares me >_>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, well apparently you don't get a choice in the matter - When it finished converting the metadata it went and changed system too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum