Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Re-install with new configuration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:54 pm    Post subject: Re-install with new configuration Reply with quote

Being a noob, I've managed to screw up my installation.
I want to remove everything except the kernel and then reconfigure from scratch.
There's no need for back up because the computer is just for learning and testing.

There is a new kernel on the system ready for upgrading.

What's the best way to do this?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There should be no reason to do this. Use emerge -e @system @world should be effectively the same. It is basically the one line "fix everything" command.

Gentoo does not benefit from reinstalling. It isn't a binary distro
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 354
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
There should be no reason to do this. Use emerge -e @system @world should be effectively the same.



Indeed, just re-emerge.

However, if you messed up your config files you can use "--noconfmem" option for emerge to disregard config_protecrt ( i.e. the config files will we overwritten with the default).
( or does the -e option do this too ?)

Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point about the --noconfmem option. I hadn't read up on it before. That would do a better job of resetting the box.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys,

The config is messed up!

I've tried to unmerge "OpenBox" and "Slim" but there are always still there after the unmerge.
So I want to get rid of the unwanted files and also the old kernels.
I think that he rest of the problems can be fixed with a re-config. (Graphics not working due to self induced conflict)

I will be a good learning exercise to go through the configuration again. (Paying more attention this time)

What would be the command that includes the --noconfmem
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 354
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:
Thanks guys, The config is messed up!
What would be the command that includes the --noconfmem


It would be:

Code:
emerge --ask -e --noconfmem @system @world


Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 354
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS
catchpole wrote:
I've tried to unmerge "OpenBox" and "Slim" but there are always still there after the unmerge.


That is strange, it should all be gone if you run emerge --depclean afterwards. If you want to look into this, can you be a bit more specific about what you did (what was the unmerge command, and what was the output), and what was still there afterwards?
However, better first try the re-emerge -e as stated above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE

I ran the suggested command:

Quote:
emerge --ask -e --noconfmem @system @world


Its still running after 25 hours. I think I should have included the -j2 option.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2575

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

8O

You might want to check top to make sure the emerge hasn't stalled somewhere. That said, if you are rebuilding LibreOffice and Firefox and Chromium, I can see how this could happen on a low horsepower machine.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

After running the suggested commands, the system is still screwed up.
I just want to start again with the latest kernel and erase everything else.

Its installed on sda4 and boots from sda1.
I can make sda1 point to the new kernel and can "chroot" in from sda3.

Will the "chroot" still work if I delete everything but just leave the latest kernel on the partition?

Is it simpler to wipe the partition clean and start again?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum