Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Screen doesn't turn off with new nvidia card
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:23 pm    Post subject: Screen doesn't turn off with new nvidia card Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've recently installed a new nvidia (GT610) to replace my ancient and no longer supported by nvidia geforce 5200.

All-in-all, it seems to be working fine. I am presently using the 346.47 driver.

However, there seem to be one or two hitches.

First, I cannot seem to get the screen to turn off using xset dpms force off, though the screen blanks. This happens, too, if I just leave it alone.

One bit from the xorg.0.log file that may be related is as follows:

Code:

[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0): ACPI: failed to connect to the ACPI event daemon; the daemon
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     may not be running or the "AcpidSocketPath" X
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     configuration option may not be set correctly.  When the
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     ACPI event daemon is available, the NVIDIA X driver will
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     try to use it to receive ACPI event notifications.  For
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     details, please see the "ConnectToAcpid" and
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "AcpidSocketPath" X configuration options in Appendix B: X
[  5648.453] (II) NVIDIA(0):     Config Options in the README.


I checked and acpid is installed.

The other problem is that there are, on occasion, artifacts that show up when viewing videos. It's not tearing and hard to describe. I am not sure where that is coming from or how to diagnose it (I use mplayer).

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

Best,

Alex


Last edited by evoweiss on Sun Apr 12, 2015 3:36 pm; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You say acpid is installed, is it also running?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You say acpid is installed, is it also running?


It is, yes. I even restarted it to make sure. The problem persists.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is acpi USE flag enabled globally?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Is acpi USE flag enabled globally?


Yes it is.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, I figured it would be worth posting anything related to ACPI in dmesg.

Code:

[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x01] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x02] lapic_id[0x01] enabled)
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x03] lapic_id[0x01] disabled)
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x04] lapic_id[0x03] disabled)
[    0.260054] acpi PNP0A03:00: _OSC: OS supports [Segments]
[    0.260054] acpi PNP0A03:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
[    0.261742] acpi PNP0A03:00: host bridge window [io  0x0000-0x0cf7] (ignored)
[    0.261746] acpi PNP0A03:00: host bridge window [io  0x0d00-0xffff] (ignored)
[    0.261750] acpi PNP0A03:00: host bridge window [mem 0x000a0000-0x000bffff] (ignored)
[    0.261754] acpi PNP0A03:00: host bridge window [mem 0xe8000000-0xfebfffff] (ignored)
[    0.261762] acpi PNP0A03:00: fail to add MMCONFIG information, can't access extended PCI configuration space under this bridge.


and in my kernel

Code:

#
# CONFIG_SUSPEND is not set
# CONFIG_HIBERNATION is not set
CONFIG_PM_RUNTIME=y
CONFIG_PM=y
# CONFIG_PM_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_WQ_POWER_EFFICIENT_DEFAULT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_LEGACY_TABLES_LOOKUP=y
CONFIG_ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_ACPI_PDC=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_EC_DEBUGFS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_AC is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR_AGGREGATOR is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_INITRD_TABLE_OVERRIDE is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_PCI_SLOT is not set
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_SBS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_HED is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_METHOD is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_REDUCED_HARDWARE_ONLY is not set
CONFIG_HAVE_ACPI_APEI=y
CONFIG_HAVE_ACPI_APEI_NMI=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_APEI is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_EXTLOG is not set
# CONFIG_SFI is not set


Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a hardware guru, but I suspect BIOS is not letting ACPI to take control.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
I'm not a hardware guru, but I suspect BIOS is not letting ACPI to take control.


I did have to update BIOS to A07 (I am using a Dell Dimension 8300) to get the card to work but the settings were preserved.

Does anybody have an idea of how I can figure this out and, better still, solve it?

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm... the problem either resolved itself or I solved it by appending acpi=ht as a boot option. I will check to see which one it is over the next couple of days.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another update. Something still doesn't seem to be working right. The key is that xset dpms force off does not cause the screen to turn off, i.e., change the LED from green to orange.

I'm wondering if I maybe screwed something up in the kernel. What is required to get dpms working in the kernel and what other settings are needed?

I recently removed xscreensaver but that didn't appear to work either.

Finally, is there a way to make the keyboard be the only way to wake the monitor?

Best,

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum