Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg config file problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:53 pm    Post subject: Xorg config file problem Reply with quote

Hi
Have a working Gentoo on hard drive up to the Terminal and now trying to get xorg configured but I am unable to find the problem/error.
The xorg config file locations I have read about don't exist (yet) or I am being directed to the wrong Dir's.
When running X –configure I get ‘Missing Output Drivers’ as the problem.
Looking at the /var/log/Xorg.0.log gives the last line as Missing Output Drivers: Configuration Failed : Service Terminated with error (2) : Closing Log File.
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1369
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

the Xorg server will not be able to work if no video and input devices drivers are installed. Did you emerge any of those. In plus some video drivers like radeon, nouveau and intel need that the Kernel Mode Setting (KMS) is enabled in the Linux kernel to work.

If you emerge the fbdev and the vesa Xorg drivers it should be sufficient to have the graphical interface but with no acceleration. Emerge the mouse, evdev and kbd or keyboard input Xorg drivers too.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X --configure does not work with KMS. Don't use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge wgetpaste pciutils
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
lspci -k | wgetpaste
emerge -pv xorg-server $(qlist -IC x11-drivers) | wgetpaste
post the url's returned
what video driver do you intend to use?
generally the open source video drivers are handled by xorg without need for operator manipulation of xorg.conf, proprietary drivers by aticonfig --initial or nvidia-xconfig depending on brand
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys for replying, I am with an ATI Radeon HD5450 card, generic mouse, keyboard and monitor. Emerged the mentioned drivers but with Startx I still get Missing output drivers, No screens found.
@ DONAHUE Pastes
https://bpaste.net/show/5672902866f5
https://bpaste.net/show/cb8d5936c693
https://bpaste.net/show/b9636a888652
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ DONAHUE
Repeat lspci
https://bpaste.net/show/7c5f86c2acc4

jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have /etc/X11/xorg.conf or /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d ? you should not need nor have either as xorg will auto detect and run an executable. xorg.conf.d provides the ability for the operator

check /etc/portage/make.conf for VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" and INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" , extra entries after the = should be harmless, but ..
run
Code:
emerge -1av xf86-input-evdev xorg-drivers
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
post the url
Code:
qlist -IC x11-drivers
should show x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev as installed

have you emerged a display manager/window manager/desktop?
for test purposes
Code:
emerge twm xterm xclock
is good
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 12:24 am    Post subject: https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion Reply with quote

It appears you used genkernel
I'm not in love with the graphics support configuration
suggest:
Code:
emerge linux-firmware
genkernel --menuconfig all
which will show you the genkernel configuration in use and allow you to change it. Suggest enabling and not enabling items as follows:
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
Generic Driver Options --->
[*] Support for uevent helper
(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper
-*- Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev
[ ] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the rootfs
[*] Select only drivers that don't need compile-time external firmware
[*] Prevent firmware from being built
-*- Userspace firmware loading support
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/CEDAR_me.bin radeon/CEDAR_pfp.bin radeon/CEDAR_rlc.bin radeon/CEDAR_smc.bin radeon/CYPRESS_uvd.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
[ ] Fallback user-helper invocation for firmware loading
[ ] Driver Core verbose debug messages
[ ] Managed device resources verbose debug messages
[ ] Enable verbose FENCE_TRACE messages
Graphics support --->
<*> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
--- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
<*> AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support
< > Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
< > SiS chipset support
< > VIA chipset support
-*- VGA Arbitration
(2) Maximum number of GPUs
[ ] Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support
Direct Rendering Manager --->
<*> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
I2C encoder or helper chips --->
< > PTN3460 DP/LVDS bridge (NEW)
< > 3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+ (NEW)
< > ATI Rage 128 (NEW)
<*> ATI Radeon
[ ] Enable userspace modesetting on radeon (DEPRECATED)
< > Nouveau (NVIDIA) cards (NEW)
< > Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics (NEW)
< > Matrox g200/g400 (NEW)
< > SiS video cards (NEW)
< > Via unichrome video cards (NEW)
< > Savage video cards (NEW)
< > DRM driver for VMware Virtual GPU (NEW)
< > Intel GMA5/600 KMS Framebuffer (NEW)
< > DisplayLink (NEW)
< > AST server chips (NEW)
< > Kernel modesetting driver for MGA G200 server engines (NEW)
< > Cirrus driver for QEMU emulated device (NEW)
< > QXL virtual GPU (NEW)
< > DRM Support for bochs dispi vga interface (qemu stdvga) (NEW)
Frame buffer Devices --->
-*- Support for frame buffer devices --->
[ ] Framebuffer foreign endianness support ----
[*] Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
[*] Enable Tile Blitting Support
*** Frame buffer hardware drivers ***
< > Cirrus Logic support
< > Permedia2 support
< > CyberPro 2000/2010/5000 support
< > Arc Monochrome LCD board support
[ ] Asiliant (Chips) 69000 display support
[ ] IMS Twin Turbo display support
< > VGA 16-color graphics support
< > Userspace VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] EFI-based Framebuffer Support
< > N411 Apollo/Hecuba devkit support
< > Hercules mono graphics support
< > OpenCores VGA/LCD core 2.0 framebuffer support
< > Epson S1D13XXX framebuffer support
< > nVidia Framebuffer Support
< > nVidia Riva support
< > Intel740 support
< > Intel LE80578 (Vermilion) support
< > Matrox acceleration
< > ATI Radeon display support
< > ATI Rage128 display support
< > ATI Mach64 display support
< > S3 Trio/Virge support
< > S3 Savage support
< > SiS/XGI display support
< > VIA UniChrome (Pro) and Chrome9 display support
< > NeoMagic display support
< > IMG Kyro support
< > 3Dfx Banshee/Voodoo3/Voodoo5 display support
< > 3Dfx Voodoo Graphics (sst1) support
< > VIA VT8623 support
< > Trident/CyberXXX/CyberBlade support
< > ARK 2000PV support
< > Permedia3 support
< > Fujitsu carmine frame buffer support
< > SMSC UFX6000/7000 USB Framebuffer support
< > Displaylink USB Framebuffer support
< > Virtual Frame Buffer support (ONLY FOR TESTING!)
< > E-Ink Metronome/8track controller support
< > Fujitsu MB862xx GDC support
< > E-Ink Broadsheet/Epson S1D13521 controller support
< > AUO-K190X EPD controller support
[ ] Simple framebuffer support
[*] Backlight & LCD device support --->
--- Backlight & LCD device support
<*> Lowlevel LCD controls
< > Platform LCD controls
-*- Lowlevel Backlight controls
< > Generic (aka Sharp Corgi) Backlight Driver
< > Apple Backlight Driver
< > Tabletkiosk Sahara Touch-iT Backlight Driver
< > Backlight Driver for ADP8860/ADP8861/ADP8863 using WLED
< > Backlight Driver for ADP8870 using WLED
< > Backlight Driver for LM3639
< > Sanyo LV5207LP Backlight
< > Rohm BD6107 Backlight
Console display driver support --->
-*- VGA text console
[*] Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM
(1024) Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)
-*- Framebuffer Console support
-*- Map the console to the primary display device
[ ] Framebuffer Console Rotation
[*] Bootup logo --->
--- Bootup logo
[ ] Standard black and white Linux logo
[ ] Standard 16-color Linux logo
[*] Standard 224-color Linux logo
After the changes are made, exit enough times to reach a dialog "Do you wish to save your new configuration?
(Press <ESC><ESC> to continue kernel configuration.)
< Yes > < No >" ; exit with yes, relax and let genkernel continue.

references: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, thanks, please give me some time, i,m quite new to linux, help appreciated and I will keep at it.
Starting with your 11:14 post
No /etc/X11/xorg.conf or etc/X11/xorg/conf.d
Had fbdev in Video Cards, now changed to radeon.

URL Paste after emerge for /var/log/Xorg.0.log
https://bpaste.net/show/300d6bdc7427

qlist showed evdev installed
Have now emerged twm xterm xclock.
I am now going to continue with your 12:24 post so I will get back to you.
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Had fbdev in Video Cards, now changed to radeon.
might be good to run
Code:
emerge -1avuND xorg-server
again
if startx works starting twm/xterm/xclock entering exit in the leftmost window will return you to the CLI
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Carried out the necessary as per your post to the genkernel, genkernel completed but emerge -1avuND xorg-server states several required files, kde-base - sys-auth, net-msc, virtual, system, world.
I have read that kde-base wants installing after xorg is working.
emerge twm xterm xclock
startx gives error 'No screens found'
current wgetpaste var/log/Xorg.0.log
https://bpaste.net/show/c4d0c1b4f5ff

jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbvideo,

Code:
[   210.528] (--) PCI:*(0:1:0:0) 1002:68f9:1787:2291 rev 0, Mem @ 0xd0000000/268435456, 0xfd4c0000/131072, I/O @ 0x0000be00/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
Tells that you have a Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450/Radeon HD 6350] Graphics card which is listed here
Code:
    ATI Radeon HD 5450, CEDAR, CEDAR, CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN,
   CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN, CAYMAN,
as a supported card.

Code:
[   210.631] (II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
is a bad sign and
Code:
[   210.649] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
is game over. It appears as if the problem is in your kernel.

DONAHUE has a reputation to keep up ovor these things and his kernel setting looks good.
Code:
<*> ATI Radeon
is correct.

Code:
[*] Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
(radeon/CEDAR_me.bin radeon/CEDAR_pfp.bin radeon/CEDAR_rlc.bin radeon/CEDAR_smc.bin radeon/CYPRESS_uvd.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary
requires that you emerge linux-firmware before you build your kernel. However, missing firmware only prevents 3D acceleration from working, it does not prevent Xorg from working.

Did you correctly install and reboot into your new kernel?
Code:
uname -a
will drop some hints. I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 3.19.3-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Apr 4 18:36:12 BST 2015 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Sat Apr 4 18:36:12 BST 2015 is the build time of the running kernel. Does that look right to you (in your uname -a), thinking about your last kernel build.

3.19.3-gentoo #1 is the version and build number. The build number is incremented every time you rebuild a kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may have fallen into a trap, I should have warned/reminded you that you need to mount the /boot partition, nominally /dev/sda2 from the handbook. The handbook also suggested the /boot line in /etc/fstab be "/dev/sda6 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 0 0" . The noauto phrase means that /boot will not be automatically mounted upon booting. Thus to read or write /boot, you will have to "mount /dev/sda2 /boot" . There is a good possibility the mountpoint /boot on /dev/sda4 now contains a kernel.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:


Did you correctly install and reboot into your new kernel?
Code:
uname -a
will drop some hints. I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 3.19.3-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Apr 4 18:36:12 BST 2015 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Sat Apr 4 18:36:12 BST 2015 is the build time of the running kernel. Does that look right to you (in your uname -a), thinking about your last kernel build.
3.19.3-gentoo #1 is the version and build number. The build number is incremented every time you rebuild a kernel.


Hi
Looks like not : uname -a gives
Linux jbvid 3.18.11-gentoo #1 SMP Sat April 11 17:17:50BST 2015 x86_64 AMD Athlon (tm) II X2 B24 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux,
Can I recover from this to install and reboot into todays new kernel menu config change as per DONAHUE'S post?
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot up, don't mount /dev/sda2(nominal value), run
Code:
ls -l /boot
if a kernel and initramfs of recent vintage (plus whatever else) are there; quickest will be to move them
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
mv /boot/* /mnt/gentoo/
mount /dev/sda2 /boot
mv -f /mnt/gentoo/* /boot/
ls -l /boot # to check your work
umount /boot
I screwed this up enough that I first got rid of the noauto and later did away with a separate partition for boot. Ordinarily I don't confess to such deviant behavior. Having a /mnt/gentoo mountpoint available can be useful (or not); so
Code:
rm -rf /mnt/gentoo
(or don't) As always check carefully before using rm.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guy's I have really appreciated your help on this but still struggling with it. Think I will take some timeout and do yet more reading and printing, then start again from scratch with an empty drive. Problem is there are so many Guides and Tuts around and each one differ's slightly from the other giving more confusion. I would appreciate a pointer to a Gentoo install that either of you have used successfully and includes installing a KDE desktop.
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TriadicTek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
You may have fallen into a trap, I should have warned/reminded you that you need to mount the /boot partition, nominally /dev/sda2 from the handbook. The handbook also suggested the /boot line in /etc/fstab be "/dev/sda6 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 0 0" . The noauto phrase means that /boot will not be automatically mounted upon booting. Thus to read or write /boot, you will have to "mount /dev/sda2 /boot" . There is a good possibility the mountpoint /boot on /dev/sda4 now contains a kernel.



I was under the impression that genkernel automatically mounts /boot before starting the compilation process, at least it does for me.

I had very similar issues with a Radeon HD6450. I had to enable the following kernel option.

[ ] Enable userspace modesetting on radeon (DEPRECATED)

Without that modesetting would never work. I also have VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" in my make.con



As far as installing KDE from a fresh install this is what i do.

1. use eselect to set the kde profile
2. add dbus, consolekit, policykit, udev, udisks, and X to my global use flags.
3. set VIDEO_CARDS and INPUT_DEVICES in make.conf
4. emerge kde-meta and xorg-server
5. do an emerge update, emerge depclean, and revdep-rebuild
6. change /etc/conf.d/xdm to start kdm
7. add xdm to default run level


as long as your kernel options and drivers are all set correctly then kde should start on reboot. If you're using proprietary drivers there are usually a few other needed steps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
then start again from scratch with an empty drive.
Recommend fixing what you have as a learning experience. You have already succeeded in installing Gentoo. The problem at hand is getting X and a desktop working. BTW, did you "Boot up, don't mount /dev/sda2(nominal value), run ls -l /boot" If so, what resulted?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbvideo,

Don't start again. You can't fix Gentoo that way, its not Windows or a binary distro.
At best you get an opportunity to not make the same mistake again and lots of opportunities to make new ones, so you end up with different problems.

You learn most by fixing your problems as you go. Most users install Gentoo only once on ony given hardware.
They even migrate installs across hardware upgrades.

Right now you have a kernel install issue. Fix it and test. It will only take a few minutes.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Quote:
then start again from scratch with an empty drive.
Recommend fixing what you have as a learning experience. You have already succeeded in installing Gentoo. The problem at hand is getting X and a desktop working. BTW, did you "Boot up, don't mount /dev/sda2(nominal value), run ls -l /boot" If so, what resulted?

Hi
Have just run ls -l /boot again after carrying out the rest of your request and it gives 'total 0' .
Not sure about the ((Boot up, don't mount /dev/sda2(nominal value)) I just entered ls -l /boot at the terminal prompt when gentoo loaded.

@TriadicTek
Thanks for your input.

@NeddySeagoon
Thanks for your input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

assuming /dev/sda2 is the boot partition:
Code:
mount /dev/sda2 /boot
ls -l /boot
are the date times for kernel and initramfs appropriate, i.e, after you rebuilt the kernel in response to my Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:24 pm post?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
assuming /dev/sda2 is the boot partition:
Code:
mount /dev/sda2 /boot
ls -l /boot
are the date times for kernel and initramfs appropriate, i.e, after you rebuilt the kernel in response to my Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:24 pm post?

Hi
Well !
mount /dev/sda2 /boot
ls -l /boot
gives "mount : special device /dev/sda2 does not exist"
jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbvideo,

That may well be correct for your system. Please post the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
so we can see how your drives are partioned.
Tell what each partition is used for.

Also post the content of /etc/fstab. Ideally, your description above will match the content of /etc/fstab.
Its not a trick question, I want to see if you have actually done what you say you wanted to do. That only means its self consistent, that may not mean its correct.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbvideo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk –l
dev/sda1 2048 : 38911 : 36864 : 18M Bios Boot
dev/sda2 40960 : 976895 : 935936 : 457M Microsoft basic data
dev/sda3 978944 : 2930676 : 1951744 : 953M Microsoft basic data
dev/sda4 2932736 : 488394751 : 485462016 : 231.56G Microsoft basic data

etc/fstab

/dev/sda2 boot ext2 noauto, noatime 1 2
/dev/sda4 / ext4 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda3 none swap sw 0 0

jb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jbvideo,

That clears up a lot.

/etc/fstab:
/dev/sda2 boot ext2 noauto, noatime 1 2
has a missing /.
boot should read /boot
That does not explain your missing /dev/sda2 though. It should be present as long as the kernel can read your partition table.

When you boot normally
Code:
ls /boot
should return zero files as the /boot directory is a mount point for your boot (sda2) partition.
With that error in /etc/fstab genkernel is unlikely to have mounted boot. It will either have installed things to the wrong place or bailed out at the install phase with an error.

If you fix /etc/fstab, as root,
Code:
mount /boot
should work. If not, tell the error.
Code:
ls -l /boot
will then list the content of sda2
Check the dates. Are your new kernel and initrd there?
Its possible that they are but your boot loader was not updated to load them.

Please
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
You can use it to put command output or file content on the web. Then you tell us the URL.
Test with
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/fstab
and
Code:
ls -l /boot | wgetpaste
This is good as there are no typos.

-- edited to fix typos in commands --
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum