Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cdrom will not automount
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rican-linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: cdrom will not automount Reply with quote

My cdrom will not automount. I insert a cd and nothing, to eject I need run this

Code:
sudo eject /dev/hdc


Here is my /etc/fstab

Code:
rican-linux@ibookG4-gentoo ~ $ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed); notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>         <mountpoint>   <type>      <opts>      <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
#/dev/BOOT      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime   1 2
/dev/hda4      /      ext4      defaults,noatime,errors=remount-ro      0 1
/dev/hda3      none      swap      sw      0 0
/dev/hdc      /mnt/cdrom   auto      noauto,users,ro     0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto      0 0
rican-linux@ibookG4-gentoo ~ $


here is some of my dmesg output

Code:
rican-linux@ibookG4-gentoo ~ $ dmesg |grep hdc
[    4.341737] hdc: DV-W28SLA, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
[    4.677719] hdc: host max PIO4 wanted PIO255(auto-tune) selected PIO4
[    4.677921] hdc: MWDMA2 mode selected
[    4.780073] ide-cd: hdc: ATAPI 63X DVD-ROM DVD-R CD-R/RW drive, 1419kB Cache
rican-linux@ibookG4-gentoo ~ $


Any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44024
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rican-linux,

The IDE /dev nodes have not been created for about four years.
That /dev/hdc still works for you dates your system.

Automount on cd insertion used to depend on the cd drive bing polled for media change events then running a helper in response to the event.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rican-linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So there is nothing I can do then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44024
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rican-linux,

You have two choices ...

Update your system, which will be a wonderful learning experience.
Find the old software for your old system. The ebuilds will be in the attic but finding the sources may be a problem.

If you are really really lucky, everything may alreay be installed. It might only need to be configured.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rican-linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sure I am missing something on the configuration side. This iBook G4 has ran Debian Jessie, Ubuntu-MATE 14.04 & 15.04, and Lubuntu 14.04 all of them auto mount was working. This is my first time working with Gentoo and I understand there is lot of setting it up yourself and I do not mind that, just need to know what to look for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44024
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rican-linux,

The setup is arch ihdependent. I always avoided automounting as I ned DVD+RW as big floppies and auto mounting kills them.
This post is about the right vintage but its little more than a guess.

I don't have PPC any more but I'm sure that when I did, it used the /dev/sd* nodes, even for IDE drives.

Its worth asking in #gentoo-powerpc on irc.freenode.net
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rican-linux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

weird I rebooted and now I can mount. The only thing different was I edited the fstab file and added users
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44024
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rican-linux,

users in the fstab options allows any user to use the mount and umount commands.
For automounting, it should not make any difference. The modern udisks tool for auto mounting only works an devices not listed in tstab.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum