Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg/Configuration:/etc/portage/package.use: Is a directory
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liu_fanyi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:56 pm    Post subject: Xorg/Configuration:/etc/portage/package.use: Is a directory Reply with quote

Hi,
follow "Xorg/Configuration", have this step:
root #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use

and i get this:
-bash: /etc/portage/package.use: Is a directory

thanks
:cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrBrutico
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2015
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Custom or name you want.
root #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use/custom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liu_fanyi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MrBrutico wrote:
Custom or name you want.
root #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use/custom


thanks!
so, any name i want is ok?
:o
why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 54
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

before, it was a single file, and as today, it is a directory.
what I did was put it in single files like grub (for example) then put in the needed use flags and it works.

wonder why it is on a directory structure now..., hope anyone can shed light on this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dab_s_bad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 54
Location: Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liu_fanyi wrote:
MrBrutico wrote:
Custom or name you want.
root #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use/custom


thanks!
so, any name i want is ok?
:o
why?

try foryourself ^_^, and do emerge and see ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liu_fanyi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dab_s_bad wrote:
before, it was a single file, and as today, it is a directory.
what I did was put it in single files like grub (for example) then put in the needed use flags and it works.

wonder why it is on a directory structure now..., hope anyone can shed light on this one.


so...if i have two files in this dir(package.use), and put in the needed use flags in one of these two files...
does it works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liu_fanyi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dab_s_bad wrote:
liu_fanyi wrote:
MrBrutico wrote:
Custom or name you want.
root #echo "x11-base/xorg-server udev" >> /etc/portage/package.use/custom


thanks!
so, any name i want is ok?
:o
why?

try foryourself ^_^, and do emerge and see ^_^


:D you are right...
i should try myself...it will be clear...
thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 566
Location: Arlington, TX, US

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a question related to this. I am probably going to convert my package.use to a directory due to the 100 or so packages added a couple of weeks ago for everything that needed abi_x86_32.

I use vi with backup turned on to edit config files. So I will end up with package.use/whatever and package.use/whatever~ (backup) after editing anything. Is portage smart enough to ignore these, or will I need to clean them up or turn backup off in .vimrc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Section_8,

just tried making package.use/terminus~ which differed from package.use/terminus, and ran emerge -avuDN @world. No rebuilds were found. Thus I conclude that portage is smart enough not to take "backup" files into account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 566
Location: Arlington, TX, US

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks - I was hoping portage could handle those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum