Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xorg Server issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:40 pm    Post subject: Xorg Server issues Reply with quote

Hey friends.
I'm back to Gentoo after my first try on installing it went bad.
I've succeeded on installing the operating system and now I'm trying to go for xorg server.
I'm getting an error that something is missing in my package.use while trying to emerge xorg-server:

http://i59.tinypic.com/2v1qgc7.png

After I've figured out that package.use is a folder and not a file,
I've tried to add what emerge is asking for, I've creating a new file called "package1.use" inside the root folder,
And added the flags emerge asked for. It worked for the first 3, but I cant solve this one. Here's what I did :

http://i58.tinypic.com/9avh4k.png

package1.use :

http://i60.tinypic.com/xdgi1t.png

I really like Gentoo, and most people are actually surprised that I'm insisting on installing it as my first Linux distro.
I'm coming from a long time of using Microsoft Products and really want to successfully install Gentoo.
Your help will be much appreciated. Thanks!

Edit : I know that in the second pic I've typed it incorrectly, I've fixed it in the 3rd picture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tryn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 320
Location: 39.885° N. -88.913° W.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"package.use" Is a file that is located in the folder called /etc/portage.

Where you add certain listings of programs that need a type of USE flag.

Like this.
Code:
=media-video/vlc-2.1.5-r1 -gnome
Or this
Code:
=app-crypt/qca-2.0.3-r1 openssl


That either adds or subtracts a use flag from the program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To begin with you should not have this problem. Please post your emerge --info.
Code:
emerge --info | wgetpaste

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Location: JP

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"package.use" can be a file as well as a directory (contains files).

See http://dev.gentoo.org/~zmedico/portage/doc/man/portage.5.html

Quote:
/etc/portage/
Files in this directory including make.conf, repos.conf, and any file with a name that begins with "package." can be more than just a flat file. If it is a directory, then all the files in that directory will be sorted in ascending alphabetical order by file name and summed together as if it were a single file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's emerge-info :
https://bpaste.net/show/ef08e6d1f1f0

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7132
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should disable doc USE flag, it should not be used globally. Then try your emerge command again. And add -march=native to your CFLAGS.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to work now as it doesn't fail in the first 5 seconds.
What did I actually do here by enabling the doc USE file?
I really want to understand how did I cause it to malfunction.

Thanks alot for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43387
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nadebu,

The doc USE flag builds the optional documents for all packages you have installed that support this option.
Some packages generate documents 'on the fly' using packages like doxygen that have a whole list of depondancies of their own.

USE=doc pulls in doxygen and others.

I remember that one in particular as it caused me some pain with circular dependencies.
USE=-doc still installs man pages and info pages.

As Jaglover says, if you really want all the documents for a package, set it in package.use just for the packages you want.

If you want to see the difference, now that its working, do
Code:
USE=doc emerge -uDNpv @world

All the new packages are related to generating and displaying documents.
A// the rebuilds with doc* in green are being rebuilt to install optional documents.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nadebu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Nadebu,

The doc USE flag builds the optional documents for all packages you have installed that support this option.
Some packages generate documents 'on the fly' using packages like doxygen that have a whole list of depondancies of their own.

USE=doc pulls in doxygen and others.

I remember that one in particular as it caused me some pain with circular dependencies.
USE=-doc still installs man pages and info pages.

As Jaglover says, if you really want all the documents for a package, set it in package.use just for the packages you want.

If you want to see the difference, now that its working, do
Code:
USE=doc emerge -uDNpv @world

All the new packages are related to generating and displaying documents.
A// the rebuilds with doc* in green are being rebuilt to install optional documents.


Very detailed and awesome reply.
I really like this forum/community, again Thanks alot for your help!
Will try installing KDE now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum