Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to use your hardware sensors with Kernel 2.6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TlighT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Asus A7V133 motherboard and the sensors seem to be working fine (2.6.1 kernel).

I use these modules:
Code:
w83781d                31936  0
i2c_sensor              2368  1 w83781d
i2c_viapro              5900  0
i2c_core               20868  3 w83781d,i2c_sensor,i2c_viapro


Everything seems to be reported correctly. I only had to change the CPU temperature in gkrellm, which was half the temperature the BIOS reported, so I used a Factor 2 to get the (hopefully) correct temperature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: lm-sensors on nForce3 AMD64 mobo Reply with quote

Anyone know if the nForce3/amd64 mother boards have i2c sensors on them?

I know the nForce3 has SMBus but i dont know if it has sensors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got myself a new ABit AN7 (nForce2) mobo, has anyone had any success with this thing? I've tried most (if not all) of the recommendations in this thread, including the i2c-isa stuff.

I got some stuff in /sys/bus/i2c/devices which appears to be related to the eeprom i2c device .... but nothing on actual temp sensors. I noticed this when I compiled all the i2c stuff (minus the things that obviously were not right for this board) into the kernel instead of as modules.

The strange thing about this board is that it appears to have a standard Winbond W83627HF, which is supported by the w83781d driver, and also a thing called uGuru which apparently is a Winbond W83L950D chip. I see there is a driver for the W83L785TS but it probably doesn't support the newer chip (yet?).

Anyone know of a solution to this?
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Success here with nForce2...

Modules: w83781d, i2c_sensor, i2c_isa, i2c_core
Getting temperature readings for case and processor, and one fan RPM reading.
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tactless wrote:
Success here with nForce2...

Modules: w83781d, i2c_sensor, i2c_isa, i2c_core
Getting temperature readings for case and processor, and one fan RPM reading.


Yeah I saw your earlier post, and tried those settings on my AN7 but with no success. The Windows software supplied with the board to monitor sensors appears to use this other uGuru chip, which doesn't appear to work with any of the drivers in the 2.6 kernels.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filipp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Helsinki

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using a Asus VIA KT266e mobo.
Ive loaded the following modules:
i2c_dev
i2c_isa
i2c_viapro
i2c_sensor
i2c_core
w83781d
via686a
it87

I get the nodes:
Code:

filipp@tigger filipp $ cd /sys/bus/i2c/devices/1-002d/
alarms        fan_min1      in_max0       in_min3       temp_hyst3
beep_enable   fan_min2      in_max1       in_min4       temp_input1
beep_mask     fan_min3      in_max2       in_min5       temp_input2
detach_state  in_input0     in_max3       in_min6       temp_input3
fan_div1      in_input1     in_max4       name          temp_max1
fan_div2      in_input2     in_max5       pwm1          temp_max2
fan_div3      in_input3     in_max6       pwm2          temp_max3
fan_input1    in_input4     in_min0       pwm_enable2   vid
fan_input2    in_input5     in_min1       temp_hyst1    vrm
fan_input3    in_input6     in_min2       temp_hyst2


But when I point gkrellm or a gdesklet to any of the temp_input{1-3}
files, I get completely wrong readigs (3000, 2750 and 11200 respectively)

Then I decided to give the latest lm-sensors package a ago and emerged
lm-sensors-2.8.2.20040111. With sensors-detect I could at least
get some info on what sensor my machine had.

Whats very WEIRD to me, is that "sensors" gives out, what seems like perfectly SANE readings:
Code:

filipp@tigger filipp $ sensors
as99127f-i2c-1-2d
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at e800
Algorithm: Unavailable from sysfs
VCore 1:   +1.76 V  (min =  +1.54 V, max =  +1.95 V)
VCore 2:   +0.10 V  (min =  +2.24 V, max =  +2.74 V)       ALARM
+3.3V:     +3.46 V  (min =  +2.96 V, max =  +3.62 V)
+5V:       +5.05 V  (min =  +4.49 V, max =  +5.48 V)
+12V:     +12.40 V  (min =  +9.12 V, max = +13.62 V)
-12V:     -10.81 V  (min =  -9.60 V, max = -14.37 V)
-5V:       -3.25 V  (min =  -4.00 V, max =  -6.00 V)       ALARM
fan1:        0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
fan2:        0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
fan3:        0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 2)
M/B Temp:    +30C  (high =  +105C, hyst =    +0C)
CPU Temp:  +55.0C  (high =   +95C, hyst =   +85C)          (beep)
temp3:    +224.4C  (high =  +122C, hyst =  +121C)
vid:      +1.750 V
alarms:
beep_enable:
          Sound alarm enabled
 
Philips-i2c-0-61
Adapter: bt878 #0 [sw]
Algorithm: Unavailable from sysfs

So my question is where does "sensors" get its info and why is everything
in /sys/bus/i2c/devices/... gibberish?


Many TIA,
-filipp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andersson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

filipp wrote:
So my question is where does "sensors" get its info and why is everything
in /sys/bus/i2c/devices/... gibberish?

sensors gets the info from the gibberish because it multiplies the value with one number and add another to the product to get the correct value. What you see in /sys/bus/.... is the output from the sensors, which don't use celsius degrees -it's much easier to convert the output to celsius or farenheit in the computer than trying to do it with hardware components.

There are instructions on calibrating in this thread, but usually you're only interested in the changes anyway (does the temperature increase if I add another hard drive?). gkrellm and probably gdesklets have input fields for these corrections. (They're called factor and offset in gkrellm). Just set them to something that sounds about right (or calibrate to match sensors if you trust those values).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
razamatan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm having some weird hdd issues w/ i2c

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=127131&highlight=
_________________
a razamatan doth speaketh,
"Never attribute to malice, that which can be adequately explained by stupidity"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Success with Shuttle's SN85G4 (n-force3 chipset):
uname -r wrote:
2.6.2-rc1-mm2


lsmod wrote:
it87 24904 0
i2c_isa 2624 0
i2c_sensor 3328 1 it87
i2c_core 26564 3 it87,i2c_isa,i2c_sensor


ls /sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-0290/ wrote:
alarms fan_div3 fan_min1 in_input1 in_input5 in_max0 in_max4 in_min0 in_min4 name sensor3 temp_max1 temp_min2
detach_state fan_input1 fan_min2 in_input2 in_input6 in_max1 in_max5 in_min1 in_min5 power temp_input1 temp_max2 temp_min3
fan_div1 fan_input2 fan_min3 in_input3 in_input7 in_max2 in_max6 in_min2 in_min6 sensor1 temp_input2 temp_max3
fan_div2 fan_input3 in_input0 in_input4 in_input8 in_max3 in_max7 in_min3 in_min7 sensor2 temp_input3 temp_min1

_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
filipp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Location: Helsinki

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master_Of_Disaster wrote:
Success with Shuttle's SN85G4 (n-force3 chipset):


How do you make the information in /sys/bus/i2c/... meaningful?



-filipp
PS. Your signature - is that "After darkness came light, after Windows came Tux?"
_________________
-filipp
"In a world without walls and fences, who needs Gates and Windows?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge lm-sensors-2.8.2 - is is masked so ull have to unmask it in /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask

this version doest install
modules - just the scripts like sensors detect etc

u can use the sensors program to display the sensor info. Ive got it working on nforce3 as well now! :-) i thinkgkrellm should be able to show the sensor info? tho ive not tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i get fan speeds and voltages but the tempratures come up as:

Quote:

ERROR: Can't get TEMP1 data!


did you get your tempratures as well?[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did, I suppose they are correct (about 65 to 70°C under full load)
All I did was to load the modules, re-emerge gkrellm and to divide the values by 0.1 in gkrellm using the "Factor" Box.
I rebooted just now and set the fan to "Smart Mode", but when loading the modules it switches to "full"... Has anybody managed to change this behaviour at runtime?

*update*: http://archives.andrew.net.au/lm-sensors/msg04548.html
Let's see whether this works with 2.6.2-rc1-mm2....
Anybody who got a Shuttle, please try and report back!
Thanks in advance!
_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah im using gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.1 - its also probably why my SATA appears as scsi and yours appears as ide - will try it

* update *

oddly the tempx_input entries in sysfs have numbers in them - but the senors script wont show them! grr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed lm_sensors-2.8.2, but I don't know what to think of it. I don't need this userland stuff if gkrellm shows temp without that... It's nice for detection, but I figured that out already *G*. Anyway, I'd recommend using this with 2.6.2-rc1-mm2, as more lm_sensors modules have merged into the kernel sources.
Seems like the entries in /proc described in the documentation are missing, and they are missing in /sys too. I filed a bug report, let's see what happens.
_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lolo-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 62
Location: SQY (France)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
Does anyone have factor and offset numbers for a K7D-Master L?

I use these settings:

Code:

temp1:
factor: 0.2
offset: -34

temp2:
factor: 0.1
offset: -23

temp3:
factor: 0.1333
offset: -49.667


it seems that (factor=1,offset=0) is a good setting for the fan speed sensors

I don't use voltage sensors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you have to patch 2.6.2-rc1-mm2 with the stuff for the SI 3512? did u just use the same patches as b4 or did they need modifying? could u post the modified patches? thanks!

i tried patching with the fan-control stuff from https://forums.gentoo.org/posting.php?mode=editpost&p=803600 but sum of the hunks failed - and im not so great with the patch hacking yet - might take a look when ive got more time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lolo-: i've been using factor 1, offset -22 for the CPUs, but that's only a guess.
i wish my /etc/sensors.conf still worked :grumble:

i'm gonna stick with mine.. your numbers give me -16 for cpu 0 and 33 for cpu 1. way off :P
tahnks though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lolo-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 62
Location: SQY (France)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
Lolo-: i've been using factor 1, offset -22 for the CPUs, but that's only a guess.
i wish my /etc/sensors.conf still worked :grumble:

i'm gonna stick with mine.. your numbers give me -16 for cpu 0 and 33 for cpu 1. way off :P
tahnks though


I've applied the method explained in the man pages of gkrellm2 (so my values are quite experimental too :? )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master_Of_Disaster wrote:
I installed lm_sensors-2.8.2, but I don't know what to think of it. I don't need this userland stuff if gkrellm shows temp without that... It's nice for detection, but I figured that out already *G*. Anyway, I'd recommend using this with 2.6.2-rc1-mm2, as more lm_sensors modules have merged into the kernel sources.
Seems like the entries in /proc described in the documentation are missing, and they are missing in /sys too. I filed a bug report, let's see what happens.


ive changed to 2.6.2-rc1-mm1 the patch worked a treat. only i still get TEMP not found errors in the output of sensors.

UPDATE:

Using ksensors i get M/B 49C CPU -15 C and temp3: 39C will try with gkrellm

hmm gkrellm gives the same values, im pretty sure that my CPU is not at -15 C
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BoBB
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 143
Location: Mesa, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This work perfectly for me up to the sensors-detect part, it errors out with this error ... No i2c device files found. Use prog/mkdev/mkdev.sh to create them.

Ive tried loading i2c-dev but it still errors out with that message, anyone have any clues?
_________________
/* BoBB
* AIM: Jodokast49 ICQ: 151495596
* http://irgeek.net/
*/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theboywho
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master_Of_Disaster wrote:

*update*: http://archives.andrew.net.au/lm-sensors/msg04548.html
Let's see whether this works with 2.6.2-rc1-mm2....
Anybody who got a Shuttle, please try and report back!
Thanks in advance!


Did you get those it87 init reset patches to work with 2.6.2-rc1-mm2? i couldnt. it looks to me like i2c-2.8.3 is a little different from the in kernel version - i thought those were meant to be up 2date?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Corw|n of Amber
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 221
Location: Socialist Sovietic Republic of Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It Works! YAY! First time I get it to work at all.

Mobo : Asus A7M 266-D
Kernel : 2.6.1-rc1-love3
gkrellm : 2.1.25
_________________
Whoever is enough of a fanatic to KILL people should be shot on sight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Popop56
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does work on my System - I'm using a EPOX nforce2 mobo.

Ive loaded the following modules:

Code:
i2c_nforce2             5120  0
w83781d                33600  0
i2c_sensor              2432  1 w83781d
i2c_core               21124  3 i2c_nforce2,w83781d,i2c_sensor


Result of sensors: No sensors found!
:(

Anyone know of a solution to this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

has anyone tried 2.6.2-rc2? the sensors are EVEN FARTHER off; mine reads at like 600. this is retarted. i liked the OLD i2c...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 5 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum