Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to use your hardware sensors with Kernel 2.6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2003
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I see Linux is far behind in the field of this.

I have every module loaded to do with i2c and still no sensors....

Perhaps they feel not supporting the 686B chipset (lots of Abit mobo's come with it) is not required.

Quote:
i2c_isa 2368 0
i2c_sensor 3328 5 eeprom,lm75,lm78,lm85,via686a
i2c_viapro 5708 0
i2c_core 24900 8 eeprom,lm75,lm78,lm85,i2c_isa,via686a,i2c_sensor,i2c_viapro

_________________
-Kow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slammer
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 270
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need i2c-dev.
I have also a via686 mobo, and for me, the i2c-viapro does not work, I am using the i2c-via.
_________________
Keep Slamming...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mobiusproject
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Jun 2003
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seph64, these are the modules that I use for my nforce2 board (A7N8X Deluxe):

I2C Support (i2c-core)
I2C Device Interface (i2c-dev)
I2C Hardware Bus support -> Nvidia Nforce2 (i2c-nforce2)
I2C Hardware Sensors Chip support -> Winbond W83781D, W83782D, W83783S, W83627HF, Asus AS99127F (w83781d)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I got a new computer and this stuff is not working anymore... Anyone else got a nforce 3 board and tried using lm_sensors / 2.6.x modules? I can't get this to work, it's a Shuttle SN85G4.
_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mal0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm experiencing some problems here :?
now, my modules look like:
Code:

bash-2.05b# lsmod | grep i2c
i2c_nforce2             6464  0
i2c_dev                11200  0
i2c_sensor              3264  1 w83781d
i2c_core               26052  4 w83781d,i2c_nforce2,i2c_dev,i2c_sensor
bash-2.05b#

if i manually load i2c-isa, gkrellm2 works with all sensors provided by my 8rda+ nf2 mainboard - otherwise it will only show cpu sensor
now i want to use a tool, you maybe never heard of - 8rdavcore. i need that to really underclock my cpu - only using that util, it's possible to reach a vcore of only 1.075v!
with config shown, it works just fine.
if i let i2c-isa load at boot time, gkrellm2 shows all sensors :D - BUT: 8rdavcore works no longer :evil:
it says something like it can't read or write to the i2c bus?!
if i unload i2c-isa, it says that there would be no /dev/i2c devices there?!

please help me! i do need both utilities running!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Heksanol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: South-Africa

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got gkrellm to read my lm-sensors.

Using gentoo-dev-2.6.1-rc3
KT400

This is what i did in my kernel config:

I didnt make anything modules in the i2c-support section - just made it to compile into the kernel.

<*> I2C support
<*> I2C device interface

Then in I2C Hardware Bus support, I build in "VIA 82C596/82C686/823x"
Then in I2C Hardware Sensor Chip Support, I build in "ITE IT87xx and compatibles" and "VIA686A".

And thats it.

Make sure you have a /sys directory.
Make sure lm-sensors and gk-sensors are not compiled on your system, if they are, then emerge -C them, cause you dont need them.
Make sure you have the latest gkrellm compiled - v2.1.24

After you have booted with your new kernel config, emerge gkrellm again, and then the sensor options should work.

As for the callibration, here is the part from the man gkrellm2 file:


Quote:
Here is a hypothetical CPU calibration procedure. Make sure gkrellm is configured with default factors of 1.0 and off-
sets of 0 and is reporting temperatures in centigrade:


1 <B7> Power on the machine and read a real temperature T1 from the bios or a temperature probe. If reading from the
bios, proceed with booting the OS. Now record a sensor temperature S1 as reported by gkrellm.

2 <B7> Change the room temperature environment (turn off your AC or change computer fan exhaust speed). Now repeat step
1, this time recording a real temperature T2 and gkrellm reported sensor temperature S2.

3 <B7> Now you can calculate the correction factor and offset you need to enter into the Sensor configuration tab:


From:

(s - S1)/(S2 - S1) = (t - T1)/( T2 - T1)

t= s*(T2 - T1)/(S2 - S1) + (S2*T1 - S1*T2)/(S2 - S1)
So:

factor = (T2 - T1)/(S2 - S1)
offset = (S2*T1 - S1*T2)/(S2 - S1)





I still have to calibrate mine correctly, but that can wait.

Also, most of the stuff I said above has been mentioned by the person who started this thread.

PS - if anyone can give a layman's explanation on how to callibrate the voltage sensors, please feel free to give your advice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have factor and offset numbers for a K7D-Master L?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andersson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I calibrated my temperature settings today as described above, but I found it hard to create a big enough difference in temperature to change the cpu temp. I wish there was an option in bios to stress the cpu. Perhaps I'll try again when it's really cold outside (today was about 7'C), then put a radiator next to the computer and get the second reading.

I'll be getting one of those quiet passive cooling things for the graphics card and I heard those generate a lot of heat. Well, now I'll know if I need to buy an extra fan or not. :)

What different programs are there to display the values except for gkrellm and gdesklets? Anything command line?

*edit* I just realized you can cat /sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-6000/temp_input1 from a script and add your offset and factor there. Nice! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rXi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andersson:
yes there are a couple.. sensors which comes with the lm-sensors pkg and xsensors which is just a gui version sensors. there are some desklets for lm_sensors. or you could tail -f the temp file. and ofcourse ksensors for kde people. and wmsensormon for window maker.

rxi
_________________
hell hath but one fury greater than a woman scorned: a woman rooted, then scorned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcangel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have asus a7v333, kernel 2.6.1-r1, and lm-sensors 2.8.0, but I don't have temp sensors, I have this modules loaded:

w83781d 31936 0
i2c_sensor 2368 1 w83781d
i2c_viapro 5900 0
i2c_dev 8256 0
i2c_core 20680 4 w83781d,i2c_sensor,i2c_viapro,i2c_dev

but I have this result

as99127f-i2c-1-2d
Adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at e800
Algorithm: Unavailable from sysfs
VCore 1: +1.71 V (min = +1.57 V, max = +1.73 V) ALARM
VCore 2: +1.71 V (min = +1.57 V, max = +1.73 V)
+3.3V: +3.28 V (min = +3.14 V, max = +3.46 V)
+5V: +4.97 V (min = +4.73 V, max = +5.24 V)
+12V: +12.89 V (min = +10.82 V, max = +13.19 V)
-12V: -13.48 V (min = -0.00 V, max = -0.00 V)
-5V: -5.10 V (min = -0.00 V, max = -0.00 V)
fan1: 4354 RPM (min = -1 RPM, div = 2)
fan2: 0 RPM (min = 337500 RPM, div = 2)
fan3: 0 RPM (min = -1 RPM, div = 2)
ERROR: Can't get TEMP1 data!
ERROR: Can't get TEMP2 data!
ERROR: Can't get TEMP3 data!
vid: +1.650 V
alarms:
beep_enable:
Sound alarm enabled
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andersson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arcangel, I also have the modules i2c_isa and i2c_algo_bit (but the latter is probably just needed for the tv-card) loaded. If that's not it, perhaps your mobo doesn't have any temp sensors. What does /sys/bus/i2c/devices/ look like?

edit: I just saw this in another thread, it might be an lm_sensor problem https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=124354
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Prague, Czechlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:06 am    Post subject: gkrellm2 doesn't show sensors Reply with quote

I did:
emerge gkrellm
emerge -C gkrellm
emerge gkrellm

And still in the "Properties" there are no sensors in gkrellm2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Heksanol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: South-Africa

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Re: gkrellm2 doesn't show sensors Reply with quote

Clock wrote:
I did:
emerge gkrellm
emerge -C gkrellm
emerge gkrellm

And still in the "Properties" there are no sensors in gkrellm2.


Er... does your lmsensors work; if you use 2.6.*, did you choose the correct settings for lm sensors? Cause if lm sensors dont work, then they wont be availlable in gkrellm2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedmodder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is a bit late, but I believe this might help some of you who don't know what modules to pick (it doesn't note anything about the ISA module, so if you pick the right module and it doesn't work, try ISA, with ISA bus support)

Check HERE and find which motherboard you have and just remember the sensor chip corresponding to your motherboard. Then go Here and check SENSOR CHIP DRIVERS - STATUS (purple table) for your chip. The driver is the module you need!

IE:
I have a Gigabyte GA7-VAXP
MBM list says the sensor chip is the SIS950/ITE8705F
The LM-sensors page says :
SiS 950 it87
I need the it87 module :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lolo-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 62
Location: SQY (France)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
Does anyone have factor and offset numbers for a K7D-Master L?

could you tell me which options you checked in your kernel config to get the sensors work ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazedmodder wrote:
I know this is a bit late, but I believe this might help some of you who don't know what modules to pick (it doesn't note anything about the ISA module, so if you pick the right module and it doesn't work, try ISA, with ISA bus support)

Check HERE and find which motherboard you have and just remember the sensor chip corresponding to your motherboard. Then go Here and check SENSOR CHIP DRIVERS - STATUS (purple table) for your chip. The driver is the module you need!

IE:
I have a Gigabyte GA7-VAXP
MBM list says the sensor chip is the SIS950/ITE8705F
The LM-sensors page says :
SiS 950 it87
I need the it87 module :)


yeh but one problem, i've tried it87 and it doesn't work ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lolo-:
Quote:
613 # I2C support
CONFIG_I2C=m
CONFIG_I2C_CHARDEV=m
# I2C Algorithms
CONFIG_I2C_ALGOBIT=m
CONFIG_I2C_ALGOPCF=m
# I2C Hardware Bus support
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI1535 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ALI15X3 is not set
CONFIG_I2C_AMD756=m
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD8111 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_ELV is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_I801 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_I810 is not set
CONFIG_I2C_ISA=m
# CONFIG_I2C_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 is not set
CONFIG_I2C_PROSAVAGE=m
# CONFIG_I2C_SAVAGE4 is not set
# CONFIG_SCx200_ACB is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS5595 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS630 is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_SIS96X is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_VELLEMAN is not set
CONFIG_I2C_VIA=m
CONFIG_I2C_VIAPRO=m
# CONFIG_I2C_VOODOO3 is not set
#
# I2C Hardware Sensors Chip support
#
CONFIG_I2C_SENSOR=m
CONFIG_SENSORS_ADM1021=m
CONFIG_SENSORS_EEPROM=m
# CONFIG_SENSORS_IT87 is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_LM75 is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_LM78 is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_LM83 is not set
# CONFIG_SENSORS_LM85 is not set
CONFIG_SENSORS_VIA686A=m
CONFIG_SENSORS_W83781D=m


you also need isa support in bus options.
oh yeah, and tell us about your box. i'm interested in other peoples' dualie setups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nForce 2 user here... the i2c-nforce2 module does nothing for me. Instead, I use these modules:
Code:
w83781d                31744  0
i2c_sensor              3456  1 w83781d
i2c_isa                 2816  0
i2c_core               22020  3 w83781d,i2c_sensor,i2c_isa

Things are looking good with them.[/code]
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lolo-
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 62
Location: SQY (France)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
Lolo-:
you also need isa support in bus options.
oh yeah, and tell us about your box. i'm interested in other peoples' dualie setups.

(my box is a msi k7d (no lan chipset) with 2 athlon 1800+)

thx a lot, isa was missing :oops:
but you shouldn't need all the via/savage modules

Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
i2c_isa                 1664  0
w83781d                32384  0
i2c_sensor              2336  1 w83781d
i2c_amd756              4900  0
i2c_core               21160  4 i2c_isa,w83781d,i2c_sensor,i2c_amd756
nvidia               2071624  12
hw_random               4436  0


anyway to load the modules at startup ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Put the modules you want to load in there.
_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedmodder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
crazedmodder wrote:
I know this is a bit late, but I believe this might help some of you who don't know what modules to pick (it doesn't note anything about the ISA module, so if you pick the right module and it doesn't work, try ISA, with ISA bus support)

Check HERE and find which motherboard you have and just remember the sensor chip corresponding to your motherboard. Then go Here and check SENSOR CHIP DRIVERS - STATUS (purple table) for your chip. The driver is the module you need!

IE:
I have a Gigabyte GA7-VAXP
MBM list says the sensor chip is the SIS950/ITE8705F
The LM-sensors page says :
SiS 950 it87
I need the it87 module :)


yeh but one problem, i've tried it87 and it doesn't work ;-)


Did you put ISA support?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep the driver gives me a CPU temp of 700 degree's C, so it detects it but reads it wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lolo-:
Code:
root@Helix> lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
w83781d                31648  -
eeprom                  5672  -
i2c_sensor              2144  -
i2c_isa                 1472  -
i2c_amd756              4004  -
i2c_core               19976  -
agpgart                26348  -
fglrx                 200580  -

those are the only modules that are being used. yeah, i could remove the other ones, but extra modules never killed anyone, right?
if you put the modules you need into /etc/modules.autoload, one module per line, it will load them at boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andersson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
yep the driver gives me a CPU temp of 700 degree's C, so it detects it but reads it wrong

You probably need to calibrate the sensors. There was instructions for this in an earlier post in this thread, but you could just divide by 20 something -after all it's not the absolute temperature that's important but how it changes under heavy load or when you add new hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazedmodder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

viperlin wrote:
yep the driver gives me a CPU temp of 700 degree's C, so it detects it but reads it wrong


I get:
1: 330*C
2: 880*C
3: -550*C

Voltage:
3.3V: 6.5
+5V is right
+12V is right
-12V: -8.9V
-5V is right

I dunno if the fans display properly (got no 3 pin fans) but I think it may be a module problem. Anyone else using it87 having the same problems? I tried a few other modules and it gave the same results :( None of the things displayed wrong are even possible temperatures. Also, I know my mb sensor isn't wack because MBM under windows reads temps fine... Anyone got a fix?

EDIT
Andersson wrote:
viperlin wrote:
yep the driver gives me a CPU temp of 700 degree's C, so it detects it but reads it wrong

You probably need to calibrate the sensors. There was instructions for this in an earlier post in this thread, but you could just divide by 20 something -after all it's not the absolute temperature that's important but how it changes under heavy load or when you add new hardware.

I just read your post. normally under windows I get 55*C idle and 60*C load, while I get 70*C 3/4 load with all fans @ 7V. I'll check, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 4 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum