Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] no network drivers(Realtek Semiconductor, Qualcom)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 5:19 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] no network drivers(Realtek Semiconductor, Qualcom) Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am new on Gentoo. After installing it on hdd i cannot connect to the network.
At the start DHCP is stuck and puts dots.
Results from ipconfig and iwconfig show only one record (lo , loopback?)
I compared livecd to installed os using
Code:
lspci -k
and it looks like i do not have kernel driver nor kernel module.
How to get that? I remember I ticked the correct drivers while configuring kernel but i could only set the module.

Sorry for my english anyway.


Last edited by Jozpod on Fri May 15, 2015 9:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2468
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jozpod,

Welcome to Gentoo! Can you please post the output of lspci and lspci -n? When you configure your kernel, we can help you choose the right drivers. If you're only seeing lo when you do an ifconfig -a, then you don't have the correct NIC drivers in your kernel.

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lspci

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Complex
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity [Radeon HD 7520G]
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity HDMI Audio Controller
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
00:10.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB XHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller (rev 14)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge (rev 11)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:14.7 SD Host controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SD Flash Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 5
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR8162 Fast Ethernet (rev 10)
02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)


Code:
lspci -n

Code:
00:00.0 0600: 1022:1410
00:01.0 0300: 1002:9990
00:01.1 0403: 1002:9902
00:04.0 0604: 1022:1414
00:05.0 0604: 1022:1415
00:10.0 0c03: 1022:7812 (rev 03)
00:11.0 0106: 1022:7801
00:12.0 0c03: 1022:7807 (rev 11)
00:12.2 0c03: 1022:7808 (rev 11)
00:13.0 0c03: 1022:7807 (rev 11)
00:13.2 0c03: 1022:7808 (rev 11)
00:14.0 0c05: 1022:780b (rev 14)
00:14.2 0403: 1022:780d (rev 01)
00:14.3 0601: 1022:780e (rev 11)
00:14.4 0604: 1022:780f (rev 40)
00:14.5 0c03: 1022:7809 (rev 11)
00:14.7 0805: 1022:7806
00:18.0 0600: 1022:1400
00:18.1 0600: 1022:1401
00:18.2 0600: 1022:1402
00:18.3 0600: 1022:1403
00:18.4 0600: 1022:1404
00:18.5 0600: 1022:1405
01:00.0 0200: 1969:1090 (rev 10)
02:00.0 0280: 10ec:8176 (rev 01)


There is config saved about my kernel configuration(what i toggled), but I have got no clue, where it is placed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SwordArMor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2015
Posts: 55
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you enabled the atheros driver in your kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2468
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jozpod,

For your wired connection, here's what you need:

Code:

Device Drivers  --->
    [*] Network device support  ---> 
        [*] Ethernet driver support  --->
            [*] Atheros devices  --->
                [*] Qualcomm Atheros AR816x/AR817x support


and for your wireless:

Code:

Device Drivers  --->
    [*] Network device support  ---> 
        [*] Wireless LAN  --->
            <*> Realtek rtlwifi family of devices (NEW)  --->
                <*> Realtek RTL8192CE/RTL8188CE Wireless Network Adapter (NEW)


For the wireless, you might want to have that as a module, and modprobe it. You'll also need the firmware for rtl8192ce, which I believe can be found in the linux-firmware package (emerge -av linux-firmware).

Let us know how that works.

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SwordArMor wrote:
Have you enabled the atheros driver in your kernel?

How to do that ? :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SwordArMor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2015
Posts: 55
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jozpod wrote:
SwordArMor wrote:
Have you enabled the atheros driver in your kernel?

How to do that ? :oops:


Like NathanZachary said ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NathanZachary wrote:

For the wireless, you might want to have that as a module, and modprobe it. You'll also need the firmware for rtl8192ce, which I believe can be found in the linux-firmware package (emerge -av linux-firmware).


I installed the linux-firmware package and recompiled the kernel
To add the module i have to edit /etc/conf.d/modules ?
How to get list of compiled modules? lsmod?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2468
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you compiled them into the kernel, they won't be modules. If they had 'M' next to them, they're modules. When you're in makeconfig, you can hit '?' to show you more about each item. When doing so on these two items, it will show the name of the module. lsmod will only show you the loaded modules.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put the module in /etc/conf.d/modules and still it does not work.
When I compile the kernel it should replace the old one, right?

I saw on the console that it failed to load the module ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SwordArMor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2015
Posts: 55
Location: Bretagne

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you do make install and also make modules_install after the compilation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2468
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as you replaced the kernel image within GRUB2, you should be fine:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Kernel#Compiling_and_installing

Basically, I usually do:

Code:

make menuconfig


and after I have made my changes:

Code:

mount /boot
make -j5 && make modules_install && make install


You'll change the -j count to make sense for your processor's capabilities.

If I made changes to the same kernel version (e.g. I didn't upgrade to a new kernel release), I generally go remove the previous versions with:

Code:

cd /boot
rm -fv System.map*.old config*.old vmlinuz*gentoo.old


Then to get the new kernel in GRUB, you just do:

Code:

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


You should see that it found the new kernel image.

Hope that helps. Keep us posted. The learning curve is what makes Gentoo such an awesome experience in the long-run. :)

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jozpod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay the thing is solved.

Looks like i concentrated too much on network drivers and forgot to enable wifi.
Well they were set as a module, so adding few more entries to module config would change everything.
I realized how dependency works and from now on kernel starts with drivers already included.

I was using genkernel -menuconfig all, hoping it will fetch configuration from etc/portage/make.conf and even install modules. I set there number of cpus and compilation options after all.

Thank you very much for help!





...by the way i made noauto entry in fstab to boot and i wonder where kernel was being saved.
Who knows... the devil is in the detail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2468
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad that it is all resolved for you!

Please add "[SOLVED]" to your title post when you have a moment.

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum