Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
below minimum RAM requirements
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alpage2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Irre wrote:
You can also try FreeBSD (or Gentoo-FreeBSD) and use clang as default compiler, which is much faster than gcc.


Thanks, Irre - it's another option.

I have tried openBSD, and found it too sluggish, but I can see that Gentoo-freeBSD is a very different animal. Has anyone tried that and openBSD, and able to comment on relative speed?

Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes being a bit off topic here, but yes, I've found openbsd and netbsd tend to be slower than freebsd, if you want to go that route.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alpage2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks eccerr0r

- certainly another option, but to get back on topic, I'd really like to try gentoo first. I enjoyed using it in the past - always something going on, config files to update, and I learned a lot from it :wink:

Regards
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'd say you can run gentoo on that pc, but you can't build gentoo with it.
Also, whatever graphics you have, it's likely not to be supported by X anymore so you can expect 100% CPU usage just from moving windows around. It doesn't mean you can't run a web browser on top of X there though, it shouldn't be so bad :lol: it's not like you were dragging windows around all the time.

Definitely build everything with a stronger machine. Much stronger. You can follow regular installation guide, just build everything in chroot, and then copy to i586. You can skip /usr/portaga during copy to save some disk space as you won't need sources there anyway.
Or, you can use emerge to build a very custom system based on busybox instead of core packages and with all build time dependencies striped (no portage, no gcc in final image. You can drop perl and python too). This way you can get smaller system, but it's more tricky to do. Obviously you won't be able to easily upgrade it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reference old machines and memory, here's a reference from long ago
(the machine was literally found by the roadside, so I started tinkering
with it.) Have a care and be careful.

Will

Fri Oct 27 11:17:23 BST 2006
The P133 machine has odd memory requirements. To check this, I unpacked
the elvis-2.2_0 sources, configured them and then ran make. Using Gentoo
2005.1, the "make" process took 35:47 - 23:29 = 12:18 minutes with 96MB
of memory, and 29:23 - 19:50 = 9:27 minutes with 64MB of memory, a
speed-up of about 23%. Apparently this is the result of the i430vx
chipset not caching more than 64MB of memory. Also, the machine accepts
only 16-chip (72 pint) EDO RAM; 8-chip RAM, and 168-pin SIMs, are seen
as half-size.

The P133 has a BIOS setting "OS select for DRAM above 64MB" which was
set to "non-OS/2", for the above tests. With the setting at "OS/2",
a compile with 96MB took 51:39 - 38:19 = 13:20 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwr,

That was a common feature. 64Mb was a huge RAM size when that machine was new. The cache was on the motherboard, not in the CPU.
SRAM was expensive, so only enough tag RAM was fitted to cover 64Mb.

Going back further, I remember motherboards where the cache RAM was optional. It was all socketed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7127
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was working on the same problem, a 437VX chipset. I have a single 128MB SDRAM module in it and had to disable the L2 cache to use it, and wonder how bad it will run. I have a K6-233 in it, and so far it seems somewhat slow, but I haven't done exhaustive tests on it.

Unfortunately, I only have two 16MB 72-pin DIMMs, and the VX board has two 72-pin slots and two 168-pin slots... I suspect 32MB RAM vs 128MB ( or possibly 256MB, I have an extra but broken 256MB SDRAM) is a larger discrepancy.

I tried putting the 128MB and the 256MB into the machine. It sounds like the VX board supports no more than 256MB or something, and due to the bad bits on the 256MB SDRAM DIMM, a memtest indicates the 128MB SDRAM DIMM was simply ignored.

I'm still somewhat surprised that the 256MB SDRAM DIMM even worked. I thought it was a "high density" DIMM... maybe not... *shrug*
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum