Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installation: It says I'm connected, but that the connection
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 4:50 pm    Post subject: Installation: It says I'm connected, but that the connection Reply with quote

I'm at the beginning.

I used fdisk and partitioned the drive.

Sempron 3000+ 1.8 GHz:
Motherboard Name: K8S-LA
74.4 Gb sata wd: Caviar
1024Gb PC3200 Dimm
Belkin Broadcom Wireless G Plus pci-card

I'm pretty sure that the wireless device uses the b43, b43-legacy drivers.

I get unknown host when issuing the ping command to google.

ifconfig shows:
Code:

enp0s4: flags=4099<UP BROADCAST, MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
           ether 00:13:d4:0d:df:f1     txqeuelen   1000     (ethernet)
           RX packets:0   bytes 0 (0.0 B)
            errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
           TX packets:0    bytes 0 (0.0 B)
           errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0
lo: flags=73<UP LOOPBACK, RUNNING>  mtu 65536
           inet 127.0.0.1   netmask  255.0.0.0
           inet6   fe80::24b:5bfc:8a9e:b148   prefixen   64   scopeid   0x20<link>
           loop   txqueuelen  0   (Local Loopback)
           RX packets:615   bytes 95124 (92.8KiB)
            errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
           TX packets:615   bytes 95124 (92.8KiB)
           errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0


When I run:
Code:
 /etc/init.d/net.enp0s4 restart


I get:
Code:
*   Bringing up interface enp0s4
*      Starting netplug on enp0s4 ...
*        Backgrounding ...
* WARNING: net.enp0s4 has started, but is inactive


I need the connection to unpack the stage 3 package for the initial setup....
I've been trying everything. I just did the same setup on Virtualbox to prepare me, and I'm stuck at the beginning...
Thanks in advance,
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7132
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wireless cards under the persistent names should show up with wl* ... You may need to change things around a bit versus the VM.
Is the wireless card module loaded? Do you have it configured properly? What kind of authentication are you using on the wifi network?

Are you using openrc to handle your network or networkmanager, or something else?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwconfig shows:

enp0s4: no wireless connections

lo: no wireless connections

I'm using the tools that came with the live cd. wpa_supplicant, dhcpcd,...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7132
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it appears that the wifi module was not detected at all... did it even try to load the module:

lsmod

You can try: modprobe b43 to see if it the driver is on the livecd, but I imagine it should load it automatically.

I'm not certain if all the wifi modules are on the livecd or not... I've yet to try a wifi based livecd install, I've only used ethernet.

You may have to use another machine or another OS to download the files you need (kernel source, portage tree, stage3, etc.)
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwm224,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Lets start at the beginning.
As you have a pci-card wireless, it should be listed in lspci.

Tell us the line from lspci that shows it.

If the wireless card is actually miniPCI format, it could be USB, as mini PCI also supports USB.
If that is the case, it will be listed in lsusb.

Either way if you tell us the line, we can find the driver, firmware and help with the configuration.

Code:
ifconfig -a
will show all the network interfaces the kernel can see but ifconfig only shows interfaces that are up.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
ap_scan=1

network={
bssid=00:50:17:31:1a:11
ssid="YourSSID"
psk="your-secret-key"
scan_ssid=1
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
group=CCMP TKIP
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
priority=5
}

I created a user and added the groups, thinking that might help...
I tried entering the wpa authentication manually.

Code:

config_eth0="192.168.0.7/24"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.0.1"
dns_domain_eth0="your.domain"    (Comcast.com)
dns_servers_eth0="192.168.0.2 192.168.0.3"


I tried :
Code:
modprobe b43

and
Code:
modprobe b43-legacy

and
Code:
modprobe mac80211


any ideas are welcomed.
It seems like I'm going in circles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwm224,

Read up. It looks like our posts may have crossed.
Until your wireless interface appears in ifconfig -a nothing else matters.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci:

00:09.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev02)

ifconfig -a
shows the same thing as mentioned previously. No change.

Thanks for the welcoming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see what you're saying. ifconfig -a won't show it, until it's configured.

I'm getting an overload of information. I've been studying and prepping for this install for the past 3 days on top of the virtual install. Good times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7132
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the virtual install doesn't show much - when you have to work with real hardware, everything falls asunder :D

After you 'insmod' the b43 driver, you can check 'dmesg' to see if it reported any errors. What would be bad is if you need firmware and it's not on the CD. I don't remember if that was the case or not:

BTW...
I HATE THE BCM4318 ... EEEIIIEEEWWW. This thing was a headache on the laptop it was installed in. The driver seems to work but the radio seemed to DoS any access points it was associated with. I don't know why. The workaround I did was to use an external wifi :(
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwm224
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 118
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have a usb adapter for wifi. My Debian system recognizes it as: Belkin Components F7D1101 v1 Basic Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188SU] that I could use too. I did get it to show up under usb devices somehow with the Gentoo live cd... If I could get either working would be nice, or even the usb adapter just to make it through the installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum