Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
After the Installation of Gentoo (the first reboot)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chiqui.paula
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:27 pm    Post subject: After the Installation of Gentoo (the first reboot) Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

I just finished installing the Gentoo on a real laptop (not a virtual machine). After the first reboot the root doesnt recognize any command. I was first adding a user it didnt find the command by saying
Code:
 -bash: command not found

I rebooted again and try to install
Code:
sys-apps/shadow
it didnt find it again by saying that
Code:
-bash: emerge: command not found

When I ifconfig, it didnt recognize the ethernet cable (which is weird).
So what is going on here?

Thanks,

PC,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiqui.paula
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also realized that there is nothing under /usr and /boot (ofcourse after login as root). So I am wondering where did all the system go that I have spent hours of compiling and installing.
What am I doing wrong? Is there any secret command or something to start Gentoo properly?

Or did i do something wrong so I cant use even root (doesnt accept any command other than ls and cd)?

Thanks,

PC,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds as if you don't have /usr/ mounted - bash and ls are both found in /bin, not /usr/bin.
df is also in /bin, and might tell you, from the space used on the mounted filesystems, where
stuff has gone.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiqui.paula
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will,

What do you suggest ? Honestly I dont even know what to do? Should I reinstall everything again?

PC,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiqui.paula
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I mounted my partitions and I could added user and clean the stage3*.bz2 however I still dont see anything other than "lo" when I use ifconfig?
I am using ethernet cable at this moment. Any suggestion?

Thanks,

PC,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chiqui.paula,

ifconfig only shows you interfaces that are up.
ifconfig -a will show all interfaces.

If your wired interface is not listed, either the kernel module is not loaded, not built, or both.
I the wired interface is listed, then its not up. Try
Code:
dhcpcd <interface_name>

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chiqui.paula
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Thank you so much :) now my ethernet is working. But the problem was coming from (I guess) I thought that I changed the name eth0 from enp0s25 by using the command
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0

It seems it didnt work.

1) So do I need to do the same thing for the wireless as well?

2) How do you list the module names or firmwares for wireless and ethernet? Another way of saying how do you find what firmware or modules you need for a specific hardware (in this case ethernet and wireless)?

3)
And also another question: I am trying to do
Code:

emerge -uvDNa @world

but I am getting that the following messages:
Code:

One of the following packages is required to complete your request: sys-libs/zlib-1.2.7::gentoo (Change USE: +minizip)
dependency required by: "media-vide/vlc-*::gentoo [ebuild]"
dependency required by: "media-libs/phonon-vlc*"
dependency required by: "some packeges ..."
.
.
.



Should I add to the USE (+minizip)?


Thanks,

PC,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest way to keep the "original" network names is "touch /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules"
and reboot. You'll probably have to do that as root.

Finding the drivers for your network stuff can be tedious; if nothing shows up with "ifconfig -a" then the
driver isn't loaded. You'll have to Google for the driver name and rebuild the kernel, though you could
use the kernel (and modules) from eg: the SysRescue CD as a temporary measure while you sort
things out. To do that copy the kernel and initramfs to /boot, and the relevant modules to the right
/lib/modules subdirectory, and then update grub. You can check the layout you need against the CD.

Will

(Regarding the missing partitions - check your /etc/fstab file is up to date.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwr wrote:
The easiest way to keep the "original" network names is "touch /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules"
and reboot. You'll probably have to do that as root.

don't teach Windows habit to user ;)
/etc/init.d/udev --nodeps restart would do it just fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioCorleone
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 327

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
don't teach Windows habit to user ;)
/etc/init.d/udev --nodeps restart would do it just fine


+1
_________________
-Mario
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chiqui.paula wrote:
Also realized that there is nothing under /usr and /boot (ofcourse after login as root). So I am wondering where did all the system go that I have spent hours of compiling and installing.
What am I doing wrong? Is there any secret command or something to start Gentoo properly?

Or did i do something wrong so I cant use even root (doesnt accept any command other than ls and cd)?

Just to say: don't worry. If it was emerging away before reboot, and you'd followed the handbook steps to get into the chroot, then your data is all still there.

There's some installation tips here including how to resume an install. (Tailor to your own setup ofc; as with everything in Gentoo.)

You'll see most of them are from NeddySeagoon, so you're in good hands. ;-)

What cwr said about your /etc/fstab, which will be /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab when you're on the live-disk, and haven't run chroot yet (or have hit CTRL-D or typed logout, from it.)

Once you're up and running see the basics (second page of tips.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
cwr wrote:
The easiest way to keep the "original" network names is "touch /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules"
and reboot. You'll probably have to do that as root.

don't teach Windows habit to user ;)
/etc/init.d/udev --nodeps restart would do it just fine


In fact it turns out to be a lot more complicated than that; my suggestion works with an older udev, but not the
latest release. Your suggestion works with OpenRC, but not systemd. The best bet these days seems to be to add
net.ifnames=0 to the kernel command line in grub, and reboot. See:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Udev/Upgrade_Guide

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chiqui.paula,

Your
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0
worked but udev changed the interface name, so it wasn't eth0 any more.

Choose if you want to use the kernel names or the 'persistant' interface names, then use your choosen names everywhere.

The easiest way to find out about drivers for your hardware is to boot something like System Rescue CD and run
Code:
lspci -k

You can also use the Debian page
Neither tells everything and filling in the missing pieces is a matter of googling and trial and error, or post here.

Firmware is a whole new can of worms. If you need firmware and don't have it, you will see error messages about firmware loading in dmesg.
It usually tells the file it was trying to load.

The simple answel is yes, you need USE=minizip
What profile are you using and what will you be using this install for?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7071

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwr wrote:
...
In fact it turns out to be a lot more complicated than that; my suggestion works with an older udev, but not the
latest release. Your suggestion works with OpenRC, but not systemd. The best bet these days seems to be to add
net.ifnames=0 to the kernel command line in grub, and reboot. See:

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Udev/Upgrade_Guide

Will

:D
he speak about /etc/init.d/net.eth0 so i assume openrc user, and in fact, if any systemd user is starting to ask to get back eth0 naming, i would say he is the king of fools.
eudev is working fine with only 80-net-name-slot.rules

Code:

emerge -pv eudev
...
[ebuild   R    ] sys-fs/eudev-3.1::gentoo  USE="gudev hwdb introspection kmod -doc (-selinux) -static-libs {-test}" 1 815 KiB
ls /etc/udev/rules.d/ -l
total 8
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1910  3 sept.  2012 70-persistent-cd.rules
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  628  4 juin  08:03 70-persistent-net.rules
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root    9 23 déc.   2013 80-net-name-slot.rules -> /dev/null
dmesg | grep "command line"
[    0.000000] Kernel command line: clocksource=hpet root=/dev/sdb2
ls /sys/class/net/ -l
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0  9 juin  11:04 eth0 -> ../../devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:19.0/net/eth0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0  9 juin  12:02 lo -> ../../devices/virtual/net/lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Firmware is a whole new can of worms. If you need firmware and don't have it, you will see error messages about firmware loading in dmesg.


Zymurgy's First Law of Evolving Systems Dynamics:
Once you open a can of worms, to recan them will need a bigger can.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum