Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] [Nvidia Optimus] black screen after world update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 6:15 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] [Nvidia Optimus] black screen after world update Reply with quote

Hey there,

yesterday, I installed a world update on my system. Since the next reboot, starting kdm leads to a black screen.

These are the updated packages:
Quote:
=virtual/perl-Time-Local-1.230.0-r2
=dev-util/cmake-3.2.2
=kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.8
=kde-base/libkworkspace-4.11.19
=kde-base/kephal-4.11.19
=kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.14.8
=kde-base/ksysguard-4.11.19
=kde-base/kcheckpass-4.11.19
=kde-base/kcminit-4.11.19
=kde-base/liboxygenstyle-4.11.19
=kde-base/kstartupconfig-4.11.19
=kde-base/ksplash-4.11.19
=kde-base/kinfocenter-4.11.19
=kde-base/kwin-4.11.19
=kde-base/libplasmagenericshell-4.11.19
=kde-base/khotkeys-4.11.19
=kde-base/libplasmaclock-4.11.19
=kde-base/libtaskmanager-4.11.19
=kde-apps/kdebase-data-4.14.3-r1
=kde-base/powerdevil-4.11.19
=kde-base/kscreensaver-4.11.19
=kde-base/plasma-workspace-4.11.19
=kde-base/systemsettings-4.11.19
=kde-base/kmenuedit-4.11.19
=kde-base/libkgreeter-4.11.19
=kde-base/ksmserver-4.11.19
=kde-base/krunner-4.11.19
=kde-base/kdebase-startkde-4.11.19

Nothing xserver or xdm related, I suppose.

I use a Lenovo Z50-70 with Nvidia Optimus, gentoo-sources-4.0.0 and nvidia-drivers-349.16. Before the update, everything worked fine.

xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "3:00:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID "0:02:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection


Xorg.0.log

Graphic adapters:
Quote:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0b)
03:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)


When I start xdm, my syslog logs the following lines:
Quote:
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 14 07:57:46 Phobos kernel: vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device

But they already appeared during the last months, when everything worked.

At the moment, I have no idea where to look for the cause for this misbehavior.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)


Last edited by Jimini on Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What says lsmod?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
nvidia               8387447  -2
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     36512  -2
snd_hda_codec_conexant     9063  -2
rtl8723be              77420  -2
snd_hda_codec_generic    51038  -2
btcoexist              38341  -2
rtl_pci                18020  -2
rtlwifi                52773  -2
snd_hda_intel          20253  -2
rtl8723_common          9275  -2
snd_hda_controller     19865  -2
snd_hda_codec          92499  -2
snd_hwdep               5675  -2


Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything in the logs in /var/log/* ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only the following lines appear, when I execute startx oder start xdm.
Quote:
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: ACPI Warning: \x5c_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requires [Package] (20150204/nsarguments-95)
Jun 21 12:12:31 Phobos kernel: vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device

But they were already logged, when the system was operating normally.

Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does
Code:
lspci -k
say about your VGA?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0b)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Device 380d
        Kernel driver in use: i915
03:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)
        Subsystem: Lenovo GeForce 820M
        Kernel driver in use: nvidia
        Kernel modules: nvidia


Addendum: I forgot to mention, that executing xrandr leads to the error "Can't open display". Perhaps this leads to the cause for the misbehaviour?

Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you tried nvidia-xconfig? Dont forget to backuo your actual xorg.conf first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I tried my former xorg.conf and a new one, which I created with nvidia-xconfig:
Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 349.16  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-06)  Wed Apr  8 00:52:19 PDT 2015

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "layout"
    Screen      0  "nvidia" 0 0
    Inactive       "intel"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "nvidia"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    BusID          "3:00:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "intel"
    Driver         "modesetting"
    BusID          "0:02:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "nvidia"
    Device         "nvidia"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "nvidia-auto-select"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "intel"
    Device         "intel"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
EndSection


The problem persists.

Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I think the problem is your kdm configuration. Did you configure it? Take a look on this tutorial https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA_Optimus#KDM. I'm using lighdm, but for kdm is the same...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimini
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 594
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh my, now it works. I added the following lines to /usr/share/config/kdm/Xsetup:
Quote:
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto


Afterwards, kdm started up, but the screen resolution was limited to 640x480. So I took my old xorg.conf and everything works again.

Many thanks to all of you for your help!

Best regards,
Jimini
_________________
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents." (H.P. Lovecraft: The Call of Cthulhu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caaarlos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good!! You can use these
Code:
if (xrandr | grep "HDMI-1-0 disconnected"); then
        xrandr --output HDMI-1-0 --off --output eDP-1-0 --auto
else
        xrandr --output eDP-1-0  --auto --primary --output HDMI-1-0 --auto --right-of eDP-1-0
fi
. Instead of xrandr --auto. On my system xrandr --auto not gives the right config. So if I use this script I dont have to modify my screens resolution every time I turn on my notebook.

Dont forget to change eDP-1-0 and HDMI-1-0 to yours... just execute xrandr and you will see the names.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum