Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing openblas (science overlay)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
guimera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2009
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:10 pm    Post subject: Installing openblas (science overlay) Reply with quote

Hello,

I've been trying to emerge openblas, so far without success. What I've done is:

1) Add the science overlay with layman.

2) Unmask version 0.2.14 manually. (1) and (2) seem to be ok, because running "eix openblas" shows:

Quote:

* sci-libs/openblas [1]
Available versions: ~0.2.8 ~0.2.11 ~0.2.12 (~)0.2.14 ~9999 {dynamic int64 openmp static-libs threads}
Homepage: http://xianyi.github.com/OpenBLAS/
Description: Optimized BLAS library based on GotoBLAS2


3) Unmerge blas, cblas, lapack and the corresponding eselects (I am not sure all of these are necessary, but anyway).

Still, when I run "emerge openblas" I get

Quote:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "openblas".


Any ideas of what is wrong will be much appreciated.


Last edited by guimera on Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gienah
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 211
Location: AU

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, maybe you didn't unmask everything, you could try:
Code:
echo "*/*::science ~$(portageq envvar ARCH)" >> /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords

There are some more hints here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User_talk:Houseofsuns
In these instructions since you want to use openblas instead of blas-reference, you need to
change sci-libs/blas-reference::science to sci-libs/openblas::science and
eselect blas set reference to eselect blas set openblas-threads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guimera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2009
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply and for the link. Still, after unmasking the whole overlay as you suggested and following the instructions in the link, i get the same result.

Is there a way to know what is preventing a package from an overlay to compile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gienah
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 211
Location: AU

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like that the science overlay is not correctly added. PLease try to remove and add it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum