Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can someone post /etc/conf.d/net for eth0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:17 pm    Post subject: can someone post /etc/conf.d/net for eth0 Reply with quote

i get sveral errors saying there is no device eth0
i have lin between net.lo and net .eth0
config_eth0= "dhcp"
that is the only one line in the file
soon after nstalling from stage3 i get a blank net file unlike previous net used to have some lines with # marked
and blank other lines will connect to net automaticaly dhcp
also i dont fnd a dhclient in init.d
every time i have start net.lo restart net.eth0 and dhcpcd manually then it connects to web
despite warning eth0 failed to start
i hav eright modules in kernel rtl8723ae
this is the first tie i see eth0 does not exist
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:40 pm    Post subject: Re: can someone post /etc/conf.d/net for eth0 Reply with quote

padoor wrote:
i get sveral errors saying there is no device eth0


Here's my /etc/conf.d/net as you requested. The extra line is only because there are Windows machines on the network.
    # This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
    # scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
    # please review /usr/share/doc/openrc/net.example and save your configuration
    # in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
    dns_domain_lo="MsHome"

    config_eth0="dhcp"


    # The network scripts are now part of net-misc/netifrc
    # In order to avoid sys-apps/openrc-0.12.4 from removing this file, this comment was
    # added; you can safely remove this comment. Please see
    # /usr/share/doc/netifrc*/README* for more information.


I suspect you have one of two common problems:

1. You are using udev instead of eudev and are having the persistent name gotcha. Run 'ifconfig -a' to see what device names you have.

OR

2. You don't have the right device built as a module in the kernel. Run 'lspci | grep net' to find your ethernet controller. Then run lsmod looking for the appropriate module, like tulip or e1000 or r8169 as examples.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 4:49 pm    Post subject: Re: can someone post /etc/conf.d/net for eth0 Reply with quote

padoor wrote:
i get sveral errors saying there is no device eth0
i have lin between net.lo and net .eth0

You might want to check your output of ifconfig -a and dmesg | grep -i 'network interface'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1654
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:05 pm    Post subject: Re: can someone post /etc/conf.d/net for eth0 Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
I suspect you have one of two common problems:

1. You are using udev instead of eudev and are having the persistent name gotcha. Run 'ifconfig -a' to see what device names you have.

OR

2. You don't have the right device built as a module in the kernel. Run 'lspci | grep net' to find your ethernet controller. Then run lsmod looking for the appropriate module, like tulip or e1000 or r8169 as examples.

Pedictable network interface names are not the exclusive preserve of udev. They can also occur when using eudev. It just depends whether the rule-generator USE flag is enabled or disabled. If it is disabled, then:

Code:
$ ifconfig
enp4s0f1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 80:fa:5b:12:7f:51  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 1090  bytes 203931 (199.1 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1090  bytes 203931 (199.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp3s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.154.245.40  netmask 255.255.248.0  broadcast 10.154.247.255
        inet6 fe80::dafc:93ff:fec5:f46d  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether d8:fc:93:c5:f4:6d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 151623  bytes 84014016 (80.1 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 67588  bytes 12062617 (11.5 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

Code:
$ eix -I eudev
[I] sys-fs/eudev
     Available versions:  *1.3 *1.5.3-r1 1.9-r2 1.10-r2 ~2.1.1 ~3.0 ~3.1.2 **9999 {doc gudev (+)hwdb introspection (+)keymap (+)kmod +modutils +openrc +rule-generator selinux static-libs test ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_PPC="32 64" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32"}
     Installed versions:  1.10-r2(00:21:44 09/06/15)(gudev hwdb introspection keymap kmod modutils openrc -doc -rule-generator -selinux -static-libs -test ABI_MIPS="-n32 -n64 -o32" ABI_PPC="-32 -64" ABI_S390="-32 -64" ABI_X86="32 64 -x32")
     Homepage:            https://github.com/gentoo/eudev
     Description:         Linux dynamic and persistent device naming support (aka userspace devfs)

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

obviously the ifconfig comes up alright when it is connected
initially ping says cannot find dns or even my router page
if i start net.lo it gives usual 128.0.0.0 r something like that
i will post the exact messages when i boot into gentoo tomorrow morning.
right now i am in windows 8.
as the system is being reinstalled from scratch there is no reader for dmesg or any conf file.
morning i will be able to give better report of problems.

thanks for fast replies Fitzcarraldo charles17

:) :)
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Obviously?

Quote:
i get sveral errors saying there is no device eth0


That's not what you said. You said there was no eth0 device. You can have the device when it's not connected. just take a working gentoo and pull the plug. eth0 will be there but the network will not. ifconfig will show the fallback address, not that the device is missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ramaswamy@tux ~ $ su
Password:
tux ramaswamy # emerge --sync
>>> Syncing repository 'gentoo' into '/usr/portage'...
!!! getaddrinfo failed for 'rsync.gentoo.org': [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution
>>> Starting rsync with rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage...
>>> Checking server timestamp ...
rsync: getaddrinfo: rsync.gentoo.org 873: Temporary failure in name resolution
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(128) [Receiver=3.1.1]
>>> Retrying...
!!! Exhausted addresses for rsync.gentoo.org
tux ramaswamy # /etc/init.d/lo start
bash: /etc/init.d/lo: No such file or directory
tux ramaswamy # wicd
tux ramaswamy # ping yahoo.com
ping: unknown host yahoo.com
tux ramaswamy # dhcpcd
dev: loaded udev
enp6s0: adding address fe80::2512:4d4a:4b6b:455
wlp2s0: adding address fe80::5f80:7150:4ab9:3025
wlp2s0: /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf does not exist
wlp2s0: not interacting with wpa_supplicant(8)
no interfaces have a carrier
forked to background, child pid 1119
tux ramaswamy # /etc/init.d/net.lo start
 * Bringing up interface lo
 *   127.0.0.1/8 ...                                                      [ ok ]
 *   Adding routes
 *     127.0.0.0/8 via 127.0.0.1 ...                                      [ ok ]
tux ramaswamy # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
 *   Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
 * ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start
tux ramaswamy # ping yahoo.com
PING yahoo.com (206.190.36.45) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=293 ms
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=294 ms
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=300 ms
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=4 ttl=46 time=300 ms
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=5 ttl=46 time=294 ms
64 bytes from ir1.fp.vip.gq1.yahoo.com (206.190.36.45): icmp_seq=6 ttl=46 time=300 ms
^C
--- yahoo.com ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 6 received, 14% packet loss, time 6002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 293.627/297.278/300.393/3.129 ms
tux ramaswamy #


that is the atart up errors i get.
seems udev has not started till i manually start dhcpcd.
kernel has following modules loaded
Code:
ramaswamy@tux ~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ecb                     1935  1
btusb                  19606  0
rtl8723ae             119158  0
btcoexist              39187  1 rtl8723ae
bluetooth             234556  2 btusb
usbhid                 31947  0
kvm                   368512  0
snd_pcsp                7951  0
crc16                   1501  1 bluetooth
rtl_pci                25505  1 rtl8723ae
rtlwifi                76712  2 rtl_pci,rtl8723ae
radeon               1177211  0
rtl8723_common         14780  1 rtl8723ae
drm_kms_helper         64385  1 radeon
k10temp                 3350  0
ttm                    69683  1 radeon
ramaswamy@tux ~ $


Code:
ramaswamy@tux ~ $ ifconfig
enp6s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.5  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::2512:4d4a:4b6b:455  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:26:6c:24:ff:2d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 8428  bytes 11421850 (10.8 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 5048  bytes 476325 (465.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 32  bytes 1920 (1.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 32  bytes 1920 (1.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp2s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 24:ec:99:4f:c8:43  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

ramaswamy@tux ~ $

_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit:
Posting obsolete


Last edited by charles17 on Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1696

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ramaswamy@tux ~ $ ifconfig
enp6s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.5  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::2512:4d4a:4b6b:455  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:26:6c:24:ff:2d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 8428  bytes 11421850 (10.8 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 5048  bytes 476325 (465.1 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 32  bytes 1920 (1.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 32  bytes 1920 (1.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlp2s0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 24:ec:99:4f:c8:43  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Well, this shows directly that you just got bit by the persistent name stuff... Your enp6s0 is your old eth0, lo is still the same loopback (can be ignored), and wlp2s0 is your wireless card.
So if you rename your net.eth0 to net.enp6s0 you'll have your network connection properly...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4185
Location: india

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where and how i rename the net. files ?
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_vic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:19 pm    Post subject: where and how i rename the net. files ? Reply with quote

1. Update the /etc/conf.d/net file with the correct interface name (like enp6s0 instead of eth0)
2. Create new symbolic link (like /etc/init.d/net.enp6s0)
3. Remove the old symbolic link (rm /etc/init.d/net.eth0)
4. Add the new one to the default runlevel (rc-update add net.enp6s0 default)
5. Remove the old one using rc-update del net.eth0 default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

padoor wrote:
where and how i rename the net. files ?

See https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Netifrc or, if you like move to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Network_management_using_DHCPCD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum