Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xdm starts at boot but is not in any of the runlevels
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mi_unixbird
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:51 am    Post subject: xdm starts at boot but is not in any of the runlevels Reply with quote

Basically, at boot, on vt7 some xdm login screen is shown, after which I press ctrl+alt+f1 to switch to vt1 in text mode, log in there, and kill it and otherwise have no real problems but it's annoying xdm is not in any of the runlevels and I'm not sure where to remove this behaviour

Output of rc-update show:

Code:
               binfmt | boot                         
             bootmisc | boot                         
            bumblebee |      default                 
               cronie |      default                 
                 dbus |      default                 
                devfs |                       sysinit
               dhcpcd |      default                 
                dhcpd |      default                 
                dmesg |                       sysinit
                 fsck | boot                         
             hostname | boot                         
              hwclock | boot                         
              keymaps | boot                         
            killprocs |              shutdown       
    kmod-static-nodes |                       sysinit
                local |      default                 
           localmount | boot                         
             loopback | boot                         
              modules | boot                         
             mount-ro |              shutdown       
                 mtab | boot                         
             netmount |      default                 
               procfs | boot                         
                 root | boot                         
            savecache |              shutdown       
                 sshd |      default                 
                 swap | boot                         
            swapfiles | boot                         
               sysctl | boot                         
                sysfs |                       sysinit
            syslog-ng |      default                 
         termencoding | boot                         
         tmpfiles.dev |                       sysinit
       tmpfiles.setup | boot                         
                 udev |                       sysinit
              urandom | boot                         
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Openrc has a dependency system. Xdm is possibly started by some other service. Search for "use xdm" or "need xdm" in /etc/init.d:

Code:
grep -r "need xdm" /etc/init.d


On the list of your services in default run level, I suspect bumblebee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mi_unixbird
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apheus wrote:
Openrc has a dependency system. Xdm is possibly started by some other service. Search for "use xdm" or "need xdm" in /etc/init.d:

Code:
grep -r "need xdm" /etc/init.d


On the list of your services in default run level, I suspect bumblebee.
Yeah:

Code:

 —— — grep -r "need xdm" /etc/init.d
/etc/init.d/vgl:        need xdm
/etc/init.d/bumblebee:  need xdm vgl


So is there some way to get rid of this, surely starting the bumblee daemon does not require xdm or any display manager to run? Would just remerging with USE="-xdm" do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you really need bumblebee in console-only? Bumblebee does not have an xdm use-flag, so reemerging bumblebee is not going to change anything. Editing the start script and removing "need xdm" can break things, depending on bumblebee internals. Most likely, there is a reason it is in there. The most stable course of action would be to remove bumblebee from "default" runlevel and see if there is any missing functionality. If you start xdm manually, be sure to start bumblebee before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mi_unixbird
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suppose I could just add it to the ~/.xinitrc I guess yeah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mi_unixbird
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, this seems pretty weird, what happens is that indeed bumblebeed refuses to start without xdm, furthermore, it refuses to start when you first did startx having started another x server before xdm, complaining about no xauth file.

So if you don't start bumblebeed at boot you have to start it from the console before startx, at which point it starts xdm and gives you that some graphical login screen. I tried to log into it for fun, it says the login was successfull and then follows up with the same login screen.

Any way of configuring xdm that it doesn't give me that weird login screen at startup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apheus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know, but if you don't care if the login screen is active on terminal 7, and just want to be put back on terminal 1 automatically, you could hack a command

Code:
chvt 1


somewhere into the xdm startup scripts. "chvt" is from sys-apps/kbd. Really crude hack...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum