Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 3.1.4: kwin shadow + desktop shadow [HOW-TO]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 6:58 pm    Post subject: KDE 3.1.4: kwin shadow + desktop shadow [HOW-TO] Reply with quote

i like eyecandy, so i went and installed these patches.
first of, download them:
http://www.kde-look.org/content/download.php?content=4750
http://www.kde-look.org/content/download.php?content=5638

just to make it a little easier we're gonna add the desktop shadow patch in the ebuild.
unpack the tar file and copy the file in the correct location:
Code:

tar jxvf 4750-shadow.tar.bz2
cp shadow-bp-3.1.3/kdebase.diff /usr/portage/kde-base/kdebase/files/
tar zxvf 5638-kwin_shadow-0.6.3a.tar.gz


we're gonna wait to copy the kwin shadow and kdelibs patches.

start 'emerge kdelibs', and when the configure script is finished, hit ctrl+z
and:
Code:

cp shadow-bp-3.1.3/kdelibs.diff /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.1.4/work/kdelibs-3.1.4
cd /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.1.4/work/kdelibs-3.1.4/
patch -p2 <kdelibs.diff
fg



and for the kdebase ebuild, add the following in src_unpack():
Code:

epatch ${FILESDIR}/kdebase.diff
cd ${S} && aclocal


and then re-emerge kdebase
Code:

emerge kdebase


tho, we have to add the kwin shadow patch aswell, so when the configure-script has finished, hit ctrl+z

then copy the kwin shadow patch to the workdir and apply it:
Code:

cp kwin_shadow-0.6.3a/kdebase.kwin-kwin_shadow-3.1.3.patch /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/kwin
cd /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/kwin
patch -p0 <kdebase.kwin-kwin-shadow-3.1.3.patch


now resume 'emerge kdebase'
Code:

fg


to enable the desktop shadow, go to kcontrol->desktop->apperance and check the 'enable shadows' box
to enable the kwin shadows, go to kcontrol->apperace & themes->window decoration and check the 'draw a drop shadow under windows' box.

the result:
http://mgoransson.com/GENTOO/screenshots/20031103.png

enjoy.
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11


Last edited by atac on Sun Nov 09, 2003 11:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobMcM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 170
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2003 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so I've done this:
Code:

src_unpack() {
   kde_src_unpack
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/focus-patch.diff
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/konq-crash-patch.diff
   use amd64 && epatch ${FILESDIR}/kdebase-3.1.4-amd64-accessviol.patch
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/kdebase.diff
   cd ${S} && aclocal
}


and I get this during configure:
Code:

cd . && \
  /bin/sh /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/admin/missing --run automake-1.7 --foreign  Makefile
cd . && /bin/sh /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/admin/missing --run autoconf
autom4te-2.57: cannot not rename autom4te.cache/traces.0t as autom4te.cache/traces.0: No such file or directory
configure.in: no proper invocation of AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE was found.
configure.in: You should verify that configure.in invokes AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE,
configure.in: that aclocal.m4 is present in the top-level directory,
configure.in: and that aclocal.m4 was recently regenerated (using aclocal).
configure.in: required file `./install-sh' not found
configure.in: required file `./mkinstalldirs' not found
configure.in: required file `./missing' not found
SUBDIRS: variable `TOPSUBDIRS' is used but `TOPSUBDIRS' is undefined
make: *** [Makefile.in] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdebase-3.1.4 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 137, Exitcode 2
!!! died running emake, kde_src_compile:make



If I leave out the 'cd ${S} && aclocal' it configures OK but then fails about an hour into the build.

kdelibs was fine though.
_________________
Keyboard error or no keyboard present. Press F1 to continue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey,

yeah, i have the same problem on my laptop, tho on my workstation this worked fine, haven't figured it out yet :?
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gatiba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After this step:
Code:
cp shadow-bp-3.1.3/kdelibs.diff /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.1.4/work/kdelibs-3.1.4
cd /var/tmp/portage/kdelibs-3.1.4/work/kdelibs-3.1.4/
patch -p2 <kdelibs.diff
fg


it emerge kdelibs, why i need to reemerge kdelibs in the next step?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

woops, my bad.
just a big typo of mine :)
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hiryu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RobMcM wrote:
so I've done this:
Code:

src_unpack() {
   kde_src_unpack
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/focus-patch.diff
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/konq-crash-patch.diff
   use amd64 && epatch ${FILESDIR}/kdebase-3.1.4-amd64-accessviol.patch
   epatch ${FILESDIR}/kdebase.diff
   cd ${S} && aclocal
}


and I get this during configure:
Code:

cd . && \
  /bin/sh /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/admin/missing --run automake-1.7 --foreign  Makefile
cd . && /bin/sh /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.1.4/work/kdebase-3.1.4/admin/missing --run autoconf
autom4te-2.57: cannot not rename autom4te.cache/traces.0t as autom4te.cache/traces.0: No such file or directory
configure.in: no proper invocation of AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE was found.
configure.in: You should verify that configure.in invokes AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE,
configure.in: that aclocal.m4 is present in the top-level directory,
configure.in: and that aclocal.m4 was recently regenerated (using aclocal).
configure.in: required file `./install-sh' not found
configure.in: required file `./mkinstalldirs' not found
configure.in: required file `./missing' not found
SUBDIRS: variable `TOPSUBDIRS' is used but `TOPSUBDIRS' is undefined
make: *** [Makefile.in] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdebase-3.1.4 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 137, Exitcode 2
!!! died running emake, kde_src_compile:make



If I leave out the 'cd ${S} && aclocal' it configures OK but then fails about an hour into the build.

kdelibs was fine though.


I think updating autoconf to 2.58 solves this, I had the same problem and this seems to have fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultim8
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 98
Location: Burlington, VT

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly question, but how do you update to version 2.58?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmercer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 95
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge /usr/portage/sys-devel/autoconf/autoconf-2.58.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gatiba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
woops, my bad.
just a big typo of mine :)


:wink:
Great How-To !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnoy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 255
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updating autoconf solves it...
_________________
The md5sum of the above post is 06280ccd85ef9deb49c336e7945f4b5c

God is dead! - Nietzsche
Nietzsche is dead! -God
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antipod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 168
Location: Karlshamn, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a silly question before I ruin my KDE-installation... :)

Does this work with 3.2 or, in my case, the CVS? (currently 20040125 build).

Best regards,

/Henrik aka antipod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

antipod wrote:
Just a silly question before I ruin my KDE-installation... :)

Does this work with 3.2 or, in my case, the CVS? (currently 20040125 build).

Best regards,

/Henrik aka antipod

No :( A while ago, i emailed the author of those patches, when kwin had drastic changes in its structure during cvs, and he said he'd work on it. That was several months ago...so i guess we just have to wait and see, or port the patches so they work with the new kwin.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the desktop shadow should be integrated into KDE... Gnome's got it. Even idesk has it.
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The patches for kde-cvs and kde 3.2 are out! Compiling right now...we'll see how it turns out.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

snakattak3 wrote:
The patches for kde-cvs and kde 3.2 are out! Compiling right now...we'll see how it turns out.

They work :)
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gatiba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to patch kde-3.2 but emerge failed with this error:

Code:
Unpacking kdebase-3.2.0.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.2.0/work
 * Applying kdebase-3.2.0-kcontrol.patch...                                               [ ok ]
 * Applying kdebase.kwin-kwin_shadow-3.2.patch...

 * Failed Patch: kdebase.kwin-kwin_shadow-3.2.patch!
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/kdebase-3.2.0/temp/kdebase.kwin-kwin_shadow-3.2.patch-8668.out


!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdebase-3.2.0 failed.
!!! Function epatch, Line 354, Exitcode 0
!!! Failed Patch: kdebase.kwin-kwin_shadow-3.2.patch!

bash-2.05b#


On the log file it says that couldn't find the right files to patch!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum