Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Kernel Panic - Fatal exception in interrupt?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:56 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Kernel Panic - Fatal exception in interrupt? Reply with quote

Suddenly, I got this message after few minutes of working:
"Kernel Panic - not syncing: Fatal exception in interrupt
kernel offset... drm_kms_helper: panic occurred switching back to text console"

Sometimes I do not get this message however, the machine get stuck - no mouse, no keyboard...
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”


Last edited by pmam on Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you exclude that the kernel is not working properly?

Maybe the hardware is faulty.


Last edited by Keruskerfuerst on Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Can you exclude that the kernel is working properly?

How can I do it? It is not occurred right immediate the booting, but after few minutes
All I can say, and do not know if it helps somehow - win7 is working ok...

EDIT: Any log file can helps?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

microcode for the cpu is installed? and used?

eg.
Code:
[I] sys-apps/microcode-ctl
     Available versions:  1.23 (~)1.27 (~)1.28 {selinux}
     Installed versions:  1.28(19:24:38 18.04.2015)(-selinux)
     Homepage:            https://fedorahosted.org/microcode_ctl/
     Description:         Intel processor microcode update utility

[U] sys-apps/microcode-data
     Available versions:  20140430 (~)20140624 (~)20140913 20150121 (~)20150121-r1 {initramfs monolithic +split-ucode}
     Installed versions:  20150121(10:20:32 09.02.2015)
     Homepage:            http://inertiawar.com/microcode/ https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=24661
     Description:         Intel IA32 microcode update data


And i suppose you use a decent kernel like 3.18 from gentoo-sources. 3.18 is the longterm supported kernel org branch...

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Kernel_mode_setting
Do you really need that feature? are you using the open source gpu drivers? it could be the binary drivers + kernel with this option really do not like each other ...

Quote:
You may want to disable KMS for various reasons, such as getting a blank screen or a "no signal" error from the display, when using the Catalyst driver, etc. To disable KMS add nomodeset as a kernel parameter. See Kernel parameters for more info.

Along with nomodeset kernel parameter, for Intel graphics card you need to add i915.modeset=0 and for Nvidia graphics card you need to add nouveau.modeset=0. For Nvidia Optimus dual-graphics system, you need to add all the three kernel parameters (i.e. "nomodeset i915.modeset=0 nouveau.modeset=0").


I could be wrong but is it this:

Quote:
Symbol: DRM [=n] │
│ Type : tristate │
│ Prompt: Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Graphics support │
│ (1) -> Direct Rendering Manager


I do not have these thigns sets here at all. do you need that really in your kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst,

Meanwhile, I opened the machine and checked all connectors and hardware -
put some cleaning spray and some 'punches' here and there :wink:
I disconnected WIFI card - later on I will connect again and see if it is the reason -
For now it is working ok :)

tw04l124

Though it is ok by now, your tips look interesting so here my data:
Code:
eix sys-apps/microcode-ctl
* sys-apps/microcode-ctl
     Available versions:  1.23 ~1.26 ~1.27 {selinux}
     Homepage:            https://fedorahosted.org/microcode_ctl/
     Description:         Intel processor microcode update utility
eix sys-apps/microcode-data
* sys-apps/microcode-data
     Available versions:  20140430 ~20140624 ~20140913 ~20150121
     Homepage:            http://inertiawar.com/microcode/ https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=24661
     Description:         Intel IA32 microcode update data

Code:
uname -a
Linux mg_e2180 3.18.9-gentoo #2 SMP Tue Mar 31 15:32:17 IDT 2015 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2180 @ 2.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Quote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Kernel_mode_setting
Do you really need that feature?

Please inform how verify if I need or not?
Also - Please be aware that it happened suddenly as I said, without any configuration changing -
any way I will check menuconfig

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

drm_kms_helper => therefore i found the arch linux page and than i thought that these are the related configs in the menuconfig of the kernel...

I may be wrong but you may check that out.

microcode does not hurt. These are some kind of bugfixes for the cpus. The bios would be the best way but because manufactureres do not care for older products intel provides this microcode thing to update the "firmware" of the cpus to fix bugs and such... Disable broken featues .... TSX is for example buggy on newer intel cpus. short explanation ...

uname -a
Linux localhost 3.18.16-gentoo_2015_07_08 #3 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jul 8 17:07:05 CEST 2015 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9500 @ 2.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Quote:
Please inform how verify if I need or not?

Well check your kernel and your demands, the explanation in the kernel with your current setup should answer you this. It is just a recommendation from myside.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum