Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel 4.2.0, issue with no module AMDGPU
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stormiasty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:55 pm    Post subject: Kernel 4.2.0, issue with no module AMDGPU Reply with quote

Hello

Some days ago, I compile my new kernel 4.2.0 and I found a new problem:
Module is compiled as module

Code:

    12.541] (EE) Failed to load module "amdgpu" (module does not exist, 0)
[    12.541] (EE) No drivers available.
[    12.541] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[    12.541] (EE) no screens found(EE)
[    12.542] (EE)


But:
Code:

# find /lib/modules/ -name "amdgpu*"
/lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu
/lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/amdgpu.ko


My .config for kernel:
Code:

...
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU_CIK=y
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU_USERPTR=y
...


Maybe lack of firmware? But:
Code:

/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_ce.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_mc.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_mc2.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_me.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_pfp.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_rlc.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/PITCAIRN_smc.bin
...
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_smc.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_rlc.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_pfp.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_me.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_mc.bin
/lib/firmware/radeon/pitcairn_ce.bin


Any suggest what can be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3314
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you forget to install the new kernel? You'd be surprised how often that happens.

What happens when you run "modprobe -vv amdgpu" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormiasty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thank you for reply

Code:

modprobe: INFO: custom logging function 0x409c80
insmod /lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/video/backlight/backlight.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/ttm/ttm.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_kms_helper.ko
insmod /lib/modules/4.2.0/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/amdgpu.ko
modprobe: INFO: context 0x228f290 released


And yes, after each compile, I manually install kernel on /boot of another Linux distro (Mint as backup)

Module amdgpu.ko has inserted, but Xs don't started with same error like previous: "no screens found".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormiasty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found something new:

Code:

*  sys-firmware/amdgpu-ucode [ Masked ]
      Latest version available: 20150803
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of files: 719 KiB
      Homepage:      http://people.freedesktop.org/~agd5f/radeon_ucode/
      Description:   Microcode for V.Islands Radeon GPUs and APUs
      License:       radeon-ucode

*  x11-drivers/xf86-video-amdgpu [ Masked ]                                                                                                                                                                                                 
      Latest version available: 9999                                                                                                                                                                                                         
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]                                                                                                                                                                                           
      Size of files: 0 KiB                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
      Homepage:      http://xorg.freedesktop.org/                                                                                                                                                                                           
      Description:   Accelerated Open Source driver for AMDGPU cards                                                                                                                                                                         
      License:       MIT                                       


Unmasked, trying compile...

Unsuccesfull:
http://pastebin.com/jM1p745u

What is it: "gbm"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3314
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whatever it is, it's installed by mesa. It should have been a requirement in the ebuild. What is the result of "emerge -pv mesa"? I have mesa installed with a default gbm flag, but I don't know what is.

Code:
gentoo linux # emerge -pv mesa

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/mesa-10.3.7-r1::gentoo  USE="classic dri3 egl gallium gbm llvm nptl udev -bindist -debug -gles1 -gles2 -opencl -openmax -openvg -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic (-selinux) -vdpau -wayland -xa -xvmc" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau (-freedreno) -i915 -i965 -ilo -intel -r100 -r200 -r300 -r600 -radeon -radeonsi -vmware" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


I find that after messing with X related packages it's good to run "emerge -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)" although that's not supposed to be needed any more with the later versions of portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormiasty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again

I add amdgpu to section VIDEO_CARDS and recompiel some packages, and next use yours command to recompile anothers.

But this doesn't help, and I found cause:
Code:

[    98.574] (II) AMDGPU: Driver for AMD Radeon chipsets: BONAIRE, BONAIRE, BONAIRE,
        BONAIRE, BONAIRE, BONAIRE, BONAIRE, BONAIRE, BONAIRE, KABINI, KABINI,
        KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI,
        KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KABINI, KAVERI, KAVERI,
        KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI,
        KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI,
        KAVERI, KAVERI, KAVERI, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII,
        HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, HAWAII, TOPAZ, TOPAZ,
        TOPAZ, TOPAZ, TOPAZ, TONGA, TONGA, TONGA, TONGA, TONGA, TONGA, TONGA,
        TONGA, TONGA, CARRIZO, CARRIZO, CARRIZO, CARRIZO, CARRIZO, FIJI
...
[    98.579] (EE) No devices detected.
[    98.579] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[    98.579] (EE) no screens found(EE)
[    98.579] (EE)


There is no entry to PITCAIRN... :(
So - I need tow ait to next kernel version and maybe there will be driver to my graphic card.

Anyway - thanks for help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3314
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look at this page: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon It indicates PITCAIRN is supported, possibly in unstable branch. If there isn't a kernel driver in ofgficial kernel, you might still be able to build one outside the kernel. I had to do that for a long time with the R8139 ethernet driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4e8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pitcairin use the old radeon.ko driver, not amdgpu.ko.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1390

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upstream the testing of coming kernel stable 4.2.1 shows six drm-amdgpu patches in the git queue of GKH.
Just saying ...
_________________
the thread ain't easily find an end
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stormiasty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I change driver to radeon. I must compile frame buffer support to see console, but its working now, but...
Another issue - I have 2 monitors (Dell P2414H both), but on this driver, I see screen only on one of those. (DisplayPort).
When I try to change something in KDE systemsettings, I see:
http://images69.fotosik.pl/1187/291e7d03d3391a46.jpg

In logs of X I see that xinerama is loading without any problems.
Strange for me is that review of desktops show about 1.5x width Full HD screen, not 2 monitors.

What I need to do to back to 2 monitors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum