Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Resolved] Hanging at "Loading initial ramdisk"?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Soichiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:36 am    Post subject: [Resolved] Hanging at "Loading initial ramdisk"? Reply with quote

I have a fresh install of Gentoo using systemd on a bit of a strange disk configuration:

/ is a btrfs mdadm RAID-5 split over 3 physical disks mounted from /dev/md0
/boot is a vfat (EFI) mounted from /dev/sda2
/tmp is a btrfs mounted from /dev/sda3

I have gone through the initial install and the conversion to systemd, and configured grub to use systemd and domdadm. However, when I reboot into the Gentoo kernel, the display hangs on this message:

Code:

Loading Linux 4.2.5-gentoo ...
Loading initial ramdisk ...


However, I can reboot the system with ctrl+alt+del, and if I chroot from the live CD environment and view journalctl, I see that there has been activity in the background even though the system had appeared to hang. My initial thought was that the issue is ACPI related, since there are a number of ACPI warnings in the journal, but even setting acpi=off did not fix the issue. The other suspicious line from the journal is this:

Code:
pmd_set_huge: Cannot satisfy [mem 0xf8000000-0xf8200000] with a huge-page mapping due to MTRR override.


However from what I can tell this is most likely just a warning. I could be wrong however, but I'm running out of ideas. I don't have any services enabled on boot except for NetworkManager and the defaults that come enabled with systemd.

I've made the full journal from my last boot attempt available here: http://pastebin.com/fzeQa0E4


Last edited by Soichiro on Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:28 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your logs are correct it looks like the kernel did boot properly else systemd would not have run. You might have a few kernel options unset to fully enable your console (then again it does look like it initialized). Perhaps check those kernel options again. One thing that did show up is that you have network console enabled? Are you getting console logs over the network (if it's enabled?)

Did you enable silent boot options or used the "quiet" option in your kernel command line?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soichiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
You might have a few kernel options unset to fully enable your console (then again it does look like it initialized). Perhaps check those kernel options again.

The only thing that looked relevant is that framebuffer console support was disabled (although this was the default setting). I tried enabling it and will reboot to see if this makes a difference.


Quote:
One thing that did show up is that you have network console enabled? Are you getting console logs over the network (if it's enabled?)

If it's enabled it must have been due to default settings. I didn't explicitly enable it, anyway. I'm not familiar with network console but I will however try enabling sshd and seeing if I can connect via ssh.

Quote:
Did you enable silent boot options or used the "quiet" option in your kernel command line?


I don't believe so. This is my boot entry from grub:

Code:
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-07cb1334-bc24-4c06-abd3-b47dac658936' {
        load_video
        if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
                set gfxpayload=keep
        fi
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod fat
        set root='hd0,gpt2'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  8C45-E0AA
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8C45-E0AA
        fi
        echo    'Loading Linux 4.2.5-gentoo ...'
        linux   /vmlinuz-4.2.5-gentoo root=UUID=07cb1334-bc24-4c06-abd3-b47dac658936 ro init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd domdadm
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.2.5-gentoo
}


The only custom additions are " init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd domdadm "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soichiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears it was due to the framebuffer console support being disabled. I'm guessing I needed this because of my Nvidia card. At least I now have a fully working system. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum