Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Old laptop & gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:28 am    Post subject: Old laptop & gentoo Reply with quote

Hi.
Greetings to everybody.
First i have to say, that my english is not perfect. Be patient. Thanks.

0. I have an old laptop fujitsu-siemens amilo a6150g http://mobile-computers.tech-specs.com/fujitsu-siemens-amilo-a1650g-n34876321.

1. I had gentoo there for about 2-3 years. Less RAM (less then 1Gb) - hard to "live" with src-based linux. I hadn't another nix devices in my net (so i can't use cross compiling with distcc).
I don't need tiling wm. I was using KDE, then xfce.

2. Some hardware improvements were made:
2.1. I've just bought controller to attach ssd (from ide to Msata)
2.2. Then i've attached ssd (32GB).

3. Then i've installed there lmde2 x32 mate (all in one partition, swap=1G).
The "speed" of system isn't very fast (sometimes it handles, when using firefox).

What the community with its experience can advise to me?
1. Using gentoo with "long" updates (w/o distcc).
2. Using binary distr.


Thanks for help.
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 848
Location: PL

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have quite old laptop with p3 (dell c400). I build packages on desktop in chroot, and export the binpkg location over scp and install just the prebuilt packages on the target machine.

Generally, things work ok. I just have to look out for cpu flags and rare unexpected surprises. Openrc is fast enough on that setup, although i considered tinkering with runit. And the system does feel light and fast.

As for binary distros - hard to say. Gentoo has packages for things i sometimes find missing on other distributions. So YMMV.
_________________
~amd64
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a similar "powerful" system to run gentoo without cross compiling.

a) Give the machine enough swap. I suggest 2 to 4 GB. Mostly for compiling stuff
b) Make sure on /var/tmp/portage is enough (4GB+) space left.
c) Give your Partition which holds /usr/portage enough inodes because the portage tree contains massive amount of very small files.
d) stay on stable (amd64 or x86)

I use the following approch to update my system.
0. emerge --sync
1. Kernel. I basicly only update on the stable line when absolutly neccessary
2. Use app-misc/screen to open a virtual tty. In case X Needs to be restart or whatever happens.
3. emerge -uND @world @system --keep-going && shutdown -h now

I run the command (3) after i have updated my portage tree and leave the system doing it's job over the night. I update it about once per month but i stay full stable (amd64) tree. No unstable packages at all. This ensures i dont get much blocks or compile failures.

Good luck! :)
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

More questions)

1. 32GB SSD will be enough for me or using external flash?
2. Can you show your fstab (for tmp extra partition? What FS do you use)
3. I suppose no systemd, only openrc?
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your case (limited hard drive) i would use one partition. systemd doesnt affect much the used space. It is your decission what you use.

To get more usable space on your root fs, i would use mv's squashmount (overlay mv) to squash the portage tree. This helps enourmously!

As a filesystem i use nearly everywhere ext4. Rockstable. even use discard with it without problems (recent kernel 4.0+).

At my small system i have 200MB boot (ext2), /rootfs rest of the HDD (ext4). But i got a 64GB SSD But it is only about 16 GB full. I used the abouve hints (squashfs). You will need to clean up your distfiles regulary too (emaint all). I would try to get it up without additional flash. It is for sure doable.

Edit: Here my fstab
Code:

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sdb1      /boot      ext2      defaults      1 2
/dev/sdb2      /      ext4      noatime,discard      0 1


Code:

fdisk -l /dev/sdb
Disk /dev/sdb: 55.9 GiB, 60022480896 bytes, 117231408 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0xde8a8de8

Device     Boot  Start       End   Sectors  Size Id Type
/dev/sdb1  *      2048    264191    262144  128M 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2       264192 117231407 116967216 55.8G 83 Linux


EDIT: Cleaned up mixed up sentence.
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git


Last edited by schorsch_76 on Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

Quote:
In your case (limited hard drive) i would use one partition.


One partition for boot, /
The second is for swap? (4-5GB)
In your fstab i cant see swap partition.

Another question - what loader do you use? Do you install in mbr?
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you are right. On this system i got 4 GB of RAM, but very tiny CPU. So i dont swap. I just compile with one thread (MAKEOPTS=-j1).

In your case, i would use a MBR partition scheme:
/dev/sda1: 200M boot (ext2)
/dev/sda2: 4GB swap
/dev/sda3: x GB rootfs (ext4)

As loader i use the default grub2. Here it doesn't matter much what you use. Feel free to choose :)

Yes, i installed in MBR. Your old system propably doesn't support GPT. You would in deed not have any advantage from GPT. So just use MBR.

EDIT: Sorry, now i see why you got confused. I mixed up some things .... i would recommend 5 GB (or 4GB) of swap. I mixed it in my upper post. Sorry for that :oops:

EDIT2: I cleaned up the upper post and you could use a swap file instead of an partiton. This way you could more easily change the amout of swap ram.

EDIT3: Here is the thread of mv about squashmount.
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-465367-highlight-squashmount.html

EDIT4: squashmount doesn't support systemd! :!:
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.
It'll take me some time for installing system (using internet via limited gprs/3g)
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With your limited internet connection, i recommend you an flash drive or external HDD to backup all your distfiles and stage files.
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another one question:
1. What wm do you use on the "powerful") system? I'm thinking of xfce...
2. My graphic card is R300. The best choice is still xorg? (open source drivers).

Thanks.
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use on all systems xfce and i3 depending on my needs (or tasks).

For radeon, yes use the open source driver. :)
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another one question:

The laptop is old and there is a problem with cpu overheating.
During reemerging gcc it halts.

What can you recommend?

0. First i need to check kernel form installed K8 (cpu) options...
1. Using cpufreqd or smt similiar...
2. Using niceness.

Thanks.
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the overheating: I would try to clean the Laptop and/or replace the fan. The System should be stable. With only one thread of execution, you can only use cgroups (even without systemd) to Limit the used cpu time on all the intensive processes compiling gcc (a whole process group and not just one process)

About cgroups: Here are some links
http://blog.scoutapp.com/articles/2014/11/04/restricting-process-cpu-usage-using-nice-cpulimit-and-cgroups
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

about i3 (wm)... can you help me with some links of using it?

Thanks...
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course :)

https://i3wm.org/
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant link )
I suppose, you also haven't been banned by google)

Thanks for good mood )
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again.

What can you say about using hardened gentoo on a non-server (desktop)?
Thanks.

Hardened gentoo = hardened profiles+sources + what else?

Thanks.
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

electr0n1ck,

Hardened is the kernel, glibc, toolchain and everything it builds. If you want hardened, start from the hardened stage3.
Hardening comes a a memory and performance price. Its a part of a set of security measures.

Its good to be secure but be sure to use the right tools to guard against the threats that you see.
Hardened Gentoo might be one of those tools. You need to think about what you want to guard against first.

Some things don't work on hardened and never will, some things need the hardening backed off on a file by file basis to make them work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
electr0n1ck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
Another "two" questions:
I'm using i3+gentoo w/o systemd, x86.
Console clients are my priorities.

1. What are the recommends about connecting to wireless?
1.1. wicd-gtk, wicd-curses
1.2. nm-applet/network-manager
1.3. wpa
1.4. smt else?

wicd-curses ended while connection with access point with an error (now i can't post it here).
wicd-gtk next cant see any wireless points (the same about ncurses client).

2. Are there any recommends about switching interfaces (back to eth0, wlan0)?
Or it isn't a good idea?

Thanks.
_________________
With the best wishes,

Vladislav aka electr0n1ck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

electr0n1ck wrote:
1. What are the recommends about connecting to wireless?

Use wpa_cli for console and wpa_gui for X.

electr0n1ck wrote:
2. Are there any recommends about switching interfaces (back to eth0, wlan0)?

Easiest should be to just ignore naming. DHCPCD does not expect interface names to be mentioned somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syl20
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 564
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

electr0n1ck wrote:
wicd-curses ended while connection with access point with an error (now i can't post it here).
wicd-gtk next cant see any wireless points (the same about ncurses client).

I use wicd on my laptop, and it works well. Did you enable the wicd daemon ?

I don't like NetworkManager, and the attempts to make it the default (lonely ?) network manager, even with static IPs on wired NICs, even on servers, by Redhat/CentOS teams are strengthening me in my opinion... I know, it's a partial point of view. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum