Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing on NUC from USB
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:30 pm    Post subject: Installing on NUC from USB Reply with quote

I'm having some trouble starting an install on one of these NUCs. I put the latest amd64 minimal install cd (install-amd64-minimal-20150924.iso, not sure why this is the latest on the mirrors, are they not built regularly?) on an usb stick through unetbootin, but upon booting I get a lot of messages about garbage in some configuration, see this picture.

Am I doing something that won't work here? As far as I've understood, this machine is amd64 compatible at least, so it should be the right iso I've downloaded. Whatever I write at the promt I get a message to the effect of "can't find kernel named 'gentoo'" and similar.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd first make sure that install cd isn't corrupt - does the image work on other machines? Look for syslinux.cfg / isolinux.cfg on that image and make sure it's not filled with garbage. Check md5sum of the image. Or try redownloading the image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syslinux.cfg looked just fine, but sure enough, the stick didn't boot on a laptop either. I tried putting the last livedvd on the stick, but when I tried it on the laptop, it went to a grub prompt instead of booting. Have not tried it on the NUC, but that's weird enough that I'm thinking unetbootin isn't doing what it's supposed to.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2541
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
but that's weird enough that I'm thinking unetbootin isn't doing what it's supposed to.


Why mess with unetbootin? good instructions at https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/LiveUSB
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers, that was easy. I had stumbled upon the Guide linked at the top of that page, but hadn't seen the little link back to those instructions. Most of the installation has been completed now, just need to create my kernel when next I have some time! :D
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I thought I had it in the can, but the system does not recognize the ssd as a bootable medium.

I thought that running the 'grub2-install' step would at least make *something* happen, but I think I must have missed something obvious here. Might I have done something wrong about partitions/bios/whatever?

I'm sure there are many possible errors through my confusion over how to handle ssd vs hdd.
fdisk -l:
Disk /dev/sda: 111.8 GiB, 120034123776 bytes, 234441648 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector sdize (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 012ED29B-D2DC-40E0-90E7-FCA91A6AF84E

Device           Start          End   Size Type
/dev/sda1         2048         6143     2M BIOS boot partition
/dev/sda2         6144       268287   128M EFI System
/dev/sda3       268288      4462591     2G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda4      4462592    234439599 109.7G Microsoft basic data
Now this all looks very weird to me, but I don't know much (anything) about 'modern' stuff like EFI etc.

I followed the partition guide from the handbook, with sda2 being boot (but made vfat because of something I read somewhere...), sda3 being swap and sda4 being ext4 for the rest of the drive. I seem to remember that a bootable partition should have a star after the device name, so possibly grub would have had trouble either way, but it doesn't seem to even get to grub, so I assume something more fundamental has gone wrong here.

Any ideas?

Found an article suggesting that the SATA Mode should be set to AHCI in BIOS, but that was already set. Not sure if any point trying it at IDE.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any comments? How can I check if the drive is actually bootable, and what step might I have missed if it is not? This is my first time using an SSD with linux, so I am literally clueless here, if there is something special I need to do to make it boot, anything in BIOS or whatever.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using EFI boot or compatibility mode boot? Your firmware will determine whether one or both are supported... I have no idea about your hardware...

SSD should emulate a HDD enough that there should be no differences...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I turned it to compatibility mode, since in the BIOS the ssd only showed up under that mode, the EFI mode showed "no bootable devices found" or something to that effect.

Are you saying that the ssd firmware might need to be updated? This NUC model is fairly "old" I guess, so I'm not sure if there could be some incompatibility somewhere.

Unfortunately I'm going away on a business trip, so I'll have to get back to the problem sometime after the weekend.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought most NUCs were fairly new and should support EFI boot, I don't know how well compatibility mode works. If compatibility mode is turned on (it should be a BIOS option) it should boot regular MBR boot sectors...

Other than my tablet I haven't done much with EFI boot on x86 machines, it required a button push to force it to read an EFI partition that wasn't on the eMMC.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I remember, compatibility mode is on, but it sounds like EFI boot should work. I might have to go through the handbook again. I only remember doing grub2-install /dev/sda (and making a kernel and doing mkconfig), but I never did anything with that weird first partition, so I'm starting to think I missed an important step. Will look into it when I get home this evening.
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schorsch_76
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you use a GPT partiton and EFI boot, you dont need to do
Code:
grub2-install /dev/sda
.

You need ofcourse
Code:
# UEFI on amd64
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
enabled.

You just mount your efi partition to /boot/efi and do a grub2-install .
This will create a entry in your EFI boot menu too.

EDIT: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2
_________________
// valid again: I forgot about the git access. Now 1.2GB big. Start: 2015-06-25
git daily portage tree
Web: https://portage.schorsch-tech.de
git clone https://portage.schorsch-tech.de/portage.git
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Skipped all of that in favour of legacy boot style stuff, so obviously I should go back and re-do that. Didn't have time yesterday to take a look, and probably won't today either, but it sounds like you've hit on something important I've done wrong!

Thank you very much! :D
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnvidr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Aug 2004
Posts: 595
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had some time to take a look, through the link you posted and onwards from there, and although my /boot/efi has a whole bunch of files now, I got it to boot, and I even got to a login prompt! :D

Wireless keyboard didn't work anymore, so might have missed something in my kernel setup, and couldn't log in remote, so might have forgotten to set up sshd, but I'm on the road to a usable system now!

Thanks again for the help!
_________________
Noone wrote:
anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum