Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
/boot on NVME?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
altrent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:18 pm    Post subject: /boot on NVME? Reply with quote

Hi there,

I am the proud new owner of a Samsung 950 pro, and faced quite a few difficulties to get gentoo on it.
First, the live install CD kernel doesn't appear to have the NVME driver compiled, so I had to install gentoo from my old hard drive (still cool that it works that way). Not sure if there was any better way?
Second, I failed to install the /boot partition on the NVME drive. When grub starts (UEFI), it complains about not finding the disk. I had to resort to using my old /boot partition on my old SSD.
Wondering if anyone was successful in getting /boot on an NVME partition to work just fine?


Thanks,

Code:

(parted) p                                                               
Model: Unknown (unknown)
Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 488386MiB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number  Start      End        Size       File system     Name                          Flags
 1      1.00MiB    3.00MiB    2.00MiB    ext2            grub                          bios_grub
 2      3.00MiB    301MiB     298MiB     fat16           boot                          boot, esp
 3      301MiB     1301MiB    1000MiB    linux-swap(v1)  swap
 4      1301MiB    101301MiB  100000MiB  ext4            rootfs
 5      101301MiB  121301MiB  20000MiB   ext4            home
 6      121301MiB  371301MiB  250000MiB  ext4            extras
 7      371301MiB  371751MiB  450MiB     ntfs            Basic data partition          hidden, diag
 8      371751MiB  371851MiB  100MiB     fat32           EFI system partition          boot, esp
 9      371851MiB  371867MiB  16.0MiB                    Microsoft reserved partition  msftres
10      371867MiB  488386MiB  116519MiB  ntfs            Basic data partition          msftdata
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To use a NVME SSD, a mainboard with a UEFI Bios including a NVME driver is nessecary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
altrent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Unless I am misunderstanding your reply, I think I got all that is needed to use an NVME SSD.
My motherboard is an Extreme 7+ that support NVME M.2, and has the latest BIOS.
And I do run the root partition out of the NVME drive. It's just the boot partition that grub is unable to boot the kernel from.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

altrent,

Grub depends on the BIOS to a great extent.

The BIOS loads grub (that's a bit of a simplification)
Then grub loads the kernel and initrd.

Where does the process break?
Does grub load and show its menu?

Which version of grub?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
altrent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

After much playing around I got it to boot from NVME. The only way it works is by adding the device location '(hd5,gpt2)' prior to the vmlinuz image. Without it grub will boot from my old /boot partition (on a SATA SSD). What's really odd is that grub reads its config from the new /boot partition (NVME), but somehow, doesn't boot the kernel from there unless explicitly told the partition location.

Thanks!

Code:

menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux 4.3.3 (from NVME)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-1b20b179-bc43-47ed-8274-46e55f9410ca' {
   load_video
   if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
      set gfxpayload=keep
   fi
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod fat
   set root='hd5,gpt2'  # doesn't seem to have any effects
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd5,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd5,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci5,gpt2  D3E1-699A
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root D3E1-699A
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux 4.3.3-gentoo ...'
   linux   (hd5,gpt2)/vmlinuz-4.3.3-gentoo root=/dev/nvme0n1p4 ro init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd # << Added device location for the kernel to load
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum