Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fstab for uefi
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:12 pm    Post subject: fstab for uefi Reply with quote

Good afternoon all and Merry Christmas!

Trying to complete my first UEFI install, and I'm trying to figure out if I need an fstab entry for sda1. I couldn't find anything in my search through Google. Here is what my fstab looks like, and I'll post my partitions:

Code:

/dev/sda2               /boot           vfat            defaults,noatime        0 2
/dev/sda3               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda4               /               ext4            noatime         0 1

/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0


And here are my partitions:
Code:

/dev/sda1          2048      6143      4096     2M ef EFI (FAT-12/16/32)
/dev/sda2  *       6144    268287    262144   128M 83 Linux
/dev/sda3        268288   1316863   1048576   512M 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda4       1316864 976773167 975456304 465.1G 83 Linux


I also had a quick question regarding Grub. should I be using Grub or should I use the efibootmgr?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FrankRizz0,

sda1 is some private space for grub. There is no filesystem there. You will never use it directly.

You can use grub or efibootmgr.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

Thanks for the response. Sorry about my late reply but it's Christmas and my boy wanted to play with his lego. Anyhow, this was an error I received at the end of configuring grub. I wasn't sure about it because I didn't use efibootmgr. Is this something I should be concerned with?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FrankRizz0,

Ahhhh. grub-install may need it but it could read the partition table for itself too.
I've never used grub-install.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spedification in UEFI of EFI fat is minimum 200Mb. But
you may be lucky having an UEFI implementation, which
does not care about specifications. (Are you happy having such?)

/boot/efi/EFI/grub2/grubx64.efi,
where the sda1 EFI partition is mounted at /boot/efi,
which is the default path to grub2 these days,
and grubx64.efi and additional modules take more than 2MByte.
Any distribution but gentoo works this way: They provide
kernel install scripts to copy the kernel to /boot/efi/UUID/RELEASE/linux
and accordingly an update-grub.
Thus a mounted EFI at /boot/efi is just like a seperate /boot partiton
in earlier times. With the advantage you can have a multitude of
kernel selector tools (grub2,refind,gummiboot etc) on that same
EFI partition. Or you can load your efi enable kernel directly as default.
But you must set this using efibootmgr having booted in gpt/efi mode.
Or you just copy your efi enabled "vmlinuz" to the place of the efi default loader
/boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI
Good luck then if your kernel is misconfigured. While using a tool like
refind, it helps you find all possible boots available in your system.
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So install is complete, kernel seems to load but hangs up at
Code:

[    0.800493] fb: switching to radeondrmfb from EFI VGA


I wish I could give more input but unfortunately this is where my system locks up :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ulenrich, thanks for the input but honestly I have no idea if you're trying to tell me I need to fix something or what, sorry bud.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FrankRizz0 wrote:
Ulenrich, thanks for the input but honestly I have no idea if you're trying to tell me I need to fix something or what, sorry bud.......
Honestly, this is my fault, because I am so upset and frustrated with this here with Gentoo, of all possible outcomes for you as a new user to Gentoo none fits your need:
1. You get advice from the user
https://forums.gentoo.org/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&u=47366
who is the author of
a) http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/
b) http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/
He has knowledge of all possible system configuration on earth and feeds you with overwhelming advice
2. You get advice from an orthodox Gentoo user
letting you partition unneccessary extra /boot
3. You get advice from users who think they know something, but it is not the case, because they get confused themself.
4. You get advice from users who know a little but cannot explain systematically (thats me)

Yes, probably your best first step is to get booting some kernel without proprietary video drivers with UEFI. May use the kernel from the rescue cdrom Neddy told you about.
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL! Ulenrich you got a fire in your belly mate, I like that.

So, I still can't seem to get my system booted after multiple installations. Thankfully, I always do my installs through ssh, and I write down each step I take. First to make it easier the next time around, and second to find errors. Below is my installation:
Code:

parted -a optimal /dev/sda
mklabel gpt
unit mib
mkpart primary 1 3
name 1 grub
set 1 bios_grub on
mkpart primary 3 131
name 2 boot
mkpart primary 131 643
name 3 swap
mkpart primary 643 -1
name 4 rootfs
quit
fdisk -t dos /dev/sda
a
w
mkfs.vfat /dev/sda2 && mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda4 && mkswap /dev/sda3 && swapon /dev/sda3 && mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo && mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot && mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/boot && cd /mnt/gentoo && links https://www.gentoo.org/downloads/mirrors/
tar xvjpf stage3-*.tar.bz2 --xattrs
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 X imlib nls slit systray toolbar truetype vim-syntax xinerama glamor udev"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
mirrorselect -i -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
mirrorselect -i -r -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/ && mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc && mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/dev && chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash && source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
emerge --sync
eselect profile set 3 && echo "CST6CDT" > /etc/timezone && emerge --config sys-libs/timezone-data && nano -w /etc/locale.gen
locale-gen && eselect locale set 3 && env-update && source /etc/profile && emerge sys-kernel/gentoo-sources && emerge sys-apps/pciutils && cd /usr/src/linux && make menuconfig
make && make modules_install && make install && mkdir -p /boot/efi/boot && cp /boot/vmlinuz-* /boot/efi/boot/bootx64.efi && nano -w /etc/fstab
/dev/sda2               /boot           vfat            defaults,noatime        0 2
/dev/sda3               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda4               /               ext4            noatime         0 1

/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0
nano -w /etc/conf.d/hostname
hostname="Rizz0-Built"
nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
config_enp1s0="dhcp"
nano -w /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1       Rizz0-Built.homenetwork Rizz0-Built     localhost
nano -w /etc/conf.d/hwclock
clock="local"
cd /etc/init.d && ln -s net.lo net.enp1s0 && rc-update add net.enp1s0 default && passwd
emerge linux-firmware && emerge --noreplace net-misc/netifrc && emerge app-admin/syslog-ng && rc-update add syslog-ng default && emerge sys-process/cronie && rc-update add cronie default && emerge sys-apps/mlocate && rc-update add sshd default && emerge net-misc/dhcpcd && rc-update add dhcpcd default && emerge sys-fs/dosfstools && emerge sys-boot/grub && grub2-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot && grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg && useradd -m -G users,wheel,audio -s /bin/bash bry2k200 && passwd bry2k200
exit
cd && umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/sys,/proc,}
reboot


Hopefully someone can see my error. If not, I hate to say it I might have to run Debian. I installed Kubuntu also during this tedious time :-(

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks in advance.[/code]

Edit: This is the error I continue having after grub install:
Code:

efibootmgr: EFI variables are not supported on this system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otakugeek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2014
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I follow the Arch Linux Fstab wiki and work perfect : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fstab

Code:
/dev/sda1       /boot vfat   rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro 0      2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 434
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FrankRizz0 wrote:

Edit: This is the error I continue having after grub install:
Code:

efibootmgr: EFI variables are not supported on this system.

FrankRizz0, Looks like you have booted your install media in legacy mode.

I haven't had to do this in a while, but recall that if you want to install UEFI you have to boot with efi - which will make those 'EFI variables' available.

I'd try booting sysrescuecd in efi mode, remount the chroot and reinstall the bootmanager.

Edit:typo


Last edited by ian.au on Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did, and I also tried using efibootmgr without grub, no luck. I have no idea what else to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root@maci:/etc# gdisk -l /dev/sda
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 1.0.1

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 625142448 sectors, 298.1 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 54D72D0F-0FF8-4E0F-B995-E2B42D94F61B
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 625142414
Partitions will be aligned on 8-sector boundaries
Total free space is 747229 sectors (364.9 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            40            409639   200.0 MiB   EF00  EFI System Partition
   2         1146920       217441207   103.1 GiB   FFFF  home
   3       217441208       253092791    17.0 GiB    8300  debian
   4       253092792       278258615    12.0 GiB    8300  gentoo
   5       278258616       344097943    31.4 GiB    AF00  Apple HFS/HFS+
   6       344097944       345367479   619.9 MiB   AB00  Recovery HD
   7       345367480       353756087     4.0 GiB     8200  swap
   8       353756088       597025719   116.0 GiB   0700  common
   9       597026816       625133567    13.4 GiB    8300  fedora
# grep boot /etc/fstab
/dev/sda1       /boot/efi         vfat          noauto,rw,defaults,utf8=1  0  0
# mount /boot/efi
# ls -l /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 84665 Dez 19 07:10 /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI
The last is the place where you could put an EFI enabled vmlinuz - renamed: That is the default EFI entry. You did try it but missed the proper place. But you must specify the root partition in /usr/src/linux/.config. But better put a tool like "refind" there!
On that directory tree level you can experiment with all of the boot loaders:
Code:
# ls -l /boot/efi/EFI
insgesamt 8
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root  512 Jan  5  2010 APPLE
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 1024 Dez 19 07:10 BOOT
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 1024 Jul 30 03:33 fedora
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 1024 Dez  1  2014 grub2
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 1536 Dez  1  2014 refind
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root  512 Jun 11  2013 refit

While the kernels you can put as you wish, I just copy them:
Code:
# ls -l /boot/efi/G*
/boot/efi/Gentoo.44:                                           
insgesamt 12225
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root       0 Dez 16 13:48 4.4.0-1000.5
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 8864802 Dez 16 13:48 initrd
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3652256 Dez 16 13:48 vmlinuz

/boot/efi/Gentoo.new:
insgesamt 12153
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root       0 Dez 18 04:59 4.3.3-1117.22
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 8847764 Dez 18 04:59 initrd
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3596560 Dez 18 04:59 vmlinuz
That way I don't need to edit my gummiboot config when compiled a new kernel:
Code:
# cat /boot/efi/loader/entries/GentooNew.conf
title   GentooNew
version 4.3
options systemd.unit=default.target init=/sbin/systemd root=/dev/sda4 rootfstype=ext4 quiet systemd.show_status=1 systemd.log_level=1 acpi_backlight=vendor modeset.nouveau=1 modeset
linux   /Gentoo.new/vmlinuz
initrd  /icoreduo.img
# only early intel firmware is needed for my kernel
# initrd /Gentoo.new/initrd
Your configured efi would look like
Code:
# efibootmgr --verbose
BootCurrent: 0003
BootOrder: 0003,0004,0002,0000,0001
Boot0000* grub HD(1,GPT,b1d47fcc-75b2-4272-b0ed-850d5f1f364f,0x28,0x64000)/File(\EFI\grub2\grubx64.efi)
Boot0001* Refind HD(1,GPT,b1d47fcc-75b2-4272-b0ed-850d5f1f364f,0x28,0x64000)/File(\EFI\refind\refind.efi)
Boot0002* Refit HD(1,GPT,b1d47fcc-75b2-4272-b0ed-850d5f1f364f,0x28,0x64000)/File(\EFI\refit\refit.efi)
Boot0003* Gummi HD(1,GPT,b1d47fcc-75b2-4272-b0ed-850d5f1f364f,0x28,0x64000)/File(\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI)
...

_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So my understanding from this, is that all I am missing is an entry in my fstab and I put my grub in the wrong directory?

Edit: I also noticed in your partitions that you do not have a grub directory, not needed I'm assuming?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So here is the layout that I think will work Ulenrich, let me know if this is correct:
Code:

gpart /dev/sda

Command (? for help): p
Disk /dev/sda: 976773168 sectors, 465.8 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 6267B73E-D9F1-4E83-9EB8-862DF6A6187C
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 976773134
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 2014 sectors (1007.0 KiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048          411647   200.0 MiB   EF00  EFI System
   2          411648         8603647   3.9 GiB     8200  Linux swap
   3         8603648       976773134   461.7 GiB   8300  Linux filesystem

A little concerned with this cause I tried to copy your partition scheme but I did not make any of the partitions bootable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is not any "bootable" partition any more with gpt and efi/uefi. Apple has created efi entries on my system pointing directly to their partition. I just show you some sane default way from where you start your own. I do have a grub2 listet above and an efibootmgr entry:
"/boot/efi/EFI/grub2" which is in efi vfat partition one at "sda1:/EFI/grub2"
but you can call it what you want. You are totally free as long efibootmgr --verbose
shows that your efi system will find it as the next entry to boot from. I have
Code:
$ efibootmgr --verbose
BootCurrent: 0003
BootOrder: 0003,0004,0002,0000,0001
....
Boot0003* Gummi HD(1,GPT,b1d47fcc-75b2-4272-b0ed-850d5f1f364f,0x28,0x64000)/File(\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI)

\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI
is the default, in my case this is a copied gummiboot executable.
But, for example, you could name a compiled linux there as BOOTX64.EFI,
which had in /usr/src/linux/.config before compile
Code:
CONFIG_CMDLINE_BOOL=y
CONFIG_CMDLINE="initrd=/your_initrd root=/dev/sda3 rootfstype=ext4"

would boot partition3 if you copy the needed initrd to the place (mounted): /boot/efi/your_initrd

Efi does not make any difference between a kernel, a boot loader like grub2 or may be you put your self programed game as the computer startup efi executable.
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so I don't think I'm understanding you mate. I'll put together what I think you're trying to say to me. I'll also show you my latest fail on install:
Code:

gdisk /dev/sda
Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048          411647   200.0 MiB   EF00  EFI System
   2          411648         8603647   3.9 GiB     8200  Linux swap
   3         8603648       976773134   461.7 GiB   8300  Linux filesystem

mkfs.vfat /dev/sda1 && mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3 && mkswap /dev/sda2 && swapon /dev/sda2 && mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo && mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot && mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot && cd /mnt/gentoo && links https://www.gentoo.org/downloads/mirrors/
tar xvjpf stage3-*.tar.bz2 --xattrs
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 X imlib nls slit systray toolbar truetype vim-syntax xinerama glamor udev"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
mirrorselect -i -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
mirrorselect -i -r -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/ && mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc && mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/dev && chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash && source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
emerge --sync
eselect profile set 3 && echo "CST6CDT" > /etc/timezone && emerge --config sys-libs/timezone-data && nano -w /etc/locale.gen
locale-gen && eselect locale set 3 && env-update && source /etc/profile && emerge sys-kernel/gentoo-sources && emerge sys-apps/pciutils && cd /usr/src/linux && make menuconfig
make && make modules_install && make install && mkdir -p /boot/efi/boot && cp /boot/vmlinuz-* /boot/efi/boot/bootx64.efi && nano -w /etc/fstab
/dev/sda1               /boot           vfat            defaults,noatime        0 2
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda3               /               ext4            noatime         0 1

/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0
mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi/boot && nano -w /etc/conf.d/hostname
hostname="Rizz0-Built"
nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
config_enp1s0="dhcp"
nano -w /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1       Rizz0-Built.homenetwork Rizz0-Built     localhost
nano -w /etc/conf.d/hwclock
clock="local"
cd /etc/init.d && ln -s net.lo net.enp1s0 && rc-update add net.enp1s0 default && passwd
emerge linux-firmware && emerge --noreplace net-misc/netifrc && emerge app-admin/syslog-ng && rc-update add syslog-ng default && emerge sys-process/cronie && rc-update add cronie default && emerge sys-apps/mlocate && rc-update add sshd default && emerge net-misc/dhcpcd && rc-update add dhcpcd default && emerge sys-fs/dosfstools && emerge sys-boot/grub && grub2-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi/boot && grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg && useradd -m -G users,wheel,audio -s /bin/bash bry2k200 && passwd bry2k200
exit
cd && umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/sys,/proc,}
reboot


So my understanding, is that my first error is that mkdir -p /boot/efi/boot should have been mkdir -p /boot/efi/EFI/boot, which I should have cp /boot/vmlinuz-* /boot/efi/EFI/boot/bootx64.efi? Going against the Gentoo Handbook so I want to assume I'm understanding you correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I did this exactly once, and I vividly remember the pain.

Gentoo Handbook says to make your EFI partition 2M in size, that's wrong AFAICT. It needs to be big enough to put a vfat partition on it, which for me seemed to be about 500m.

I made my partition 1 be EF00 code, 500m and fat32. This partition is /boot AND the EFI partition. The EFI partition cares not one bit where it mounts on the filesystem. So I have /boot/grub, /boot/EFI/BOOT/bootx64.efi, /boot/EFI/gentoo/grubx64.efi, etc.

I followed the instructions given by some other user (will edit this message with a link to my support thread) and then copied my gentoo/grubx64.efi to /boot/EFI/BOOT/bootx64.efi, which causes it to work without setting the variable in the bios.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1027872-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think, what @1clue did, is sufficient these days: directly mounting the vfat EFI patititon on /boot

I guess this was not choosen the default mount point, because it is not fully backwards compatible with
old kernel installer scripts making symlinks into /boot, which will fail on a vfat partition.

The only problem: Although having all that freedom with uEFI - using these various possibilities
makes support more difficult, e.g: if your parallel debian install looks different :)
... as a Gentoo user you know what you are doing ...
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All this for a laptop with Fluxbox....Why can't I just be a Windows user, or an Ubuntu user :roll:

Ok so what's being said is that on my next attempt, I should use genkernel, I should make my 1st partition 500 MB and flag that partition bootable?

Edit: 1clue, I can't see your partitions mate, file was deleted :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2549

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not use genkernel and gpt partition table does not have a bootable flag.

Sorry but I'm using my phone right now so I can't be more verbose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so here was my last attempt:
Code:

gdisk /dev/sda
Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048          411647   200.0 MiB   EF00  EFI System
   2          411648         8603647   3.9 GiB     8200  Linux swap
   3         8603648       976773134   461.7 GiB   8300  Linux filesystem

mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/sda1 && mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3 && mkswap /dev/sda2 && swapon /dev/sda2 && mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo && mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot && mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot && cd /mnt/gentoo && links https://www.gentoo.org/downloads/mirrors/
tar xvjpf stage3-*.tar.bz2 --xattrs
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2 X imlib nls slit systray toolbar truetype vim-syntax xinerama glamor udev"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
mirrorselect -i -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
mirrorselect -i -r -o >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/ && mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc && mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/sys && mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev && mount --make-rslave /mnt/gentoo/dev && chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash && source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
emerge --sync && nano -w /etc/fstab
/dev/sda1               /boot/efi       vfat            defaults,noatime        0 2
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda3               /               ext4            noatime         0 1

/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,user     0 0
mkdir -p /boot/efi/EFI/boot && mount /dev/sda1 /boot/efi
eselect profile set 3 && echo "CST6CDT" > /etc/timezone && emerge --config sys-libs/timezone-data && nano -w /etc/locale.gen
eselect locale set 3 && locale-gen && env-update && source /etc/profile && emerge sys-kernel/gentoo-sources && emerge sys-apps/pciutils && cd /usr/src/linux && make menuconfig
make && make modules_install && make install && cp /boot/vmlinuz-* /boot/efi/EFI/boot/bootx64.efi && nano -w /etc/conf.d/hostname
hostname="Rizz0-Built"
nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
config_enp1s0="dhcp"
nano -w /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1       Rizz0-Built.homenetwork Rizz0-Built     localhost
nano -w /etc/conf.d/hwclock
clock="local"
cd /etc/init.d && ln -s net.lo net.enp1s0 && rc-update add net.enp1s0 default && passwd
emerge linux-firmware && emerge --noreplace net-misc/netifrc && emerge app-admin/syslog-ng && rc-update add syslog-ng default && emerge sys-process/cronie && rc-update add cronie default && emerge sys-apps/mlocate && rc-update add sshd default && emerge net-misc/dhcpcd && rc-update add dhcpcd default && emerge sys-fs/dosfstools && cp /boot/efi/EFI/gentoo/grub.cfg /boot/efi/EFI/boot/grubx64.efi && useradd -m -G users,wheel,audio -s /bin/bash bry2k200 && passwd bry2k200
exit
cd && umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/sys,/proc,}
reboot


It froze at fb: switching to radeondrmfb from EFI VGA

Edit: Kernel config here https://bpaste.net/show/e4c0d1ca0af4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A look at your config ( CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="" ) reveals that you have not performed the unnatural but necessary acts listed at:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Firmware
to build firmware for your radeon card into the kernel.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FrankRizz0
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 617

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I built the drm as a module and I will load if after boot. Got that part figured out Donahue, now my kernel gives me this error:
Code:

Kernel Offset: disabled
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

What bootmanager/bootloader are you using? It appears that root= is pointed at a wrong place.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum