Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Pentium 4 HT, kernel thinks it's 64 bit
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MrMe01
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:47 pm    Post subject: Pentium 4 HT, kernel thinks it's 64 bit Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I've got an old IBM Thinkcentre that I've been tasked with making it useful again. It's a P4HT machine, running genkernel all throws up an error. I've tried both the i486 and the i686 Stage3 images as I saw elsewhere that solved someone else's issue.

Here's the relevant part of the log.
Code:

kernel/bounds.c:1:0: error: CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction set
 /*
 ^
Kbuild:43: recipe for target 'kernel/bounds.s' failed
make[1]: *** [kernel/bounds.s] Error 1
Makefile:990: recipe for target 'prepare0' failed
make: *** [prepare0] Error 2
* Gentoo Linux Genkernel; Version 3.4.52.3


Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7069
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, which cpu do you have and what CPU target did you select? I have both a 3.0GHz P4 HT CPU that does not support 64-bit, and a 3.4GHz P4 HT that does supports 64 bit (both Prescott cores)...

Are you building the kernel within the chroot or building it somewhere else?

Also type

uname -a

just to make sure...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrMe01
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jun 2013
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Well, which cpu do you have and what CPU target did you select? I have both a 3.0GHz P4 HT CPU that does not support 64-bit, and a 3.4GHz P4 HT that does supports 64 bit (both Prescott cores)...

Are you building the kernel within the chroot or building it somewhere else?

Also type

uname -a

just to make sure...


I had no idea there was a difference, I thought they were x86 only.

I was trying to build in a 32 bit chroot.

I got the problem solved, it's now running x64 Debian. All seems well.

Thank you :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4e8
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you chroot 32bit under 64bit system, you should use "i386 chroot /bin/bash" to emulate 32bit arch to app.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum