Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CeleronD questions (or how to become crazy with IBM ...)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
destroyedlolo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 695
Location: Close to Annecy (France)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:24 pm    Post subject: CeleronD questions (or how to become crazy with IBM ...) Reply with quote

Hello,

I have an old IBM ThinkCenter I'm trying to reactivate as kid tool.

/proc/cpuinfo is :

Code:
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 15
model      : 3
model name   : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz
stepping   : 4
microcode   : 0xe
cpu MHz      : 2393.960
cache size   : 256 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 1
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 1
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fdiv_bug   : no
f00f_bug   : no
coma_bug   : no
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bugs      :
bogomips   : 4787.92
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 128
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:


so according to its flags, it is supposed to support HyperThreading (ht flags) and 64 bits (pni).
I didn't seen anything in IBM bios related to CPU HT activation.

I built an SMP kernel :
Quote:
laurent@joris ~ $ uname -a
Linux joris 4.1.12-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Jan 3 17:52:35 CET 2016 i686 Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

but only 1 CPU is exposed.

If I'm trying to boot on 64b Gentoo Install CD, it said my architecture is not supporting 64b.

So ... is cpuflags wrong ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

destroyedlolo,

Code:
pni: SSE-3 (“Prescott New Instructions”)
That does not mean 64 bit.
The lm (long machine) flag indicates its a 64 bit CPU.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destroyedlolo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 695
Location: Close to Annecy (France)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

This page said that PNI indicate as well is a prescott and consequently 64b aware. Is it wrong ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

destroyedlolo

The page is incomplete. You have a
Code:
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 15
model      : 3
model name   : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz

Note the
Code:
model      : 3
That is not listed on the page

Your link describes a model : 4

--- edit ---
Google can't find a
Code:
cpu family   : 15
model      : 3

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destroyedlolo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 695
Location: Close to Annecy (France)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I know :(
IBM loves customization ... and it's potentially another "business agreement" b/w Intel and them :evil:

Anyway, do you have any idea about hyperthreading ?
Because I wanted to switch to 64b only to use Distcc with my 64b machines, hyper-threading should improve (I know, a little bit) its "speed".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43178
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

destroyedlolo,

I think what you have is a model 320, which is not 64 bit. Its not clear about hyperthreading either.

If your 64 bit installs are multilib, distcc should still work to produce 32 bit code.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum