Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Core i7, only one core showing [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:18 am    Post subject: Core i7, only one core showing [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have a Core i7 on a remote server. There should be four cores, but /proc/cpuinfo is only reporting one.

Here is my kernel config.

Here is dmesg | grep cpu:

Code:

[    0.000000] Initializing cgroup subsys cpuset
[    0.000000] Initializing cgroup subsys cpu
[    0.000000] Initializing cgroup subsys cpuacct
[    0.000000] setup_percpu: NR_CPUS:64 nr_cpumask_bits:64 nr_cpu_ids:1 nr_node_ids:1
[    0.000000] PERCPU: Embedded 33 pages/cpu @ffff88063fc00000 s94360 r8192 d32616 u2097152
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: s94360 r8192 d32616 u2097152 alloc=1*2097152
[    0.000000] pcpu-alloc: [0] 0
[    0.000000]    RCU restricting CPUs from NR_CPUS=64 to nr_cpu_ids=1.
[    0.000000] RCU: Adjusting geometry for rcu_fanout_leaf=16, nr_cpu_ids=1
[    0.226502] cpuidle: using governor ladder
[    0.226639] cpuidle: using governor menu
[    0.250877] HPET: 4 timers in total, 0 timers will be used for per-cpu timer
[   25.733863]  [<ffffffff810e6e87>] ? acct_account_cputime+0x17/0x20


cat /proc/cpuinfo:

Code:

processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 26
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         930  @ 2.80GHz
stepping   : 5
microcode   : 0x11
cpu MHz      : 2806.972
cache size   : 8192 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 1
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 1
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 11
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bugs      :
bogomips   : 5613.94
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:


What am I missing?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you should add SMP support.
And eventually Hyperthreading support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweezil-n0xad
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 156
Location: Ostend, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you boot the kernel with acpi=off ?
acpi=off allows the system to boot normally, but only with 1 core enabled.
_________________
i7-4790K | 16GB DDR3 | GTX 970 | 500GB SSD
ASUS N56VV | i7-3630QM | 12GB DDR3 | GT 750M | 256GB SSD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SMP and HT are enabled - it's right there in the config I posted. I'm not booting with APCI off.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43786
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

I don't see anything in your kernel. Maybe there will be a hint in dmesg?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what I'm looking at in dmesg | grep cpu in the OP, but here's the entire dmesg.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43786
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

I don't know what I'm looking for either ... but,

I've not seen all those
Code:
[    0.000000] ACPI Error: Resize of Root Table Array is not allowed (20150410/tbdata-444)
entries before

Code:
Line 461 [    0.000000] smpboot: Allowing 1 CPUs, 0 hotplug CPUs
looks bad too and the kernel has hardly done anything yet.

Code:
[    0.000416] ACPI: Core revision 20150410
[    0.000571] ACPI Exception: AE_NO_ACPI_TABLES, While loading namespace from ACPI tables (20150410/tbxfload-80)
[    0.000888] ACPI: Unable to load the System Description Tables


Code:
[    0.019331] smpboot: weird, boot CPU (#0) not listed by the BIOS
[    0.019470] smpboot: SMP motherboard not detected
[    0.019606] smpboot: SMP disabled

Then its all over.

I don't know that its connected to the ACPI errors.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, looks like I have no choice but to ask Hetzner support to physically check the machine, maybe see if something in the BIOS is not set properly.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3711
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
Hm, looks like I have no choice but to ask Hetzner support
I've an i7 at Hetzner too, FWIW here's my .config (stable hardened gentoo Linux kernel) : https://bpaste.net/show/c459b80b1770
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I'll diff this with mine and see what comes up.

A little off-topic, but for some reason, hardened-4.3 fails on me no matter what I do, but 4.1 worked on the first try.

toralf wrote:
audiodef wrote:
Hm, looks like I have no choice but to ask Hetzner support
I've an i7 at Hetzner too, FWIW here's my .config (stable hardened gentoo Linux kernel) : https://bpaste.net/show/c459b80b1770


EDIT:

The diff shows nothing for SMP and HT, which just confirms that those options are correctly enabled. Thanks again. :)

Hetzner is checking my server. They are quite fast. I made a support request not 20 minutes ago and they've already asked my permission to shut down the server so they can check it.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3711
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hhm, for the hardened kernel I just choosed a vanilla .config and selected CONFIG_GRKERNSEC_CONFIG_SERVER=y
Code:
$>uname -a
Linux ms-magpie 4.3.3-hardened-r7 #1 SMP Wed Jan 20 15:06:09 CET 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked that option in 4.1 and it's not selected by default. Maybe 4.3 requires it. Which is the latest ~stable, though, 4.1 or 4.3?

toralf wrote:
Hhm, for the hardened kernel I just choosed a vanilla .config and selected CONFIG_GRKERNSEC_CONFIG_SERVER=y
Code:
$>uname -a
Linux ms-magpie 4.3.3-hardened-r7 #1 SMP Wed Jan 20 15:06:09 CET 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was the BIOS. Hetzner fixed it. All eight cores are now showing. I thought I had four, but can't complain!
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3711
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
It was the BIOS. Hetzner fixed it. All eight cores are now showing. I thought I had four, but can't complain!
4 physical == 8 threads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what exactly is cat /proc/cpuinfo showing with entries 0-7?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43786
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

Four physical cores and four hyperthreading cores.
Each physical core supports two (hyper)threads, so it looks like two cores.

It helps CPU throughput under some workloads and makes it worse under others.
When hyperthreading was new, on a real world system, which I no longer have access to, it halved throughput.
We turned hyperthreading off in the BIOS. That was a few years ago now though.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it. Thanks, Neddy.

So should I use -j5 or -j9 for MAKEOPTS?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43786
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

-j9 is a good place to start.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Makeopts="-j8"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Neddy and Keruskerfuerst.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you enable virtualization in the Bios?
Then enable virtualization in the kernel, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3711
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
audiodef,

-j9 is a good place to start.
I made good experiences with <amount + threads -1> mreaning -j7 in this case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum