Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help me get my e6410 on the net? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:01 pm    Post subject: help me get my e6410 on the net? [solved] Reply with quote

hi guys... its been over a decade since i was active in this forum. i feel so old...

so my primary laptop is a dell e6410 with an intel 82577LM gigabit lan adapter, and a broadcom DW1501 wireless half-mini wan adapter.

i have gone through a couple different installs and kernel compiles, the first in which i compiled every module i could find related to this hardware (and listed them in modules conf). the second, i gave up and used genkernel. i compiled both gentoo-sources and ck-sources just to see if one would get lucky.

when i reboot into the installed OS, i have no working network interface.

my first question is this - for the hardware listed above, what options do i need in my kernel compile? i haven't tried to get wireless working during the install, but i see wlan0. the wired lan picks up dhcp right off the bat. but when i reboot, it looks like the modules aren't loaded, or the OS just isn't seeing the hardware.

help? i've gone through this a few times, and at this point, i am ashamed to admit i need pointers.

thanks, and viva la gentoo!


Last edited by pwhitt on Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pwhitt,

Welcome back!
We knew you would come ... just not when it would be :)

You need the e1000e kernel module for wired.
I can't find anything useful for a Broadcom DW1501. What is the vendor/device IDs?

Since you were here last, your network interface names have changed.
With the e1000e driver loaded, what does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show your interfaces are?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see e1000 & e1000e listed w/ lsmod.

Ifconfig -a shows:

eno1:..
lo:...
wlp3s0b1:...


Sorry,but I can't easily copy it over - am now using tablet to relay info. Is theresomething useful for the wlp...?

Perhaps dhco isn't running? Ifconfig eth0 up tells me there is no such device...

Off ti dinner, thnks for help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pwhitt,

Thats fine.

eno1 is the wired interface
wlp3s0b1 is wireless.

What does
Code:
dhcpcd eno1
do for you?
It should get you on the internet.

If you look at dmesg, you will see that eth0 got renamed. You can have eth0 if you want, you turn off udevs "persistant ethernet names"
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi neddy _ no dice, but interesting...

Dhcpcd eno1 yields:
eno1: waiting for carrier
eno1: carrier acquired
eno1: addin address fe80 74e6 xxxx xxxx xxxx
DUID xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx xx
eno1: IAID xx xx xx xx
Illegal instruction

And I get no love... should be obvious, but the x's are just the hex values.

Dmesg shows me that e1000e is associating with eno0 (not e1000) - is that a problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pwhitt,

Ewww ... Illegal instruction.

That means you have set your CFLAGS to tell gcc to use instructions that your CPU cannot execute.
That's a verybadthing.

Provided your toolchain still works, you need to fix your CFLAGS and rebuild everything.
If your toolchain is affected, you may as well reinstall from scratch. It will be faster than fixing it.

Quote:
Dmesg shows me that e1000e is associating with eno0 (not e1000) - is that a problem?

That's fine.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NOOOOO!!!!

i'm certain the toolchain works, i compiled both kernels in the chroot using this toolchain... right?

i'll reboot and check everything out. i had setup my system according to a couple howtos i found for this laptop and cpu (i7 quad core). i haven't done anything sketchy, it's all very vanilla.

but since this is a kernel module, and it was compiled (seemingly) for an incompatible target, how does it even boot?

hey - wait - here's a question - i compiled the ck-kernel after the gentoo-sources. did the ck-sources modules overwrite the gentoo, and are they interchangable?

i'll investigate further...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pwhitt,

Your error came from dhcpcd.

CFLAGS does not compel gcc to use all the instructions permitted by the settings, its a permission to do so.
Some things will work (because gcc did not to choose a particular instruction) some things won't work. Like dhcpcd.
That's the only problem package we know about. However, its not possible to tell what is affected and what isn't.

Horrible thought for the day.
An Illegal instruction can be caused by a RAM error too. The code is loaded into RAM and executed. If the code is changed in RAM by a memory error, it could provoke an illegal instruction error.

Boot into memtest86 and check out your memory subsystem.
Is the illegal instruction error from dhcpcd repeatable from boot to boot?
Ideally you need to ensure that dhcpcd moves around in memory from boot to boot by loading other things first.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My make.conf:

CFLAGS:="-march=corei7-avx -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64 -pc-linux-gnu"
USE="bindist mmx saw sse2"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"

As far as I can tell, this is correct for my machine, no?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pwhitt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're the man Neddy!

I changed my arch to native, rebuilt dhcpcd and now I'm online wired...

I've got some rebuilding to do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum