Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] could not insert 'snd_hda_intel': Exec format error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pistos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 175
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:35 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] could not insert 'snd_hda_intel': Exec format error Reply with quote

Background: I've already successfully gotten audio working on this machine. I have installed Gentoo onto a fresh hard drive, and the only significant difference between the old HD and the new that I can tell is that the old HD still had Linux 3.x on it, whereas the new HD got the 4.1 kernel on it. Otherwise, the .config is essentially identical in both cases.

Problem: No audio, alsamixer empty, aplay -L empty.

Current symptoms:

Code:

# modprobe lsmod
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'snd_hda_intel': Exec format error

# dmesg
[...]
snd_hda_core: exports duplicate symbol _snd_hdac_read_parm (owned by kernel)

# lshw
[...]
        *-multimedia
             description: Audio device
             product: 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
             vendor: Intel Corporation
             physical id: 1b
             bus info: pci@0000:00:1b.0
             version: 05
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 33MHz
             capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
             configuration: driver=snd_hda_intel latency=0
             resources: irq:26 memory:fbff8000-fbffbfff
[...]

# lspci -k
[...]
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
        Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
[...]

# uname -a
Linux damascus 4.1.15-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Sat Feb 27 21:46:29 EST 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G620 @ 2.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

# aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)

# alsamixer
 Card: HDA Intel PCH
This sound device does not have any controls.

# cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xfbff8000 irq 26

# egrep '^CONFIG_SND' /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=m
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY=y
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER_OSS=y
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_HRTIMER_DEFAULT=y
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_KCTL_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y




Last edited by Pistos on Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You get exec format error when the module you try to insert is not built for running kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pistos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 175
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I found the problem. I was `make install`ing many times, but had forgotten to mount the /boot partition. :\ How silly.

Thanks, Buffoon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum