Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel co genkernel problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gert Andersen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Broendby, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="NeddySeagoon"]Gert Andersen,

x32 is different again to i686, x86 and amd64.

Its something half way between amd64 and i686. You get all the extra registers of amd64, you get all the native 64 bit instructions but pointers are only 32 bits. The binary code is smaller, and some say faster but you only have a 4G virtual address space.
Its also not well tested.

Is your problem resolved now?[/quote]

Just got a problem with grub2 install by it not can find a file modinfo.sh for get installed either in boot/grub or in the efi partion og Mount and what it have to be Mount by.
Mount /dev/sda1 /boot/grub maybe or what other.

the other of my gentoo pc's is one of the amd64 just have the old stile by bios and the newest not use it self when it have a /dev/sda1 for it.
the command to install boot loader before create the boot loader is:
like
grub2-install /dev/sda
or this
grub2-install --target=x86_64-efi --directroy=/boot
and no of them liek to and will Work by they say there need a target directory and modifo.sh is not exist.
_________________
Gert K. Andersen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gert Andersen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Broendby, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Gert Andersen"][quote="NeddySeagoon"]Gert Andersen,

x32 is different again to i686, x86 and amd64.

Its something half way between amd64 and i686. You get all the extra registers of amd64, you get all the native 64 bit instructions but pointers are only 32 bits. The binary code is smaller, and some say faster but you only have a 4G virtual address space.
Its also not well tested.

Is your problem resolved now?[/quote]

Yes my problem seem now resolved when I use amd64 for install and setup and I is nearly finish with it now, is just got to the grub bootloader and it is by EFI-64 use.[/quote]

I just now got the grub:2 problem where it not like to install as it shall.
I have following all what there standing in the handbook, grub say it either can find the /boot or the bios for EFI installint.
_________________
Gert K. Andersen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3076
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I can't help. I use grub legacy because I find the grub2 syntax too confusing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gert Andersen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Broendby, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Tony0945"]Sorry, I can't help. I use grub legacy because I find the grub2 syntax too confusing.[/quote]

You mean it is the EFI system, I have them both my first made boot systems is teh old grub and my last one is grub2 and it just made the bootloader with what it find of hardware for kernel and ramfs and set it all Automatic up.
Sometimes can the old grub have trouble with what to put in the kernel line where grub2 just make it so best it can.

I is on now to kame a reinstall as I discover that the way I was in to install and setup the Linux here was as multi system there both could run and use 64bit and 32bit, but the stage there by error was downloaded was for non-multy system.
So now is the kernel on with to be compiled.
_________________
Gert K. Andersen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gert Andersen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Broendby, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Gert Andersen"][quote="Tony0945"]Sorry, I can't help. I use grub legacy because I find the grub2 syntax too confusing.[/quote]

You mean it is the EFI system, I have them both my first made boot systems is teh old grub and my last one is grub2 and it just made the bootloader with what it find of hardware for kernel and ramfs and set it all Automatic up.
Sometimes can the old grub have trouble with what to put in the kernel line where grub2 just make it so best it can.

I is on now to kame a reinstall as I discover that the way I was in to install and setup the Linux here was as multi system there both could run and use 64bit and 32bit, but the stage there by error was downloaded was for non-multy system.
So now is the kernel on with to be compiled.[/quote]

I got all fine working with grub2 and reboot up fine and running, but after some update function and I just for a short time should add the the big 1TB harddisk and tehn started up Again is now got soem Networks error of what is what, where the 2 Cards extern and interen on the motherboard first was like enps2s0 and enp5s0 now got to the old ones Again of eth0 and eth1, eth1 is not been used, they gver Networks error on starting up so all Network and internet is gone.
Nothing like it to go networking.
_________________
Gert K. Andersen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum