Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]radeon, screen turn black on boot.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:49 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]radeon, screen turn black on boot. Reply with quote

I am installing Gentoo on HP laptop (A6-4400M), and when booting the screen turn black but I still can use the console.

I am just able to boot with

Code:
radeon.modeset=0


The relevant error messages I found on journalctl are:

Code:
Mar 28 22:02:19 mobile systemd-backlight[264]: Failed to get backlight or LED device 'backlight:acpi_video0': No such device
Mar 28 22:02:19 mobile systemd[1]: systemd-backlight@backlight:acpi_video0.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Mar 28 22:02:19 mobile systemd[1]: systemd-backlight@backlight:acpi_video0.service: Unit entered failed state.
Mar 28 22:02:19 mobile systemd[1]: systemd-backlight@backlight:acpi_video0.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.


dmesg: http://pastebin.com/JVNMF7dr
journalctl: http://pastebin.com/CXiHLSNA
kernel config: http://pastebin.com/68PsBWf3

Thanks!


Last edited by alexcortes on Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I boot normally but without the quiet parameter and after the screen were turned black I blind login and then start sddm, it works and I can access KDE indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.5.0-gentoo root=/dev/sda2 ro radeon.modeset=0 init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd

Code:
[   11.709991] [drm:radeon_init [radeon]] *ERROR* No UMS support in radeon module!

It cannot work that way, you need to remove radeon.modeset=0
Then give the new dmesg and logs.

If necessary, blacklist the radeon kernel module from loading automatically, then connect via ssh and capture dmesg output when loading the module manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

This one I captured with modeset ON. The screen become black but I am able to blind login in my user and startx, then everything seem to be working ok (backlight adjusts included) on KDE.

dmesg: http://pastebin.com/eRcHdeKd
journalctl: http://pastebin.com/nUdamcb4

Thanks!

EDIT: yesteday I compiled the kernel with Y for DRM/Radeon following the wiki. The only thing that changed was the screen turning black a bit early.

kernel config (current): http://pastebin.com/vCxGE4ep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally you should have something like this in dmesg:
Code:
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 200x75

As you have
Code:
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=m
it looks like the module was not loaded. So either make that built-in or add fbcon to the list of modules to load at boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y won't work too. I will try the module way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=m to be loaded on boot won't work too.

dmesg: http://pastebin.com/fbBs4h2k
journalctl: http://pastebin.com/TuJZe2Np

I will let it buit-in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Next one is this
Code:
# CONFIG_DRM_FBDEV_EMULATION is not set


You surely have a messed up kernel config, both of these options are normally enabled by default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexcortes
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, yes, yes that did the trick!

Really thank you @chithanh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum