Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I know if my computer hung?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 6:38 pm    Post subject: How do I know if my computer hung? Reply with quote

I'm installing gentoo on my laptop. It is a Dell inspiron. I am chrooted and i have selected profile desktop. I know gentoo is compiling and that will take time, but sometimes i'll look over and it's just not doing anything anymore. It will get to a point where it stops. I've rebooted it twice now (remounting and chroot) to the update --newuse @world step. I don't know if I'm rebooting it premature, or if I should let it go? When it stops no activity is taking place for at least half an hour before I reboot.
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazdva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure there is really no activity? Not always the screen will be constantly being flooded with output from the compiler. Sometimes it will compile something bigger and the screen will seem to be frozen, but in reality it still compiles.

If you are unsure if the compiler still does it's job, run the top command and check CPU usage.

By the way, you may want to apply --quiet-build parameter to get rid of compiler output. Printing to the console is relatively expensive operation, so by eliminating the compiler output you can get everything compiled faster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try quiet. I can't use TOP because it's not an OS yet, it's still in the install phase.
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazdva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can switch between terminals with ALT+F1, ALT+F2, ALT+F3.... key combination. So let's say if your installation works on TTY1 (ALT+F1), you can hit ALT+F2 to switch to TTY2 and execute top.

One handy tip is that Gentoo Handbook renders well in text-based browser like links, so if you don't have a separate device to look at the handbook, you may want to look at the handbook through links in separate terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks. the alt f2 etc doesn't work. I have a mouse, but the screen test is frozen. This laptop works with Ubuntu, CentOS Fedora, so I guessing it's not a hardware issue. Maybe there is some reason that gentoo cannot be put on this laptop. I have the handbook open on my ipad. that's what I was using to follow the install steps.
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Irre
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Nov 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ronaldpguilmet wrote:
thanks. the alt f2 etc doesn't work. I have a mouse, but the screen test is frozen. This laptop works with Ubuntu, CentOS Fedora, so I guessing it's not a hardware issue. Maybe there is some reason that gentoo cannot be put on this laptop. I have the handbook open on my ipad. that's what I was using to follow the install steps.
From iPad you can perhaps login to the laptop via ssh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is no ssh to login to. There is no operating system on the laptop. I can't get that far. As far as the install goes I get to this step
Code:
emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse @world

I tried adding --quiet to that command, but it still outputs to the screen. My experience so far is that I can install gentoo in a virtualbox even with KDE, but when I tried on my desktop, it wouldn't install. Now I'm trying on a laptop, and it's not installing. I don't know where the problem is, but if it hangs again, I'm done. I'll go back to playing with it on virtualbox.
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can SSH in, you cannot install Gentoo without having OS running from installation media. Your laptop probably hangs because of overheating, compilation is like hardware burnout test.

Code:
emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse @world

A side note, I would run it from installed Gentoo, not in chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazdva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buffoon wrote:
Code:
emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse @world

A side note, I would run it from installed Gentoo, not in chroot.


That's right. Actually, he can drop execution of this command at all if he uses the desktop profile without change to systemd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I'm just going step by step. Ultimately I would like gnome no systemd. It's currently running with quiet. It displays the status without the compilation output. If this works I'll mark it solved with the quiet arg as the answer. Do you think the screen outpu is consuming too much ram?
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I think this is a hardware issue. But I said this before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronaldpguilmet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2016
Posts: 13
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It ran longer with the quiet arg, but it froze again. Apparently my resources cannot handle that much computation. I gave it the ol college try. Thanks for responding.
_________________
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3100
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try MAKEOPTS="-j1" in make.conf That worked recently for a user with a weak power supply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazdva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The thing with --quiet-build is that your terminal will not have to render tons of compiler output, so less resources will be consumed.

MAKEOPTS="-j1" is a very nice suggestion. Your compilation will not run in parallel mode, so less CPU resources will be used. Keep in mind that compilation can take much more time with this setting.

But once again, you don't have to run emerge --ask --update --deep --newuse @world right now. The handbook even suggest it's an optional step if you don't switch to systemd. I would suggest to follow Buffoon's tip and run that after you install Gentoo, not from chrooted environment.

Another tip that may sound funny, is that you may want to invest in pressurized air. Laptops have big tendency to collect dust inside that make them heat very fast. If you open your laptop case and get the dust off with pressurized air, there is a good chance that your compilation will run okay. As Buffoon suggested, it may be overheating issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum