Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing gentoo with systemd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
justin8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:19 am    Post subject: Installing gentoo with systemd Reply with quote

I'm trying to get my gentoo install to boot with systemd enabled, I've been using systemd on Arch and Fedora for a few years at this point and I followed the handbook and the systemd page on the wiki, but I currently have 2 problems:

1. When it attempts to remount root as rw it doesn't issue a `-o remount` and instead calls the root.mount unit which then complains that the device is already in use and that it is already mounted on /
2. It reports dependency failed for emergency shell and won't give me a password prompt and a shell as I would have expected

I enabled the debug-shell service to get a shell at boot time, but would obviously not want to leave it on, and would prefer the emergency shell worked correctly. I've also stuck with a single / partition on ext4 currently for simplicity as I'm just playing around in a VM before I intend on installing it on my laptop to use full time.

I could find some seemingly outdated information from 2010-2013 about enabling various openrc services to make sure root remounts correctly, and the equivalent service on the systemd wiki page apparently doesn't exist anyway (remount-rootfs.service).

Any help would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1369
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On ArchLinux and Debian I boot the Linux kernel with the rw parameter. They both use Systemd. Do you explicitly tell to your Linux kernel to boot with rw parameter?
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justin8
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had been using ro boot on Arch for almost a year now without issues so hadn't really considered changing that stupidly :)

I just tried changing it to rw in /etc/grub.d/10-linux and rebuilding the config in /boot. (I rebuilt the initramfs with genkernel just in case as well) and somehow it is still mounting as ro and having the same error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum