Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
graphic card blobs / Gnome3 [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
djwave28
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2016
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 5:46 am    Post subject: graphic card blobs / Gnome3 [Solved] Reply with quote

Hello,

I am following the systemd/Gnome from scratch after a few failed attempts and a lot of reading up. I see in the manual that I will need to load the proprietary binary blobs in the kernel.
The graphic part was my last disaster, so I am a bit cautious. What are these blob? .. Are those the ones in /lib/firmware/radeon ? (I have a CAYMAN HD 6970)

Do I need to change/add any use flags like "gnome" or other to make Gnome3 work?

Thanks from your U-boat captain .. ;-)
_________________
Go with the flow like a dead fish!

CPU: i7-2600K
GPU: Radeon HD 6970
Mon: HDTV 1440x900 (Philips 19PFL5422D/27)


Last edited by djwave28 on Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may check out the gentoo wiki regarding this topic

i also think amd, aka ati, went full open source with their drivers. I may be wrong ...

it also depends if you have two or one gpu installed (intel + amd for example)

Quote:
The graphic part was my last disaster, so I am a bit cautious. What are these blob? .. Are those the ones in /lib/firmware/radeon ? (I have a CAYMAN HD 6970)


sounds plausible

without binary blob no gpu works, even the open source ones needs those
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djwave28
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2016
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am working through the Wiki

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd/Installing_Gnome3_from_scratch

I found more info in the Wiki that confirms the USE flags on another wiki page

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GNOME/Guide

I see that X is in there .. Gonna give it a try. If I get back to the graphics problem that will be another topic for now.
There is a lot of info on the wiki. Too bad it is somewhat scattered around at times. A bit confusing for beginners that seek confirmation.
Thanks ..
_________________
Go with the flow like a dead fish!

CPU: i7-2600K
GPU: Radeon HD 6970
Mon: HDTV 1440x900 (Philips 19PFL5422D/27)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djwave28
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2016
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eventually got past this. The blobs for the driver is installed. in the kernel.
Follow the wiki ..
_________________
Go with the flow like a dead fish!

CPU: i7-2600K
GPU: Radeon HD 6970
Mon: HDTV 1440x900 (Philips 19PFL5422D/27)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum