Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Wireless problems, fresh install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
teppergeg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:04 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Wireless problems, fresh install Reply with quote

I flew through the install guide and booted, when, not entirely to my surprise, I learned I had done something wrong. I still don't know what.

ifconfig only lists "lo". My wireless is named wlo1.

In iwconfig, wlo1 is listed, but it is claimed that there are "no wireless extensions" on the device.


#lspci | grep ire
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 3165 (rev 81)

Do I need to do anything special, aside from compiling kernel with iwlwifi, to get the above controller to work?


/sys/class/net/wlo1/device/driver/module/drivers has pci:iwlwifi in it, but I'm unsure whether this means it's actually being used.
Edit: I'm assuming it's being used because:
#lspci -v
...
Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
Kernel modules: iwlwifi

dmesg shows, regarding wireless:

Intel(R) Wireless WiFi driver for Linux
Copyright(c) 2003- 2015 Intel Corporation
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Unsupported splx structure (it does this on arch, too, and the net works fine, but it might (?) be relevant)
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: loaded firmware version 25.30.13.0 op_mode iwlmvm
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Detected Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless AC 3165, Rev=0x210
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-mvm-rs'
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0 wlo1: renamed from wlan0


The only things I've really changed network-wise in make menuconfig are these, as ordered by the wiki:

<M> Intel Wireless WiFi Next Gen AGN - Wireless-N/Advanced-N/Ultimate-N (iwlwifi)
<M> Intel Wireless WiFi DVM Firmware support
<M> Intel Wireless WiFi MVM Firmware support


I really don't know what to do... Any help? I can post funny command outputs, etc, as needed.

Edit: Sorry about the mess. This post is disgusting, but I'm typing these logs in by hand because obviously if I don't have any internet I can't post from the same computer and therefore can't copy paste.


Last edited by teppergeg on Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:22 am    Post subject: Re: Wireless problems, fresh install Reply with quote

teppergeg wrote:
ifconfig only lists "lo". My wireless is named wlo1.

teppergeg ... 'ifconfig' shows active interfaces, 'ifconfig -a' will show available/all interfaces.

teppergeg wrote:
In iwconfig, wlo1 is listed, but it is claimed that there are "no wireless extensions" on the device.

iwconfig (and other commands from net-wireless/wireless-tools) uses the depreciated WEXT (wireless extentions), to support these you need to enable CONFIG_CFG80211_WEXT (the nl80211 compatibility layer) ... alternately use tools (such as net-wireless/iw) that use nl80211 rather than wext.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teppergeg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I'll rephrase the real question of the initial post:

The problem isn't that the wireless interface isn't showing up in ifconfig and iwconfig. I don't really care whether they're listed there or not.
The problem is that it doesn't work at all.

Edit:
The results of an attempt at using wpa_supplicant to connect to wifi:

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
wlo1: SME: Trying to authenticate with [redacted]
wlo1: Trying to associate with [redacted]
wlo1: Associated with [redacted]
wlo1: WPA: Key negotiation completed with [redacted]
wlo1: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to [redacted] completed. [id=0 id_str=]

I don't see any flashing red lights here but no dice. There's no connection.

"connect: Network is unreachable"


This is with the same wpa conf I use on the liveCD.


Edit 2:

I suppose it's worth mentioning that at least now it lists under ifconfig.

wlo1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 [redacted] prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether [redacted] txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 65 bytes 4028 (3.9 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 21 bytes 2633 (2.5 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


>receive 3.9 kib
>transmit 2.5 kib

Is ifconfig telling me it's working? It's definitely not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teppergeg wrote:
Code:
wlo1: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to [redacted] completed. [id=0 id_str=]

teppergeg ... that is a 'wpa_state=COMPLETED', which is a successful connection to the AP.

teppergeg wrote:
I don't see any flashing red lights here but no dice. There's no connection.

I don't see any "flashing red lights" either, but that's irrelevant. From the above I can ascertain you are connected to the AP.

teppergeg wrote:
"connect: Network is unreachable"

You haven't provided any information about what it is you're doing ... but 'network unreachable' would seem a case of your not having an ip assigned.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teppergeg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ack. I see. I had thought you could just use wpa_supplicant to get a connection up and running, since that was all I had needed to use on the liveCD, so I hadn't done anything with rc. After configuring IP and "/etc/init.d/net.wlo1 start"-ing I'm up and running.

Thanks for the hint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum