Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot boot after moving /home/
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nelsonwcf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 6:58 pm    Post subject: Cannot boot after moving /home/ Reply with quote

Hi,

In my BananaPi, I moved /home to another partition and now when I boot I get a "This is (none).". I've put the home back in the main SD card and it started working again. Am I missing something so it seems that the problem happens by mounting the home directory in fstab. Am I missing something?

Thank you,
Nelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelsonwcf,

/home is not needed until a normal user logs in. Root has /root for home.

If fstab was in a mess, the mount would fail but everything else should still work.
Are you sure it was just /home that got moved?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelsonwcf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
nelsonwcf,

/home is not needed until a normal user logs in. Root has /root for home.

If fstab was in a mess, the mount would fail but everything else should still work.
Are you sure it was just /home that got moved?


Exactly, that is why I came here. It should still boot even if I messed it up. Just moved home to home.old and couldn't boot it anymore.
Any way for me to make the boot process visible in the monitor?

UPDATE: More details:

My current fstab:

/dev/mmcblk0p1 /boot /vfat noauto,noatime,discard 1 2
/dev/mmcblk0p2 none swap sw,discard 0 0
/dev/mmcblk0p3 / ext4 noatime,discard 0 1
/dev/sda1 /media ext4 defaults 0 2
/dev/sda2 /home ext4 defaults 0 2

First I moved home.old to home. Still didn't boot.
Then I commented /dev/sda2 line with #. Still didn't boot.
The I commented /dev/sda1 line with #. This time it booted.

Absolutely weird. I have no idea what is happening.


Last edited by nelsonwcf on Sat May 07, 2016 7:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelsonwcf,

You can try interactive boot mode to identify which service goes wrong.
/etc/rc.conf:

# Set rc_interactive to "YES" and you'll be able to press the I key during
# boot so you can choose to start specific services. Set to "NO" to disable
# this feature. This feature is automatically disabled if rc_parallel is
# set to YES.
#rc_interactive="YES"

The way thats written, you would expect that ="YES" is the default ... but its not.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7079

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remind me a trouble i have, new openrc stupidly return an error if a mount point is not set as nofail and fail to mount now.
And because when openrc return an error, all other services that depend on the service fail to start as they detect their parent service error.

So while you should have no trouble without any /home, if openrc detect failure to mount /home, it might report it to child services and they will not start.

You could try that:
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/localmount
...
# Ignore errors when mounting local file systems.
# This should be left alone unless you know what you are doing. If it is
# set to yes, not only will we allow mount failures, but we will ignore
# syntax errors in fstab.
ignore_mount_errors="YES"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelsonwcf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 11:37 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Cannot boot after moving /home/ Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
Remind me a trouble i have, new openrc stupidly return an error if a mount point is not set as nofail and fail to mount now.
And because when openrc return an error, all other services that depend on the service fail to start as they detect their parent service error.

So while you should have no trouble without any /home, if openrc detect failure to mount /home, it might report it to child services and they will not start.

You could try that:
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/localmount
...
# Ignore errors when mounting local file systems.
# This should be left alone unless you know what you are doing. If it is
# set to yes, not only will we allow mount failures, but we will ignore
# syntax errors in fstab.
ignore_mount_errors="YES"


Hit on the mark, krinn. It happened that after I resized the partition on sda the sda1 got corrupted. When I tried to mount the corrupted filesystem, even if it is in a relatively meaningless folder, it stopped the booting process. Fixed the partition and now all set again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn,

Well caught ... I remember reading about that on the -dev list now and decided to mask >=openrc-0.18
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum