Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot use LAN with the install CD...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 1:17 am    Post subject: Cannot use LAN with the install CD... Reply with quote

I have a brand-new Dell Latitude with an Intel I218-LM NIC in it. I am trying to install Gentoo onto it using the latest CD, but I only have 'lo' when issuing 'ifconfig -a'. I see it with 'lspci', but I cannot use it. Help?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2576

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use the right tool for the right job. Probably.

Although, you already have a working Gentoo. Why not simply "restore" one of your backups to the laptop and go from there?
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know that System Rescue CD is Gentoo-based, but will any of the steps differ? Currently I can do the entire install from memory, using official Gentoo media. If there are no major differences, I have System Rescue CD laying around here somewhere.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No difference whatsoever, I believe it even has /mnt/gentoo created for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 731
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 1:38 am    Post subject: It does have /mnt/gentoo Reply with quote

It always tickles me when I need to use it to fix a busted rhel or centos box by mounting its root into /mnt/gentoo :D

In a somewhat related vein, did anyone ever get the "rescue mode" on rhel7/centos7 to do anything useful? :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum