Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nVidia Optimus fail...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 7:35 pm    Post subject: nVidia Optimus fail... Reply with quote

I am at a major roadblock right now. I have a brand-new Dell Latitude E5440 which has an Intel and an nVidia card in it. I cannot get X/SDDM to start. I can get it to a black screen with a white cursor. I have read and tried the recommendations on the wiki. Nothing is working. I cannot disable the Intel card in the BIOS. Help! This was due out the door today and I cannot get into the system outside of the shell. How can I make this work? Also, I do NOT want to use nouveau.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed in the SDDM log that it is receiving the wrong opcode. It then says there is an unknown session type. What do I do? I have to get this thing working NOW. I cannot believe how difficult this Optimus crap makes things. I've blown a day on this and nothing is working, I am in dire need of help ASAP! I have people breathing down my back for this piece of junk.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not set up the laptop for intel video *first* and sort out your optimus settings later? So you can get in at least?

Maybe this thread helps.

It seems you just need to configure your system to use the nvidia drivers alone, no need to shut off the intel card. Which wouldn't work on a muxless system anyway IIRC.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't say I'm an NVIDIA fan, and especially not of NVIDIA Optimus; too much fiddling around. Anyway, in case it is of help with your Dell laptop, here is what I did to be able to use only the NVIDIA driver or only the Intel driver on my Clevo laptop with Optimus: Switching between Intel and NVIDIA graphics processors on a laptop with NVIDIA Optimus hardware running Gentoo Linux. (I don't want to use Bumblebee.)
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yama, you are correct. This laptop does not have the BIOS option to disable it. My gaming Latitude DOES have the option, but it run Windows 7 Pro and works either way, so it doesn't matter. I was hoping this one had the option, but it doesn't.

I will read the article you linked from your Wordpress site. It looks kind of interesting and would give the end-user the ability to switch to whichever GPU he wants based on his needs. Thanks, and I will report back with success or failure.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realized something when working with your scripts. The directory for SDDM scripts was different. I had the correct setup, but the SDDm directory is /usr/share/sddm/scripts. It works! I did make a script based on yours to swap GPUs and I am now at a desktop using the Intel card. AWESOME!
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum