Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Could not find the root block device in UUID=........
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank's so much NeddySeagon...i'm really amazed of you... take your time :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

Your posts on bpaste have gone. They all give 404 errors.
I wanted to check a few things, but I can do that if it doesn't work.

Here's what I have so far. The .config for linux-4.6.4. That's a newer kernel version than you have.
Either emerge =gentoo-sources-4.6.4 and put the .config in there before you build the kernel or put it into your kernel and run
Code:
make oldconfig
make clean
before you build/install the kernel.

Heres some notes explaining what I did.
Most of the things I turned off are for things you don't have. That saves compile time and makes for a leaner meaner kernel.

This kernel does not support or require an initrd. On the plus side, its simpler, there is less scope for a problem in the initrd preventing booting.
On the down side, there is no shell for diagnostics if the boot fails

In grub.cfg, the boot entry for this kernel should not have an initrd lime.
As there is no initrd, root=UUID= will not work. The entry must be root=/dev/... whatever your root is.

What is not expected to work.
a) Wifi ... you have broadcom wifi, support is modular but incomplete.
b) Mounting VFAT. Support is there but with the default USA NLS support. If you need another NLS for your native language, you will need to fix that.

What is expected to work.
Webcam, wired networking, framebuffer console. You should see a Tux for each core.

There appears to be different versions of your E11. Some with Celeron CPUs Some with Atoms, so the kernel is set for Generic AMD64.
You may have some cores missing but thats an easy fix later.

Look at the .config if you want but don't change it for your first attempt.

If it fails, post your lspci, lsusb and grub.cfg.
A photo of the panic screen would help too.

Things to look out for. Unknown-block(x,y)
A list of block devices the kernel can see.

Good luck.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much NeddySaegon. i'll try soon the new .config.

here the work pastebin code:

parted -l | wgetpaste -t http://bpaste.net/show/6656dae5f1ee
blkid | wgetpaste -t http://bpaste.net/show/3ed85f35b821
lspci -k | wgetpaste -t http://bpaste.net/show/07e12ef52646

wgetpaste -t /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.cfg http://bpaste.net/show/c7ce01039f67
wgetpaste -t /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config http://bpaste.net/show/f7502a60f29e

Thanks

edit:
lsusb | wgetpaste http://bpaste.net/show/4f034998586a


Last edited by beetterfly on Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

I need the error messages too. If you can put a photo onto a free image hosting site, so much the better.
With rootwait, there may be no error message as it will waif forever if the root fs does not appear.

The kernel .config you posted is not the one I made.
It has options set to =y that I know were off.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes...i'm trying right now to compile...but i have a problem on the
Code:
make oldconfig

it's get stuk on
Quote:
"Large Receive Offload (ipv4/tcp) (INET_LRO) [Y/n/m/?] (NEW)"

it's doesn't accept anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

Press the 'n' key.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok...default answers even to the other questions?

how i can post a screenshoot?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

You could use a mobile phone camera or a digital camera.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry NeddySeagoon i did a stupid question and i wasn't clear. i mean there isn't the attached botton...how i can share the the photos? there are a site where it gives to me a link?
like wgetpaste?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

https://postimage.org/ is free and you can post and retrieve images without an account.
Post your image there and post a link to it here.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks NeddySeagon
here the screeshoo at the boot. i set the rootwait:
https://s32.postimg.org/7makvpzzp/IMG_6534.jpg

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

The last three lines show that /dev/mmcblk0p2 did not appear, even after you waited for 5 minutes.
Can you post another image without the rootwait please?

Instead of waiting forever, it will fail to mount root and generate a panic message.
The panic message may be useful.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no rootwait screenshoot
https://s32.postimg.org/ovdvdd8it/norootwait.jpg
thanks so much NeddySeagoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

From your image, we have learned that you have an Acer One ES1-111M/R2
This page provides details of the hardware.

The internal HDD is pci:8086-0f50-1025-0933 » 08-05-01 detected sd host controller sdhci_pci Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series eMMC 4.5 Controller Acer Incorporated [ALI]
so it needs the sdhci_pci kernel module.

The kernel help says
Code:
  │ CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI_PCI:                                                                               │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ This selects the PCI Secure Digital Host Controller Interface.                                      │ 
  │ Most controllers found today are PCI devices.                                                       │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ If you have a controller with this interface, say Y or M here.                                      │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ If unsure, say N.                                                                                   │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ Symbol: MMC_SDHCI_PCI [=n]                                                                          │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                                                    │ 
  │ Prompt: SDHCI support on PCI bus                                                                    │ 
  │   Location:                                                                                         │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                               │ 
  │       -> MMC/SD/SDIO card support (MMC [=y])                                                        │ 
  │         -> Secure Digital Host Controller Interface support (MMC_SDHCI [=y])                        │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/mmc/host/Kconfig:72                                                            │ 
  │   Depends on: MMC [=y] && MMC_SDHCI [=y] && PCI [=y]


Set that option to <*> and try again.

You also appear to need shpchp which is also off it the kernel config I sent.
Set that to <*> too.
Code:
  │ CONFIG_HOTPLUG_PCI_SHPC:                                                                            │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ Say Y here if you have a motherboard with a SHPC PCI Hotplug                                        │ 
  │ controller.                                                                                         │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ To compile this driver as a module, choose M here: the                                              │ 
  │ module will be called shpchp.                                                                       │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ When in doubt, say N.                                                                               │ 
  │                                                                                                     │ 
  │ Symbol: HOTPLUG_PCI_SHPC [=y]                                                                       │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                                                    │ 
  │ Prompt: SHPC PCI Hotplug driver                                                                     │ 
  │   Location:                                                                                         │ 
  │     -> Bus options (PCI etc.)                                                                       │ 
  │       -> Support for PCI Hotplug (HOTPLUG_PCI [=y])                                                 │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/pci/hotplug/Kconfig:105                                                        │ 
  │   Depends on: HOTPLUG_PCI [=y]

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon, it still doesn't work.
this is the screenshoot with rootwait:https://s31.postimg.org/nnf5w13cb/rootwait.jpg

this without rootwait:
https://s31.postimg.org/rewyjhg97/NO_rootwait.jpg

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

That's not my kernel .config. My kernel cannot do the
Code:
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays
as the raid code is configured out.

There is a kernel binary and its .config on my server.
Put the binary into /boot, tell grub about it and reboot to test.

-- edit --
Going back to the first screenshots, the raid autodetect message is there too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry so much NeddySeagoon i did a mistake. i complied but i didn't copy the vmlinuz in the boot director.
I tried with your kernel and now look like recognize the disk, It get stack on Bluetooth.
i take a sceenshoot: https://s32.postimg.org/ggsq8bexx/IMG_6545.jpg


EDIT: i compiled again with ath3k driver set on according to the this link http://hw.rosalinux.ru/index.php?probe=f1e339f508
but still stop on Bluetooth

Thanks so much NeddySeagoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

It says waiting for the root device but it never mounts root. I suspect that /dev/mmcblk0p2 never appears.
Instead of rootwait, which waits forever, try rootdelay=10. That will wait 10 seconds, then continue anyway.

As rootwait is still waiting, we did not get the error message.

You are right about bluetooth, that's not working but I don't think that's the issue right now.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon with rootdelay i get the kernel panic.

https://s31.postimg.org/alw0mz0d7/IMG_6549.jpg

thanks again NeddySeagon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

That's your 4.4.6 kernel.

Care to try mine?
That one will say 4.6.4 when it panics :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry NeddySeagoon :)

https://s32.postimg.org/svk05s2mt/IMG_6553.jpg

kernel 4.6.4 screeshoot:
https://s32.postimg.org/f942y6a2d/IMG_6551.jpg

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

:) You have to keep your sense of humour :)

That was still a useful test. It shows that you copied my .config correctly and got the same results as me.
It's not helped fix it ... at least, not much.

Lets try another approach.
In your chroot,
Code:
emerge dmidecode

Run dmidecode and put the output on a pastebin.

It reads a lot of information from your BIOS about your system.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeedSeagoon, i have a lot of sense of humor and tons of patience like you...
I should throw away this laptop :)

In the truth, only in this post, i learned a lot of stuff, thanks to you and to the gentoo difficult.

Btw here you are the dmidecode:
http://pastebin.com/TkGmC7Qw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beetterfly,

During all this testing we have been doing, has the external SD card slot been empty?
I've just seen a case where there there was a device with two mmcblk devices and the boot loader saw them one way round and the kernel the other.

If that were happening to you your root would be on /dev/mmcblk1p2. I know it sounds odd but its worth a try.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beetterfly
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon, yes the external SD card slot was empty.
This strange laptop show looks like got 4 disks:
-Disk /dev/mmcblk0rpmb: 4194kB
-Disk /dev/mmcblk0boot0: 4194kB
-Disk /dev/mmcblk0boot1: 4194kB
-Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 31.3GB

parted -l | wgetpaste -t: http://bpaste.net/show/d3aacf6b80fe

sda is the live Sysrescuecd usb.

So you suggest to put the root partition on an another disk? but they there are not too small?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum