Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Switch system but keep RAID
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 172
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 2:55 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Switch system but keep RAID Reply with quote

Hey folks,

I just can't find an answer to my question so I thought I ask it right here (or I'm just too dump to use google properly).
Right now I'm running Gentoo with a software RAID5 for my data. Is it possible to take the RAID5 hdds an plug them in another Linux box? Or does my data get wiped when I setup a RAID5 on the new system?

Thanks for any info on this!

Greetings
robak
_________________
run this in your gentoo-bash:
"grep -R -i -A2 -B2 'on fire' /usr/src/linux/*"


Last edited by robak on Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2970
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are using mdadm, with mdadm metadata (not intel matrix storage raid or other alien formats), there is no problem whatsoever. As long as the disks are present and the linux system supports RAID and has mdadm installed, it will work.

Quote:
Or does my data get wiped when I setup a RAID5 on the new system?


It does get wiped when you mdadm --create. Same way filesystems get wiped when you mkfs.

A RAID is created only once, and then mdadm --assembled whenever you wish to access it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 172
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks frostschutz!
So my steps will be

Install new system
Plug the RAID hdds in
Reassemble RAID with mdadm --assemble or mdadm --assemble --scan -v
Mount md0

Right?
_________________
run this in your gentoo-bash:
"grep -R -i -A2 -B2 'on fire' /usr/src/linux/*"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2970
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.

Well, you'll have to create a mdadm.conf at some point I guess. You could copy your old one over if that worked before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 172
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Thanks a lot !
_________________
run this in your gentoo-bash:
"grep -R -i -A2 -B2 'on fire' /usr/src/linux/*"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum