Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon no DRI?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody? I enabled debug in eudev and still get no firmware errors. I believe my firmware is good. I installed the 'linux-firmware' package and despite not using an initramfs, also included the recommended firmware blobs for my chipset into the kernel itself. I do not believe this is a firmware issue. In fact the ONLY error I am getting from boot is the SDDM segfault. The thing is, now that I have radeon as a module and not built into my kernel, I do not see it with lsmod, even after modprobing it, which also gives no errors. I truly believe it is broken due to this, but have not had issues with anything EXCEPT Radeon cards, so I am hesitant to jump onboard that boat right away.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43051
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

That modprobe did not report any errors is encouraging.
did you look in dmesg after the modprobe?
It's not an error to modprobe something already installed.

That radeon is not listed in lsmod suggests two things,
a) it loaded, looked around and found nothing to do, so it unloaded again.
b) its already built into the kernel.

If you have a module both built in and as a loadable module, there are several causes.
You messed up the kernel install, so you have a set of modules that do not match the kernel (easy done)
Time took a step back on your system, so the kernel make step did the wrong thing.

If you have /proc/config.gz, thats the .config for the running kernel, what does it say about radeon?
If not, look at the kernel build time in
Code:
uname -a
is it what you expect?

-- edit --

Firmware loading is done by the kernel. Even if all your firmware is loaded as a result of kernel modules loading, you still need firmware loading support it the kernel.
udev dropped userspace firmware loading a long time ago, with much gnashing of teeth from users left with no fimware loader at all.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed it. I am now openly stating that something is very wrong with the radeon module in the kernel. I disabled DRM, the radeon module, and AMD AGPGART, rebuilt the kernel, rebooted, emerged ati-drivers, and all is golden. From now on this will be my approach for ATI/AMD systems. After all, I want full hardware acceleration anyway, so why not use the official driver?

As to your last response, Neddy, I have the required firmware built into the kernel. I did not build it as a module and a built-in. I tried it as a module, and then separately as built-in. Neither worked, no errors were ever logged, and even as a module it would not load. I checked dmesg, /var/log/messages, and /var/log/X.org.log for messages. From a logging standpoint, everything was fine. It just didn't work. Using the official driver appears to have fixed everything. I Will monitor it for a day or two and report back, but for me the fix was using the official driver. The official driver did require the following to be done.

  • Disable the kernel radeon driver completely
  • Disable DRM in the kernel
  • Disable AMD AGPGART in the kernel

Now it is good.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6945
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
After all, I want full hardware acceleration anyway, so why not use the official driver?

Because it is effectively abandoned. fglrx will not be updated anymore to receive latest X server or kernel support. amdgpu is the way forward but I can't say much about it at this point. Maybe when AMD Zen hits the market.

radeon gives you full hardware acceleration as well.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, but it works for my card. The radeon driver was not working nor has it ever seemed to work. However, I upgraded today and have a new issue. SDDM doesn't even come up and I get a shell login. The log says it cannot find the module "ati". The module is "fglrx". I do not have an X configuration file and I have VIDEO_CARDS set to "fglrx". Why is it doing this?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to create a configuration file snippet, for example
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-fglrx.conf:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "fglrx card"
    Driver "fglrx"
EndSection


Alternatively you can use the aticonfig tool to generate an xorg.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6945
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a wiki for that as well, btw: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Fglrx#Configuration
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I figured that out. I just made the section for the driver and all is good again. Now I get to install Windows 7 into a virtualbox and the laptop is golden. Thanks to everybody who helped!
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New problem. I have no shell. If I use CTRL+ALT+F1 I get a blank screen. How can I fix that?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3046
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
New problem. I have no shell. If I use CTRL+ALT+F1 I get a blank screen. How can I fix that?


You should start a new thread. You can include a link to this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5732

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
New problem. I have no shell. If I use CTRL+ALT+F1 I get a blank screen. How can I fix that?

fglrx does not have framebuffer/VT support, so you can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1347
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That explains that. I am going to backup my kernel configuration, make.conf, and a few other settings, zero the disk, and try again with the radeon driver, from scratch. After the thousandth rebuild I do not have faith that there isn't something left over on the system giving me grief.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum