Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to access Apache over LAN
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:08 pm    Post subject: Unable to access Apache over LAN Reply with quote

I have a headless install which I access from my MacBook via SSH. I have successfully installed Apache - confirmed by navigating to http://127.0.0.1/ in the Links browser.

However I do not seem to be able to access this from the web browser on my MacBook when I try to navigate to http://192.168.0.6 (the LAN IP for the CentOS computer). I get an error message saying that Safari cannot connect to the server.

In my httpd.conf file, Listen is set to 80.

What am I doing wrong? Or is there another way that I should be trying to access this other than the LAN IP?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does CentOS come with firewall enabled by default?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe it does - by i've checked and port 80 is open.

Code:
[root@centos-rpi3 ~]# nmap 192.168.0.6

Starting Nmap 6.40 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2016-09-03 19:15 UTC
Nmap scan report for 192.168.0.6
Host is up (0.00012s latency).
Not shown: 997 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE
22/tcp   open  ssh
80/tcp   open  http
3306/tcp open  mysql

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 0.71 seconds

_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verted,

Hey Verted, long time no see. Welcome back to Gentoo.

Apache normally listens on 127.0.0.1, which is safe, if not very useful.

You need to set ServerName in httpd.conf as, say
Code:
ServerName bloodnoc.org
That's a real one, you can browse that if you wish, it will only say "It works!"
I think the default is localhost.

Once you have done that and restarted apache, it may well refuse to start.
Whatever you choose for server name, must resolve to the external IP address of the apache server, in your case' 192.168.0.6
There are several ways to do that. Your DNS can provide the name/IP lookup, in which case you will be able to browse to http://name from all over your LAN.
The alternative is with an entry in /etc/hosts on the server. That will keep apache happy.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Neddy - Very long time no see, hope you're keeping well.

Slowly getting back into Linux, although not Gentoo(yet) as I couldn't get it to work on my Raspberry Pi 3; it's bad how little I remember!

I've tried the steps below but it hasn't seemed to resolve the issue:
httpd.conf
Code:

#
# ServerName gives the name and port that the server uses to identify itself.
# This can often be determined automatically, but we recommend you specify
# it explicitly to prevent problems during startup.
#
# If your host doesn't have a registered DNS name, enter its IP address here.
#
ServerName rpi3:80


/etc/hosts
Code:

127.0.0.1   localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
::1         localhost localhost.localdomain localhost6 localhost6.localdomain6
192.168.0.6 rpi3


Does the above look okay to you?

Is there really no way that I can just use the LAN IP? Reason being that that IP is randomly assigned to the RPi3 - it's possible that if I were to restart the router it could be assigned a different number?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I was able to resolve this via the following:

Code:
# firewall-cmd --add-service=http


And it does allow me to use the LAN IP rather than a Host Name.
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verted,

You keep getting new IPs on the Pi because it gets a randomly assigned MAC address every power up.

Either set a MAC address statically, on Gentoo its
/etc/conf.d/net:
# The Pi has no permanently assigned mac address
# random mac addresses work but with DHCP
# the server wants to change the IP address if the lease
# expired while the Pi was off.
# The Pi asks for its old IP but with a new mac address
# DHCP sends a NAK, so fix the mac address here

mac_eth0="ea:c0:21:bd:90:0b"


or set a static IP address on the Pi, outside of the IP address range used by your DHCP server.

Gentoo works fine on the Pi 3 in 32 bit mode.
Its more of a challenge in 64 bit mode.

I'm good thank you. I'm still learning new things about Gentoo too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Roy. Once I start to get the hang of things again I will get Gentoo installed; I also intend to give Arch-Linux a try.
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43546
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Unsupported Software.

I've just realised its not Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14056

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linux netfilter rules can be per interface. Running nmap on the machine to be mapped and pointing back to that machine can tell you what services exist, but success there does not mean that the services are offered to the outside world, only that they are offered to processes on the same machine. This seems to be what happened to you, as evidenced by your success after you told your firewall manager to allow the connection. Once nmap confirms that the service exists at all, the next step would have been to run nmap from the machine where the browser would be run, so that nmap's probes are treated the same way the browser's connection request would be treated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 480
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all.

~10 years on and I still do find the Gentoo to be the most knowledgeable and helpful; i've posted this on three other forums with no success.
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum