Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Still no audio, why?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:45 pm    Post subject: Still no audio, why? Reply with quote

Alright, I give up on this. I have a Toshiba L775D-S7228 model laptop. It is an AMD-based system and I cannot get the sound to work. It is supposed to have an FCH/Azalia soundcard in it, but it isn't showing up in KDE. I have the HDA Intel driver built into the kernel, but no dice. What do I have to do to make sound work on an AMD system? Everything in the lspci output shows "AMD" on it, and that's half the problem. I imagine it is on some proprietary bus architecture AMD uses and it may require another driver for said bus to work. Everything else is good though, even wireless and now the AMD Radeon in the system. Only sound remains.

Toshiba offers a Realtek driver for Windows and I have the Realtek driver selected in my kernel, as well as the HDMI/Displayport driver (it has an HDMI port). Still, no sound. What should I do?

*EDIT*

I do want to add that "aplay -l" shows two cards. The first is an HDMI card and the second is an ALC card, possibly the real soundcard. How can I swap them to test?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1373
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To swap the two sound cards, you have to pass the parameter snd-hda-intel.index=1,0 to the Linux kernel at boot time.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did the trick! I now have sound. Not sure why an HDMI port took precedence over an actual soundcard, but that was indeed the issue. Thanks!
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1373
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may be the way Alsa detect the sound cards. The fact that the integrated sound card is 1 by default and Hdmi is 0 do not make any of them not working. It's the sound programs who use the 0 sound card by default like Alsamixer. You can set Alsamixer to open with mixer 1 like this
Code:
alsamixer -c 1

You have the possibility to set sound card 1 as default per application and/or using /etc/asound.conf and/or ~/.asoundrc. Swap the sound card using a kernel parameter do the trick at the kernel level. For those who compile Linux sound support as modules, you can swap two sound card like this too
Code:
echo 'options snd-hda-intel index=1,0' > /etc/modprobe.d/snd-hda-intel.conf

_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum