Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
graphic cards and noob
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 454
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:40 pm    Post subject: graphic cards and noob Reply with quote

Hello Gentoo people, eternal noob here,

So I got gigabyte amd radeon hd 5450 1gb ddr3 graphic card.
lspci says card has only 265mb of ram

Than I got sapphire amd radeon r5 230 2gb ddr3 card
lspci says card has only 265mb of ram

So, how can I 'relese' remaining ram?
Is this some kernel thing, or some settings,
OR i do not know my way when it comes to graphics (which is totally true)

Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked at my card and see
lspci -vvv wrote:
Code:

        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 12
        Region 0: Memory at fb800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
        Region 2: Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Region 4: I/O ports at ff00 [size=64]


This is actually the page window and not the full RAM - used for 32-bit address space. It's accessing your video ram through this window.

You'll need to look at your X video driver output to determine the real RAM quantity:

Xorg.0.log wrote:
Code:

[    35.547] (II) fglrx(0): VESA VBE OEM Product: JUNIPER
[    35.547] (II) fglrx(0): VESA VBE OEM Product Rev: 01.00
[    35.547] (II) fglrx(0): AMD Video BIOS revision 9 or later detected
[    35.547] (--) fglrx(0): Video RAM: 1048576 kByte, Type: GDDR5
[    35.547] (II) fglrx(0): PCIE card detected
[    35.547] (--) fglrx(0): Using per-process page tables (PPPT) as GART.

_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
while true
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 454
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey eccerr0r, hello

so I could not find ram in /var/log/Xorg.0.log (greped several keywords, not found):
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/aHfRpzhdphfwt73OPdjU/


I have VirtualBox installed, and there is no option greater than 265mb for virtual machines.
Also, on playonlinux I tried installing skyrim (min 512mb required) but failed with message i have insufficient memory...

I found this, but those are only for couple of gnu distros, could these drivers be of use to me?
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/linux

Thank you
_________________
Kind regards, Goran Mitic

alive
while true
kick ass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah it looks like it found your memory: 2GB
Xorg.0.olog wrote:
Code:
[   227.778] (II) RADEON(0): mem size init: gart size :3fdde000 vram size: s:80000000 visible:7f3a2000

Code:
[   227.778] (II) RADEON(0): VRAM usage limit set to 1868637K

though it isn't letting you use all of it (about 89% of it). Might be some housekeeping data it's keeping separate.

I don't know about how passthrough works on VMMs and how it shares memory between processes, so you may have to request this information in a different thread (and mention you're trying in a VMM).

If you want to use the closed source driver from amd, you can emerge ati-drivers - this should set up everything for you though you may still need to download it separately (portage will tell you to do so.) I'm using the closed source drivers and World of Warcrack seems to work fine on it. I do not use a VM but hope that wine will be enough of a shield in userspace to not muck more than what it needs to.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum