Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Gentoo green screen after reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
maxe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:00 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Gentoo green screen after reboot Reply with quote

Hello all!
So i finally started my adventure with gentoo after months of playing around with it in a virtuel machine.
After the final reboot, my system booted up but then this green screen appears:
[IMG]http://www2.pic-upload.de/thumb/32058114/WP_20161105_17_34_29_Pro.jpg[/IMG]
I read in one thread that this could be related with the video card configuration but i dont know where to start searching for this.
I also havent done anything with the video card, no drivers installed or so.

Thought about recompiling the kernel but iam not sure how i do that properly.
This is how i would go on:
Booting from USB-Stick with gentoo rescue iso
Setting up wifi again
Mounting all the partitions as described in the gentoo handbook Mounting
Manual kernel configuration and not using genkernel all
Trying my luck again ..

Here is a wgetpaste of my kernel configuration:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/BN96RSgDd3Yvy2qL3ajc/

If you need any more information just ask, i hope i can deliver them .. :)

Greetings, max


Last edited by maxe on Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1520
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe see this topic?
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxe,

Welcome to Gentoo.

You have several kernel framebuffer drivers fighting over your video hardware. None of them can win.

In this list
Code:
#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS=m
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ARC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
CONFIG_FB_VGA16=m
# CONFIG_FB_UVESA is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y
# CONFIG_FB_N411 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_OPENCORES is not set
# CONFIG_FB_S1D13XXX is not set
CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA=m
CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA_I2C=y
# CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_RIVA=m
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA_I2C is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_FB_RIVA_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_I740 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_LE80578 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=m
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_FB_ATY128=m
CONFIG_FB_ATY128_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY=m
CONFIG_FB_ATY_CT=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_GENERIC_LCD=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_GX=y
CONFIG_FB_ATY_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_S3 is not set
CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE=m
CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE_ACCEL=y
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VT8623 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ARK is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM3 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CARMINE is not set
CONFIG_FB_SM501=m
# CONFIG_FB_SMSCUFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_UDL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IBM_GXT4500 is not set
CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL=m
# CONFIG_FB_METRONOME is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MB862XX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_BROADSHEET is not set
# CONFIG_FB_AUO_K190X is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SM712 is not set
is not set is correct.

Code:
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_EFI=y
are "mostly harmless"

genkernel has a menuconfig option that lets you fine tune the kernel before you build it.
Rebuild your kernel with the menuconfig option.
Use the search (press /) to find the incorrect settings,
go to them and fix them.

Hint. They are all on the same menu.

You may need to fine tune other kernel settings later.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply's!
@Zucca
Yep i have seen this thread. Also thought that its related to my problem.
But since iam new to Gentoo, i wanted to ask before i may mess up even more.

@NeddySeagoon
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
So i have to rebuild the kernel. Thats fine for me.
Thats how you lern it i guess ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxe,

You learn more by sorting it out after you mess up something.
When you follow a guide and it just works, you don't learn a great deal.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's true .. :)

So, everything worked out pretty good.
Compiling rhe kernel again was no hard task.

I dont want to ask too much about this here in this topic because I think a
separate one is better, but now when I try to install
xorg-drivers I get a error message regarding the use flag abi_x86_32
Could this be because of removing some modules from the kernel?

Edit: Figured it out by my self.
I set the option ABI_64=32 in my make.conf and now it compiles.
Do I only get 32 bit programms now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxe,

Lets go back a few steps.

What is your profile set to?
Code:
eselect profile list
will show it. The * indicates the active profile.
What stage3 file did you install? It may still show in
Code:
ls /
unless you have removed it.
If its not there, please post the output of
Code:
emerge --info

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon,

thanks for the help here.

This is the Output of emerge --info:
https://bpaste.net/show/dde168cb25b0
(wgetpaste is such a nice tool!)

My Profile is set to
Default/Linux/amd64/13.0/Desktop

Stage3-file is already removed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxe,

Your default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop profile includes multilib support. That is, it supports both 32 bit and 64 bit programs.
Your emerge --info includes
Code:
ABI_X86="32 64"
which is correct on a mulltilib system.

All is well. Setting ABI_X86=32 in make.conf should not have done anything as ABI_X86="32 64" is provided by your profile.
Remove ABI_X86=32 from make.conf and compare the emerge --info output before and after.

-- edit --

Do you really mean you set ABI_64=32 ?
That option is not recognised, so its ignored.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2016
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
maxe,
Your default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop profile includes multilib support. That is, it supports both 32 bit and 64 bit programs.
Your emerge --info includes
Code:
ABI_X86="32 64"
which is correct on a mulltilib system.

Thanks for the clarification.

Quote:

All is well. Setting ABI_X86=32 in make.conf should not have done anything as ABI_X86="32 64" is provided by your profile.
Remove ABI_X86=32 from make.conf and compare the emerge --info output before and after.

I just read on some Forums that Setting this line could help solve the Problem.
It did actually, cause i was able to install the xorg-drivers package.
But i guess that wasnt the best solution for it and the Problem still exists.

Quote:

Do you really mean you set ABI_64=32 ?
That option is not recognised, so its ignored.


Yes i have set ABI_64=32.
Seems like i mis-typed here. Wanted to set ABI_X86="32 64"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43221
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxe,

Your make.conf settings are hierarchical.

The top level comes from your profile. In your case, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop.
Its important to choose the right profile as it reduces the effort you put into things lower down the hierarchy.

Next in the hierarchy is make.conf. The settings here apply globally to your install and override profile settings.

Next are the per package settings in /etc/portage
Settings in these files override the profile+make.conf on a per package basis.
Most of the directories and files that can go here are missing until you add them.

Lastly, to override all of those settings, you can pass options on the command line. This is generally considered a very bad thing, as portage won't remember them next time but it does have a few legitimate uses.

Having said all that ...
Code:
ABI_X86="32 64"
is provided by your profile. You do not need to set in in make.conf
Code:
emerge --info
shows the settings from profile+make.conf.
That's why there is a lot more there that in make.conf alone.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum