Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Considerations and hints on SSD + 4GB of RAM laptop combo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GalaticStryder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:39 pm    Post subject: Considerations and hints on SSD + 4GB of RAM laptop combo Reply with quote

Hello, everyone.

I've been following some threads about SSDs and how to optimize them but none of those threads show consistency, some people say you'd create a trim script and run every day, others say once a week and others even recommend to disable the trim because the SSD has an internal trim method...

I'm a little bit confused since I've seen some posts talking about SSD writes and how to reduce them, on Gentoo handbook I've come across answers to use squashfs or tmpfs on portage and then set the amount of memory for it. Having 4GB RAM on my 5th. gen i3 I don't know the right amount of RAM to dedicate to compiling the software or if it should be done on my setup.

My basic plan is:

/boot on FAT32 (256mb)
/ on EXT4 (The rest of the SSD)

I don't know if swap is good for my setup or not, so it's another point to get an advice. Also, I've chosen to use EXT4 for the sake of stability and to avoid Kernel complexity on FS.

I'd like to use the Gentoo systemd with gnome 3 shard by the way as I've done previously on my PC, I thought I'd mention that since this installation is the biggest one.

Any other tips or tricks are appreciated. If I'm resurrecting a similar topic, please point me and we can remove this topic.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On modern decent quality SSDs, except for sector alignment issues and enabling TRIM on filesystems that support it - Treat them like a normal hard drive! DON'T WORRY ABOUT WEAR OUT! Go ahead and swap to it, emerge to it, let the kernel TRIM when it thinks a sector can be reclaimed.

You can setup tmpfs as needed for portage if you want even more speed, but not necessary for longevity. The SSD will become obsolete or full before it wears out.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WAtch out that you algin the disc accordingly.

I have one SANDISK SSD which has mayor issues. Purchased a few weeks ago, and I moved my installtion on that new SANDISK drive. With my next backup i will cycle through my 3 SSDs. I think the SANDISK brand is just garbage. Has the worst read write performance in comparission with cheap ADATA SSD and several year old plextor SSD. BAD FIRMWare or bad alginment or both. I see it during bootup the effect.

my gentoo installation without dist files needs ~25GB with a few files in my home directory.
MY distfiles are on a 1TB ordinary hdd. in my second bay on my notebook

I have build most of my software in RAM on my older box with 4GB of ram. it should be still possible when you disable tmpfs for libreoffice and a few other packages.

--

GEneric Hint. When you install a box focus on how you will backup your data and how often
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GalaticStryder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:02 pm    Post subject: Install in progress Reply with quote

I've made some progress on my laptop. Replaced the wifi/bt chip and installed the SSD.

My way to get into installing Gentoo was using the system rescue CD burned into a USB stick. The minimal install doesn't work on my laptop - probably due to the stupid Insyde BIOS that supports only AHCI/UEFI and there's no option to use legacy to boot the minimal disc.

The problem I'm facing now is on the bootloader setup, I'd like to use the same setup as on my previous Arch Linux install using EFI stub Kernel to boot up. As the Handbook dictates, I need to use efibootmgr to create the entry.
This is how I've done it:

- http://i.imgur.com/uYOb3yhh.png

The initramfs was created using genkernel with lvm support, everything is under lvm but /boot and /boot/efi that are on regular /sda2 and /sda1 respectively.

The problem is that the entry I created that is supposed to boot doesn't appear on my BIOS boot selection and even worst, it resets the boot order every time.

I tried pointing the bootx64.efi manually but it wouldn't work due to missing initramfs and command line arguments.

Anyone know how to force those BIOS'es to actually boot the efibootmgr entry that I created? I think it's not possible to fix it though and I may need to use a bootloader for this setup...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMO https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel is short and accurate. Tells how to embed an initramfs in the kernel. If a kernel with an embedded initramfs is on the EFI system partition (ESP) at EFI/Boot/bootx64.efi no boot manager is needed, that is the UEFI default boot loader location.
Do note that https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel and the Gentoo handbook have differences, particularly when specifying a mount point for the ESP: handbook at /boot; https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel at /mnt/EFI.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GalaticStryder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
IMO https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel is short and accurate. Tells how to embed an initramfs in the kernel. If a kernel with an embedded initramfs is on the EFI system partition (ESP) at EFI/Boot/bootx64.efi no boot manager is needed, that is the UEFI default boot loader location.
Do note that https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel and the Gentoo handbook have differences, particularly when specifying a mount point for the ESP: handbook at /boot; https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/EFI_stub_kernel at /mnt/EFI.


Interesting, I'll put the Kernel in the sane (EFI/Boot/bootx64.efi -> /mnt/boot/efi/EFI/Boot/bootx64.efi) location. Since adding boot parameters with efibootmgr doesn't work here as I said - it resets the values each time I reboot the laptop.
I've heard this is the normal behavior for InsydeH20 BIOS, the same steps were taken on my PC with an ASRock motherboard and efibootmgr sets everything correctly, showing up right in the BIOS menu.

Baking the initrd and rootfs in the Kernel using .cpio extension will be my next shot. I was using 'genkernel --install --lvm initramfs' way to generate the initramfs.

I will follow this section right now: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Genkernel#Installing_the_kernel_and_initramfs_into_the_.2Fboot_directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum