Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot partitions with UEFI?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StoneC0ld wrote:
Sorry for bumping the post, but my question still stands... Is there really a huge benefit to getting this UEFI to work? Or should I just switch the CMOS to legacy/BIOS boot and start reinstalling again from scratch?

You can boot any way you want, what reinstalling has to do with it? I have both set up, MBR and UEFI, I can choose at boot time which one to use.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StoneC0ld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You can boot any way you want, what reinstalling has to do with it? I have both set up, MBR and UEFI, I can choose at boot time which one to use.


So, I disabled UEFI in the CMOS and set it to legacy boot, and booted the livedvd, removed the GRUB_PLATFORMS line from make.conf and re-emerged GRUB:2. Fresh format of /boot in ext2, and ran a fresh genkernel.
And this is what I get:
Code:
(chroot) livecd grub # grub-install /dev/sda
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
grub-install: error: cannot find EFI directory.
(chroot) livecd grub #


So, if fixing this is going to involve changing the drive from GPT to MBR, I understand that will wipe the drive, which means re-installing from scratch....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use protective MBR simultaneously with GPT/UEFI. That's what I do. Just use gdisk to add the MBR part.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1520
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StoneC0ld wrote:
Or should I just switch the CMOS to legacy/BIOS boot and start reinstalling again from scratch?
I'm in the same situation.
I have / and /boot on 5-disk-raid1. They are on completely seperate raid arrays, so not on partitioned raid1.
I had before an MBR+dos partition table+extlinux. Now I've set up UEFI+GPT+syslinux. /boot is formatted as vfat and I've set all those disks as "bootable" using efibootmgr. So if first fails, then use second and so on... This worked fine with bootloader stuffed into MBR, but not with UEFI. What I get is a blank screen after firmware messages.
And yes, I use --metadata=0.90 on the raid1 array that's for /boot.
I thought UEFI was progress over BIOS+MBR, but it seem to be the opposite (congress lol).

I think I'm left with MBR+GPT as my only option. That being I stuff extlinux on MBR on all those disks, but I'll use GPT to get support for bigger disks.
Another option might be to have some USB stick containing UEFI partition attached 24/7 on the backside...
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3100
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StoneC0ld wrote:
So, if fixing this is going to involve changing the drive from GPT to MBR, I understand that will wipe the drive, which means re-installing from scratch....


You can boot legacy with GPT. I, too, cannot get the UEFI boot to work, but it boots legacy just fine. Is this a Gigabyte board?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
StoneC0ld wrote:
So, if fixing this is going to involve changing the drive from GPT to MBR, I understand that will wipe the drive, which means re-installing from scratch....


You can boot legacy with GPT. I, too, cannot get the UEFI boot to work, but it boots legacy just fine. Is this a Gigabyte board?


Yes, but it depends on motherboard firmware. I have a 64-bit box here which has 32-bit UEFI and I haven't managed to make it boot in UEFI mode. I had to add protective MBR to the GPT and set the bootable flag to make it boot.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3100
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah! My board is a GIGABYTE GA-F2A88X-D3HP, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128895

Don't know if the UEFI is 32 or 64 bit. I'll probably be posting about my troubles soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum