Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New HDD and Radeon Xorg org driver[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:50 am    Post subject: New HDD and Radeon Xorg org driver[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello all:

My HDD cratered last week. I was lucky enough that it bust a ton of junk on my boot screen a day before it died so backed up all my data the morning it failed...not failed completely but dying such that after doing a fsck on it so many files are broken in /usr/¤ that it can't boot properly.

Ok, new HDD.

Trouble reinstalling gentoo...decided to go with systemd, that is working. What is not working is my ATI card.

The output from 'lspci | grep -i vga' is [Radeon HD 6730M/6770M/7690M XT]. Also, the kernel recognises the card as TURKS when it's initializing kms.

So, I followed the Radeon wiki and have the fw now properly loading into the kernel during 'make -j5'. There is a trick for new players there, in the directory you need the FULL directory to make it work, /lib/firmware/radeon, else it throws a build error.

Ok, so I have the proper fw in the kernel, the ATI drive drive compiled in directly as is DRM so we're good...kernel 4.8.10.

So DMESG shows:
Loading TURKS Microcode
radeon 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin failed with error -2

Which is followed by a few more lines telling me that the fw failed to load.

So, any tips on this? I definitely have the fw in the kernel(that was a few hours of my life) but now it's not eating it at boot so I assume I have a kernel option somewhere else that might be doing this.

Looking for some suggestions on how to troubleshoot this.

Cheers,
John


Last edited by jserink on Sat Nov 26, 2016 3:03 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13595

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please pastebin your kernel configuration file and the full output of dmesg after a failed load.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Please pastebin your kernel configuration file and the full output of dmesg after a failed load.


Hi Hu:

Not sure if I did this correctly, but here we go:
<script src="//pastebin.com/embed_js/DMfi5L2d"></script>

<iframe src="//pastebin.com/embed_iframe/w5GYKWZB" style="border:none;width:100%"></iframe>

Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Please pastebin your kernel configuration file and the full output of dmesg after a failed load.


Ok, this time it will work.
Dmesg:
http://pastebin.com/raw/adA5HkNP

kernel config:
http://pastebin.com/raw/AVdtXfLe

Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, here is the config:

http://pastebin.com/raw/Jgu60sNS

Hopefully this one will work. I don:t know why the above screwed up.

Cheers,
John
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all:

I have been working on this continually for days and getting no where.
I really need to get my machine back up so I can get back to work so any suggestions would be appreciated.

The TURKS microcode is getting built into the kernel, I can see that happening when the kernel builds. To get that to would you have to change the directory from the default /firmware to /lib/firmware.

I have tried both /lib/firmware a /lib/firmware/radeon with no success, DMESG always reports that it can't load radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin.

Have tried compiling as a module but exactly the same error when the kernel tries to load the module.

Without kms there is no X, I can't finish installing and I can't get back to work.

Suggestions appreciated.

Cheers
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a note....
This machine was working fine 8 days ago, the HDD died which is why I am reinstalling....so I know the HW works.

my next move is to go back to OpenRC which is what my machine was on before.

Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13595

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The dmesg you posted requests radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin, but your kernel configuration embeds TURKS_pfp.bin. That might work, but on my working systems, I set CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib64/firmware" and CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/blob-name". Your later message suggests you might have tried this, but it is not clear whether you did. I do not think openrc vs systemd applies here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu:

Good tip....ok, am trying that but....
I've tried shifting my machine back to OpenRC and for some reason when I boot the kernel does not bother trying to load the video driver. It's weird.
Scratching my head over that one.
Will post the DMESG and config later.
Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, all fixed!

I had to completely go back to the tarball 3 state for the non-systemd, followed Hu's suggestion and am now emerging everything I need to get back up and running.

Many thanx!

Cheers,
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgnut57
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's probably easier to debug if you configure the Radeon support as a module ("CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m")and install the "linux-firmware" package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 930

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried as a module as well...
Same error.

Cheers
,john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum