Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nvidia-drivers vaapi vdpau
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:12 pm    Post subject: nvidia-drivers vaapi vdpau Reply with quote

Hi Community,

I'm new in gentoo forums, i've spend a lot of time working with gentoo that i love to, i've been working around other linux distros also, cuz at the beggining gentoo makes me feel frustated as a desktop, as a server is damn great. I'm been working as a developer for a long time, and that's why i can let gentoo go, is great make every package from source, it gives me a lot of benefits, and i love it.

So after that lovely speech, i build a new desktop that i think using it as software development LAB, and i bought a nvidia card GeForce GT 730, i have my desktop working, but i can stop to looking for tunning the system(sickness), when i was working in qemu for my android developments, it ask me for gles2 use flag on mesa package, and i found vaapi and vdpau flags, i research about it on guides into the gentoo documentation, and it says vdpau works out of the box, in your experience if i'm using nvidia-drivers propetary-375.26 it works really great with 4.9 gentoo sources, do i need to activate those flags, i meant put vaapi and vdpau flags into de make.conf file, does it improve my system ?

That's a lot for ur time and patient, sorry for my english i'm from mexico, and i hope don't asking something stupid.

Big huge for this amazing community....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I am a desctop user.

Questiong regarding frustrating desctop.

Those big blown up desctops like gnome 2, kde3, lxde, ... I usually ripped out half of the components and adapted it.

I ended up with a self made, i3wm + custom script for the special keys of my notebook.

I am not fond of automounting. Over the years the auto mount folder has changed several times, hardly worked, just annoying.

When i mount it myself, i see where it ismounted and how. E.g. no write permissions on ntfs drives.

You should adapt it to your needs.

--

Regarding vdpau ...

After the X700 ATI gpu disaster in linux i went over to NVIDIA GPUs.

The stuff which annoys me is that those GPU drivers in general suck in linux. They are binaries or the cards do not have enough RAM or power. E.g. intel is a very bad choice regarding video acceleration regardless of which gpu you have.

When you are lucky your nvidia driver will work. but it will only work with some kernels and some xorg-servers for example.

those acceleration regarding vdpau and such maybe are just needed for multimedia apps like vlc. I think mplayer is dead? than there was mpv?

I did not see much difference with vdpau or not.

That cuda toolkit, i think that was the name, is over 1GB in downloads and hardly does anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends. For watching video hardware decoding in Intel is better than nVidia. You need very expensive nVidia graphics card to do the same Intel does. See below my onboard Skylake.
Code:
~ $ vainfo
libva info: VA-API version 0.39.4
libva info: va_getDriverName() returns 0
libva info: Trying to open /usr/lib64/va/drivers/i965_drv_video.so
libva info: Found init function __vaDriverInit_0_39
libva info: va_openDriver() returns 0
vainfo: VA-API version: 0.39 (libva 1.7.3)
vainfo: Driver version: Intel i965 driver for Intel(R) Skylake - 1.7.3
vainfo: Supported profile and entrypoints
      VAProfileMPEG2Simple            : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileMPEG2Simple            : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileMPEG2Main              : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileMPEG2Main              : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileH264ConstrainedBaseline: VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264ConstrainedBaseline: VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileH264ConstrainedBaseline: VAEntrypointEncSliceLP
      VAProfileH264Main               : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264Main               : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileH264Main               : VAEntrypointEncSliceLP
      VAProfileH264High               : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264High               : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileH264High               : VAEntrypointEncSliceLP
      VAProfileH264MultiviewHigh      : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264MultiviewHigh      : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileH264StereoHigh         : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileH264StereoHigh         : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileVC1Simple              : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Main                : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVC1Advanced            : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileNone                   : VAEntrypointVideoProc
      VAProfileJPEGBaseline           : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileJPEGBaseline           : VAEntrypointEncPicture
      VAProfileVP8Version0_3          : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileVP8Version0_3          : VAEntrypointEncSlice
      VAProfileHEVCMain               : VAEntrypointVLD
      VAProfileHEVCMain               : VAEntrypointEncSlice

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:07 am    Post subject: No more flags need it... Reply with quote

Sorry for didn't response before but i don't know why i didn't get an email notification from this post, i play around for this flags, turn them on and off, and the better performance i got was turning them off as default, i check logs and everything works well and i get good quality from the propetary drivers, i think cuz it's all out of the box.

When i turned them on, i got black wird screens, mainly from the mesa packages, which ones asked me for gles2 only.

thanks for ur reponses, i choosed nvidia cuz it was cheaper ejejejjee, i'm not a gamer o graphic designer, i'm developer and i spend my time coding and watching movies on kodi, so nvidia is good enough...

Thanks for ur comments
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK the proprietary driver does not use MESA, as a matter of fact I once removed it from one of my nVidia computers and everything worked just fine.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnks jaglover, i learned that nvidia works out of box with the propetary driver, so few things may be need it.

But what about the recommended global flags (make.conf) when using propetary drivers ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum